Citizens Advice Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Citizens Advice Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Advice CEO Gillian Guy (no image)
Gillian Guy
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons to working there at all(in 9 reviews)

  • "You don't work at the bureau for the money generally, a handful of employees are paid the rest are volunteers - the paid mostly being full time(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great content design community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Advice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Content design highly valued across organisation Supportive senior management The work you do makes a difference

    Cons

    There’s sometimes less exciting work to do as part of your role The office space could do with a bit of a refresh

    Citizens Advice2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good ethos at a local level - spoilt by National not listening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caseworker 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Advice part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a worthwhile job helping people in difficult circumstances. The team spirit is strong. Working with volunteers adds an extra dimension.

    Cons

    Modernisation by National has brought about positive changes in some areas but they are removed from the business end and don't listen

    Advice to Management

    Come and do a shift at the sharp end

    Citizens Advice2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wages hours good, atmosphere not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Helpline Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Advice part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wage, no latest or weekend work.

    Cons

    Focuses more on hitting call level targets and data input on forms rather then the advice given. No team morale

    Citizens Advice2019-08-14
  4. "caseworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caseworker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Advice part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefiting the community, great people and environment to work in.

    Cons

    very bureaucratic, work overload and lack of routine

    Advice to Management

    give more decision making to staff

    Citizens Advice2019-08-13
  5. "Volunteering at CAB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Bristol, England

    I worked at Citizens Advice part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone who works their is really friendly with a common goal in helping people

    Cons

    The general organisation of the company and its files are quite lax

    Advice to Management

    Closer monitoring of new volunteers accepted as some seem to care very little

    Citizens Advice2019-08-12
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Generalist Advisor 

    I have been working at Citizens Advice part-time

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to provide useful and rewarding advice to clients in need who often have no other organisation to turn to

    Cons

    No cons at all. Excellent

    Citizens Advice2019-07-27
  7. "Excellent training provided and i have learnt so much during my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adviser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Advice full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Courses. training, no day was ever the same, good working hours.

    Cons

    Security is lacking in places.

    Citizens Advice2019-08-09
  8. "Amazing organisation to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 

    I worked at Citizens Advice part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely volunteers and workers Rewarding job

    Cons

    No cons working for CAB

    Citizens Advice2019-07-22
  9. "Citizens advice bureau quaintly old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Advisor 

    I have been working at Citizens Advice part-time

    Pros

    Doing a job giving advice and helping people

    Cons

    Poor pay for knowledge required

    Advice to Management

    CAB needs to modernise

    Citizens Advice2019-08-05
  10. "Law student experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gateway Assessor and Advisor in Yeovil, England

    I worked at Citizens Advice part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience if you are starting a legal career. The clients are usually very grateful and my supervisors were approachable and helpful.

    Cons

    I was a volunteer, so unpaid!

    Citizens Advice2019-07-20
Found 152 reviews