Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1972 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
684 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salaries, better opportunity for bankers to make their sales goals(in 103 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of growth opportunities and upper management micromanages(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Pay, Horrible Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay for the area. Easy to learn the position.

    Cons

    The company does not back you up even when customers become physically violent with you.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-25
  2. "Great Colleagues-Fixed income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love our team. The branch manager has an unfailing eye for spotting talent. Our manager is always on top of issues and deals with problems right away. Colleagues help each other and are attentive to the way each other feels. This job has unique challenges and the demand for laser focus of attention at all times, deep understanding of operations and risk prevention, extreme attention to detail, exemplary customer service,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Being on a fixed income is kind of scary considering that prices are constantly on the rise for everything. There may or may not be payouts quarterly the amount of which depend solely on the outcomes of customer service surveys that customers only get if they use email.

    Advice to Management

    To improve the odds for a branch getting customer surveys change the way customers can answer them by offering them an opportunity to answer one before they leave the branch. By doing this customers who do not use email or who refuse to get the surveys in their emails can do the survey if they chose to in a way that fits their needs.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, good opportunities for someone looking to gain experience in banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career opportunities, experience learning how the banking world works. Learning both the teller and banker roles which will aid me when I become a manager in the future. Personal feel. There are sales goals, but it's not so intense that it's impossible. Benefit package is great.

    Cons

    Technology. Need to consolidate several internal systems, and have better communications between internal platforms. The pay could be a bit higher starting out as well

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology and pay for performance.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-20
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Personal Banker 

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

      Pros

      This is a Great place to work

      Cons

      Still deciding on the cons

      Citizens Bank2019-06-20
    • "Up and coming bank and expanding into southeast region"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are great and it's an up and coming bank in the region.

      Cons

      The technology is lagging behind and must improve to be considered a major player.

      Advice to Management

      Keep growing fee-based revenues and keep a tight lid on quality of loans and you should be fine

      Citizens Bank2019-06-20
    • "Transformational Opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Owner in Johnston, RI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good tech, appetite to try new processes (agile) and a tight knit product ownership team.

      Cons

      Dependencies on legacy tech and groups who operate in different silos, slowing overall progress.

      Advice to Management

      Keep moving in this direction and clear obstacles. Identify and cultivate stronger leadership in the infrastructure and architecture space.

      Citizens Bank2019-06-17
    • "Overall great bank to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

      Pros

      growth opportunity, earning potential, and training

      Cons

      bureaucracy of a larger bank. luck of the draw with managers

      Citizens Bank2019-06-16
    • "Citizens is fantastic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Vice President, Financial Advisor in Nashua, NH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Look, banking is a tough, competitive industry. And I work for the wealth management division. But I work for the greatest firm, for the greatest boss, with the greatest people.

      Cons

      Bank employee do their best. Let's make sure we acknowledge that.

      Citizens Bank2019-06-10
    • "Love it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Community involvement. Citizens truly cares about its employees.Senior leadership are great role model to living our credo. Citizens always looking to improve our systems to make it easier for our colleagues & customers.

      Cons

      I wish the benefits will be a little more affordable& get daycare reimbursement will be a huge attractive benefit to moms.

      Citizens Bank2019-06-10
    • "Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Plymouth, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Scheduling, good starting point in a career. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality. Constant changes in policy and ways of operating.

      Citizens Bank2019-06-21
    Found 1972 reviews