Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
749 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 109 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Some challenges but good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anon 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive, passionate staff and good culture

    Cons

    Odd prioritisation at times, I think

    Citizens Bank2019-08-28
  2. "Small Fish in Big Pond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn bout the banking industry. They teach you all about operations and sales process

    Cons

    Eventually you become part of the norm and its difficult to find more opportunities

    Citizens Bank2020-01-24
  3. "So happy with my choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Senior Business Support Manager II in East Providence Center, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After a long and arduous job search, I received offers from three companies in one week. Choosing Citizens was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my career. Solid growth opportunity, strong leadership, kindhearted colleagues who live the credo, great benefits... just a few of the positives. If you’re talented and hungry, come work here!

    Cons

    Internal technology has some catching up to do.

    Advice to Management

    Internal technology has some catching up to do. Also, investing in face-to-face wellness initiatives vs. all digital would increase participation.

    Citizens Bank2020-01-14
  4. "Survey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Building great customer service

    Cons

    Under paid Need more tellers less bankers

    Citizens Bank2020-01-13
  5. "Pays the Bills...sort of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours are nice and there are good benefits. I like the networking opportunities that Citizens has given me.

    Cons

    There are strict sales expectations. This causes tension among coworkers.

    Citizens Bank2020-01-24
  6. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork, easy to know your purpose and goals

    Cons

    Large company so isn't understanding of some case-by-case situations with customers

    Citizens Bank2020-01-07
  7. "Corporate always feels a bit out of touch, but management a bit closer to home always seems to care about the individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's a solid pay structure in place

    Cons

    The ability to make bonus is iffy when you're in a lower population area.

    Citizens Bank2020-01-07
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good opportunities with this company.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Citizens Bank2020-01-01
  9. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Analyst Specialist in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great bank to work for that is very involved in the communities where it operates. Good upper management. Great fellow employees. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Outdated technology and computer equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Update/Upgrade computer systems and computer equipment.

    Citizens Bank2019-12-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Culture is Toxic in Enterprise Data Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart, supportive colleagues who still value humility, have integrity and do what’s right.

    Cons

    New management arrived and rules by fear. They want the “yes man” mentality. If you disagree, then they’ll stop talking to you or you’ll get “laid off”. People are afraid to speak and are dropping like flies. Those who are around are not motivated and are actively looking for another job. People leave the dept and are not replaced (existing staff have to pick up the slack). Zero work/life balance. CYA attitude.

    Advice to Management

    You will lose all your best people in the next year or two. The job market is good. Treat your people better and get rid of the toxic managers. It’s not ok to mistreat people.

    Citizens Bank2020-01-11
Found 2114 reviews