Chipotle "free meal" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chipotle Employee Reviews about "free meal"

Updated 5 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Chipotle CEO Brian Niccol (no image)
Brian Niccol
594 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food 50% off days not working(in 1120 reviews)

  • "Free meal when working and half off when not(in 609 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours so difficult to manage lifestyles(in 205 reviews)

  • "It can be an exhausting fast paced environment(in 202 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free meal"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Chipotle

    Pros

    free meal on shift for staff

    Cons

    no taking tips. a lot of micromanagement going on too

    Chipotle2018-08-18
  2. "Concept great work not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time

    Pros

    Hours can be communicated with manager so you can request day off without stress. Free meals as most of the companies Sometimes amazing work mates

    Cons

    Low pay, expecting you to do more and more but not giving anything to you.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff they are your bonuses!

    Chipotle2018-06-02
  3. "Okay but not for building a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - you get always paid the right amount, even when you work overtime - they respect break time and encourage you to take it - free meals on shift

    Cons

    - very corporate culture - too much work for little money - too many "motivational" talks - a bit patronising

    Chipotle2017-08-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Crew Member 

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time

    Pros

    Free meal every time you work.

    Cons

    Long time on your feet without a break.

    Chipotle2019-12-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great job, especially as a young adult/older teen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member/Grill Cook 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good benefits offered. Quality ingredients. Great company values. A free meal and paid breaks are very useful and appreciated.

    Cons

    Repetitive cutting motions as a grill cook tends to cause wrist and finger pain after long hours of work if you work at a busy restaurant. The problem is exacerbated if there are not any sharp knifes available.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to ensure there is always a supply of sharp knifes to ensure cutting meat and cilantro is easier on the grill cook's wrist and fingers.

    Chipotle2019-12-30
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    creative, demanding work. Free meal and paid break, that is a rare find compared to other food service jobs

    Cons

    repetitive, bad General Manager equals bad experience

    Advice to Management

    try not to hire psychopaths

    Chipotle2019-12-16
  7. "Overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at a Chipotle in downtown San Francisco and their policy of paying an extra dollar above minimum wage, free meals on shift, plus their benefits for students were all really positive for me. I felt my time was respected and it was a good job to have while going through school.

    Cons

    It was super busy all the time, and that added with the demands of prep for so many costumers per day led to a high turnover rate. It's definitely not for everyone, but for those who enjoy working around food and talking to customers or those who thrive in a fast paced environment, this is for you.

    Chipotle2019-12-10
  8. "Service manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool employees. Good company, free meals

    Cons

    Hard labor not worth the pay

    Chipotle2019-12-25
  9. "Awesome Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Trainer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Good Hours, Decent Pay for Fast Food, Free Meal per Shift, Half Off Meal when Not Working, Sick Time, Vacation Time, Bonuses Possible

    Cons

    Repetitive Work, Not all workers carry their share of work load.

    Advice to Management

    More frequent employee reviews, with smaller raises available. There's a lot to do and a lot to learn at Chipotle, and I think quarterly meetings could help improve employee moral and help create harder working, motivated employees.

    Chipotle2019-12-05
  10. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salsa Maker/Line Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meal with every shift

    Cons

    Highly stressful, management is very demanding, low pay for the amount of work you have to do.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting so much pressure on people you're only paying $9 an hour.

    Chipotle2020-01-05
Found 609 reviews