Cigna Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cigna Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Cigna CEO David Cordani
David Cordani
1,073 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging even with generous PTO(in 71 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership seems hellbent on being the Google of Health Insurance(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leads Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cigna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They seem to care about employees. We had free fruit in the office, free beverages, etc. Would occasionally receive gifts

    Cons

    I wasn't on a very high salary but had a low level job

    Cigna2019-06-11
  2. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture ! I work from home

    Cons

    Decision making is a slow process

    Cigna2019-09-26
  3. "Cigna - No job Opportunites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits - pay is good and holiday is generous. Bonus likely every year too. Friendly staff

    Cons

    Management can lack transparency, Plymouth office is closing so no job opportunities - and we're all being made redundant. Lack of inclination to train staff that have been inadequately trained or make lots of mistakes.

    Cigna2019-07-26
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cigna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great envirinment providing comfort and opennesss. Empowered and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    Cigna2019-04-29
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Handler in Plymouth, England

    I worked at Cigna full-time

    Pros

    Corporate discounts and competitive pay. Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Poor management from all levels. Poor systems.

    Cigna2019-04-15
  6. "As a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cigna full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Good colleagues.

    Cons

    No planning or direction.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    Cigna2019-04-01
  7. "Cigna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenock, Scotland
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good pension Competitive salary Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Poor HR and Unsociable hours

    Cigna2019-03-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "IPMI Software Developer (Glasgow)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cigna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare benefits are decent enough. The opportunity of international travel (this can be a huge negative depending on personal circumstances and the attitude of your manager)

    Cons

    Nepotism and clique oriented cultures are nothing new to anyone that's worked in a environment like this, but Cigna take things to the next level. Eventually things devolve into pure managerial bullying which leaves hard working staff demotivated and lacking the willingness to go the extra mile. So after demotivating your staff and running them into the ground, what's the next step? Outsourcing! Don't try to fix... your issues or promote a healthy work environment, just outsource. International travel is on the table for those looking for opportunities, but I found managers were too keen to mess employees around. So, if you have an unwell family member your looking after or have to make any advanced arrangements before leaving for that trip, be very careful, as the managers I worked for didn't give things like this a second thought. Unpaid overtime and toxic behaviour is the norm in this company. Burning out hard working employees and then applying bullying tactics to get rid of them seems to be a sensible strategy to management. If and when you are looking to leave, be aware than one my managers was alerted by recruiters when an employee was leaving, even going as far to brag about having a communications network in place i.e "I know people". Naturally when a few recruiters called me asking me about Cigna after I left, I brought this up and got a very defensive "We don't do that kind of thing!". Yeah...right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is very little I can say here that would be taken on-board given the attitude of some of the senior members of staff. Bottom line, you should be happy people are willing to work for you, not the other way round. Clique oriented cultures belong in the the playground, not a professional company with adults. Your not in the minority with this particular issue, but your certainly one of the worst offenders of... it I've seen in my career.

    Show More
    Cigna2018-12-07
  9. "Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cigna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects and very friendly people to work for

    Cons

    None, management are working well

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cigna2018-08-17
  10. "Good company with benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cigna full-time

    Pros

    They offer free drinks, also free fruit, great pay, good maternity leave, it has a central location. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    The business in Plymouth is closing so redundancies are happening.

    Cigna2018-08-08
Found 2069 reviews