City Year Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

City Year Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
467 Ratings
Pros
  • "Positive community with lots of professional development help(in 101 reviews)

  • "I had a great team of Corps members who I worked alongside, as well as supportive management(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes communication lacks(in 327 reviews)

  • "I have heard of corps members not getting along with their partner teachers(in 155 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Corps Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City Year full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great opportunities, rewarding

    Cons

    structure needs some work, a lot can get lost between management

    City Year2016-02-22
  2. "Goo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City Year part-time

    Pros

    Good Working conditions and environment

    Cons

    Management ideas are to scattered

    City Year2019-04-30
  3. "Mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City Year full-time

    Pros

    Great experience if you want to know what it’s like to work in a school environment

    Cons

    Thrown into the deep end

    City Year2019-04-07
  4. "mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City Year full-time

    Pros

    This will enhance leadership and teaching skills

    Cons

    Salary is too low with respect to full time work

    City Year2018-05-15
  5. "Learning Mentor- United Kingdom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Year

    Pros

    A corps member experience at City Year is quite good because it opens you up to opportunities that others don't have access to. This is because City Year has good sponsors. So I got to meet the former editor of the times, which was quite interesting.

    Cons

    Committing to the program requires a lot of resilience. The incentives to stay in the program are quite low. Sometimes the schools you are placed don't integrate City Year correctly, so it can be difficult when no one knows what you are meant to do. Plus the pay is only £100 a week.

    Advice to Management

    Integrate city year better and new schools, create better incentives to stay with the program, something more than a certificate and a reference

    City Year2017-09-27
  6. "ggg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City Year full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team, perfect working hours, nice location

    Cons

    responsability, friendly, overtime, good command, nice atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    be hardworking

    City Year2015-10-30
  7. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at City Year full-time

    Pros

    Great way to network and get transferrable skills

    Cons

    Management is messy. The pay is low. You work over 40 hours per week.

    City Year2019-10-16
  8. "Best opportunity I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AmeriCorps Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Year full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Became part of a family with my team members -The kids are the best -When you keep asking for opportunities and chances to talk to sponsors THEY WILL HELP YOU, you just have to keep asking for it with determination -I was interested in technology as my career field (whilst a lot of people are in teaching) and joined a group called Service Year. I participated in a contest and won a trip to San Francisco to meet... with other EdTech service members! -Talk about what you need & constantly give recommendations for improvement, especially when they're constantly asking for it. -Loved my manager, and my team leader -When you & your team strive for excellence, then it really shows. In everything. -The CYNY spirit. Honestly its corny to you at first but it's one of the things you love at the end. -While this may seem like a crazy, long hour, low pay job, it IS SO WORTH IT. As long as you stay determined & work hard for the kids and only the kids. The kids are what you're there for. -Monthly Metrocard (the best, you will miss it) -Perks (there are many which you will receive throughout the year, whether free food, meeting at fancy offices, getting NBC tours, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    -The pay (which is increasing every year, so you'll have it much better most likely) -Other AmeriCorps members that don't care/don't want to do anything. Takes away from the kids' experience honestly -Just dealing with people I guess. But that will be part of any job you have.

    City Year2019-10-09
  9. "City Year Dallas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City Year full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    daily impact, supportive managerial team, training and professional development.

    Cons

    partner teacher relationship can sometimes be draining as well as school climate depending on school placement. However, overall like most of life its about mindset and your perspective.

    Advice to Management

    more clarity during admissions process

    City Year2019-10-06
  10. "City Year Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corps Member in Boston, MA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Year full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Social Justice driven. You can develop great relationships with your teammates. Numerous training and development days (if you choose to actively participate and pay attention). I was placed with an amazing partner teacher whom I learned so much from throughout the year. You can really connect with your students. You're living on a stipend, which can be difficult (especially if you're a recent college grad paying... for yourself), but the benefits are great (Food Stamps and free public transportation [it really does add up] plus the Segal Award at the end of service is huge). - If you want to go into teaching or work with a non-profit, you will make great connections.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Although I was placed on a great team, in a great school, with a great partner teacher, this is not always the case. I have hard horror stories from my friends in other schools who often feel defeated and unable to make the positive impact they are hoping for. I have heard of corps members not getting along with their partner teachers. - A lot of IMs left last year, and I believe that is because City Year Boston... is going through a transition period where it is trying to find its identity. - Although I do support the social justice aspect of City Year, myself and other Corps Members found that this push for social justice and the conversations centered around it could at times go over the top. (take that as you will). - Also, super long hours and you have to make up hours for the days you take off (due to the AmeriCorps requirement of meeting 1700hrs). You would also feel a sense that you will be looked down upon if you don't attend any of the extra events City Year puts on (this is not necessarily on the organization, it's just a pressure that lingers over your head as a Corps Member).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep training your Corps Members on how to Interact With The Kids! There is so much social justice training (which is important and necessary to understand the communities in which we serve), but it seems as though that is the organizations main focus, not the actual work we do with the students. But to be fair, there are great Impact Coaches who lead great coaching sessions. The main focus for most every LDD... should be about how to better interact with the children in the classroom.

    Show More
    City Year2019-10-07
Found 1186 reviews