Chicago Trading Company Reviews

Updated 8 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Trading Company CEO Eric Chern (no image)
Eric Chern
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and keeping employees happy and empowered is at the core of the culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Some of the smartest traders and technologists I've ever worked with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "you will get screamed at if you make the same mistake twice--must have VERY thick skin to work here(in 3 reviews)

  • "cliques, promotions based on political maneuvering(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company I have ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Trading Company

    Pros

    Profitable company with a long term vision Clear strategy that is well communicated Truly values integrity, particularly in the way it treats staff. Honest, trustworthy and transparent management and culture Long term greedy, not willing to sacrifice principles or values to make a short term profit. Very social and inclusive workplace.

    Cons

    Career opportunities can be a bit limiting, but nothing surprising given the industry and company size.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Trading Company2017-02-01
  2. "fast growing company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free lunch, health club reimbursement

    Cons

    communication can be better across different areas of the firm

    Chicago Trading Company2020-02-09
  3. "Breath of Fresh Air"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked at a place that's 25 years old that has this level of innovation, focus on new initiatives, investment in the space, the people, their careers, and their growth. - Great meal programs - Benefits and perks of a big company - Flexibility and freedom of a small company - Incredible work/life balance.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, YMMV.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Trading Company2020-01-24
  4. "Best place I’ve ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Apprentice in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation Great people Free food Challenging environment

    Cons

    I’ll tell you when I find one.

    Chicago Trading Company2020-01-21
  5. "Great place to work with great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative work environment where the vast majority of people are easily approachable and want to help. Genuinely good people that have fun working together on challenging problems. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Some roles require the ability to perform in high pressure situations.

    Chicago Trading Company2019-12-26
  6. "Great company"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company

    Pros

    Meritocracy, great compensation, very healthy work life balance, a lot of very smart and creative people who enjoy working in teams, awesome place to learn.

    Cons

    Challenging problems, trading can be a grind.

    Chicago Trading Company2019-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, engaging environment with great sense of work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture that encourages communication across disciplines Team-based approach that encourages employees to learn from one another Work life balance and keeping employees happy and empowered is at the core of the culture

    Cons

    The trading industry moves quickly and can be demanding at times. Not for everybody

    Chicago Trading Company2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Full-time experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very much growth room for new people.

    Cons

    Stressful environment, not very good work life balance

    Chicago Trading Company2019-10-09
  9. "good place to work at"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time

    Pros

    1. great colleagues and manager that are willing to teach and help. 2. great food. 3. good salary.

    Cons

    nothing I can think of for now.

    Chicago Trading Company2019-09-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Political"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Trading Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is phenomenal and very team oriented environment. Great lunch benefit.

    Cons

    Highly political not in the corporate sense but leftist. If you are right leaning politically (not just a Trump supporter which I’m not) don’t let people know. They frequently say highly disparaging things about conservatives at social outings and in the office. I’ve been on multiple teams and this is frequently the case. It’s really soured what was previously a good experience. I’ve overheard gleefully calling republicans racist and sexist which really has no place in the office.

    Chicago Trading Company2019-09-07
Found 55 reviews