Circus World Displays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Circus World Displays Reviews

Updated 23 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Circus World Displays Managing directors Raj Jain and Deepak Jain (no image)
Raj Jain and Deepak Jain
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "CWD is a growth based comapny so you are always learning new things and they are open to new ways of achieving their goals(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits for full time employees, established company, paid training and courses, company events a few times a year(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company is lead by 2 managing directors who may not always be on the same page all the time(in 8 reviews)

  • "Stress can often be high in the wake of a fast paced and ever-growing/ever changing environment(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "A Disgusting Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time

    Pros

    So many job responsibilities (including those outside your job description) provides an excellent foundation for that resume you will build when you have had enough of working here.

    Cons

    I am embarassed to say that at one point in time, I was excited to work for this company. The company was hiring for so many positions, that I mistook turnover for growth. During my time working for this company, I watched at least 75 people quit. For a company that averages at about 100 employees, that is pretty disappointing to say the least. Before finding out the company was splitting (as mentioned in many other reviews), the work environment was toxic to say the least. Many people feared for their jobs as the management team only focused on the negative aspects of a job instead of the positives. I can honestly say I spent more time proving to management that I was doing my job, than actually doing my job. If something went wrong I would have to do everything in my power to prove my innocence. I kept every email and every note I ever took in the event that the Managing Director asked a question about a conversation that happened years ago. The Managing Directors never got along and this resulted in lots of unnecessary drama. Each manager had their own process that clashed with the other, resulting in ridiculous amounts of stress on the employees. On top of all this, employees were often pressured to do after hours training. For a company that claims to support work/life balance, you completely miss the mark. I was questioned about what in my life could be more important than training (FAMILY comes to mind). This is such a common thing experienced by employees to the point that it IS ACTUALLY A QUESTION ON THE EXIT INTERVIEW SURVEY. But don't bother voicing your opinion about such things, it won't mean much to management. There were numerous brainstorming sessions that took place with very litte actually coming out of it. Fast forward to May of this year, we were told the company was splitting and nobody was losing their jobs. We then watched as employees returned from the meeting with their manager to find out that was a lie. One Managing Director lied to the entire company, and told them they would all be keeping their jobs. The other Managing Director said NOTHING to contradict this, and just waited for people to find out the hard way. At the end of the day, people lost their jobs and their livelyhood because two brothers fight like school children on the playground. The environment became disgusting. People were unnecessarily rude to those leaving, and management did nothing about it. Since then, employees have been rediculously stressed to make the changes required to go through with the split. I am embarassed to say I ever worked with this company and would never even recommend this place to my worst enemy.

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2019-12-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Women need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people that work there.

    Cons

    This is a job where if you are a woman you really have no chance of moving up the corporate ladder. They will take a random man off of the streets opinion before they take yours. Let's fast forward to May 1st 2019. They announce the company is splitting to form ETI and CWD and assure everyone that no one will lose their job. An hour after that meeting the proceeded to lay off close to if not more than 20 people. The owners were very cold and any meetings about the company moving forward, the people that were being laid off where left out. Most of the department managers there do absolutely nothing all day, except for going on social media and watching videos all day. But don't bother bringing that up to anyone because most of the managers are men and HR won't do anything about it. There have been issues that were brought up to HR on more than 3 occasions and nothing was done about it. Also the turnover rate is ridiculous! In the time I was there 16 people quit or were let go. And any new people that were ever hired to fill that role were males. I have had jobs where I was assaulted but I have to say this was the worst job I have ever had in my life. No respect, back stabbing , gossip and owners that have no idea what any of their employees do and think of everyone as replaceable. The company may have split but the brothers are still fighting and everyone knows about it that works there.... It makes for a very uncomfortable work environment when you have to listen to both owners complain about each other. The one brother is 'forward thinking' but really has no social skills nor compassion for others. The other brother is stuck in his ways thinks his way is right and is better than everyone else. Both companies aren't putting out any new products and if there are it's just taking someone else's product and slapping their name on it so they don't disappear off the market.

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (10)

    "AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are young and need experience you can climb the ranks quickly since turnover is so high.

    Cons

    micromanagement owners will lie and avoid paying wages/benefits you are entitled to owners can't get along you have no creative freedom or autonomy you will be written up if you are not at your desk at exactly 8:15 you will be required to work after hours with no OT. wages are low, they will try to lowball you when hiring hiring process is absurdly long and repetitive company is splitting apart currently, sales are falling because they are constantly trying to rehire processes require numerous approvals to get anything done which becomes frustrating over time decisions are made off the cuff with no real evidence or research owners will ask you to try to rip off third party partners/service providers and therefore you will be caught in the crossfire

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2019-07-19
  4. Helpful (11)

    "One of the worst places in the Niagara Region!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Niagara Falls, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some coworkers are great people - The day I left this company - Literally nothing else

    Cons

    This so called company has zero respect for their employees, not to mention are so far behind in the technology that they are coming out with. With a mission to "create the highest performing consumer electronics that are smart, simple and stylish", is far from reality with what has recently been released..that's if it even does get released after all the problems they encounter. The company is run by two brothers who should absolutely not be in business, and recently decided to literally split the company. While in a meeting they told employees not to worry about their jobs, to only then let go of a handful of people (Some of whom were long time employees - 10+ years!!) for restructuring. This company's vision is 'to empower people' which is an absolute joke if you've sat at a desk here for more than a week. Why do you think there is always constant job postings and positions to be filled? They are not growing, people get hired and leave quickly because of the extremely toxic work environments and demands, mixed with the low wages. It is not worth the trouble and stress to work here. To anyone looking or in the extremely long and unnecessary hiring process that is put in place here, please listen to the negative reviews. They are not written by ex-employees who are bitter..they could not be more true and accurate of what is really occurring here.

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2019-07-12
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Please avoid. Seriously."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Niagara Falls, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great colleagues - Opportunity for business travel - Product development is rewarding

    Cons

    - Toxic corporate culture, one where most people talk about exit strategies - Questionable leadership - Group gatherings feel like they're planned for photos ops more than for fun

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2019-07-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Do not recommend to join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time

    Pros

    Dale Carnegie training for staff

    Cons

    The insecure working environment is not good

    Circus World Displays2019-05-01
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Niagara Falls, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leaving this place was the biggest pro.

    Cons

    The work environment of this company can be described in one word, TOXIC. The pressure, stress and micromanaging of the day to day tasks, along with the ridiculous processes and reports to complete the simplest of jobs becomes old real quick. Do not work for this company.

    Circus World Displays2019-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Circus World Displays for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good hours and decent pay for niagara

    Cons

    tough management but they were fair

    Circus World Displays2018-11-27
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Well intended but misses the mark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Circus World Displays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for full time employees, established company, paid training and courses, company events a few times a year.

    Cons

    Micromanagement to a level that completely cripples the company's ability to do anything. No empowerment at all. Leadership does not lead by example (do what I say don't do what I do). Reviews are not done on time, some people have gone more than 2 years without a performance review or a cost of living increase let alone an actual raise. Lots of turnover.

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2018-09-24
  10. "An Engaging place to work that is open minded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Niagara Falls, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Circus World Displays full-time

    Pros

    A great place to work if you are interested in a challenging and fast paced work environment. CWD is a growth based comapny so you are always learning new things and they are open to new ways of achieving their goals. Pay, focus on goals and cool people to work with.

    Cons

    It’s hard for the company to find solid people, as Niagara Falls doesn’t have the workforce we need.

    Continue reading
    Circus World Displays2018-09-30
Found 79 reviews