City of Edmonton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson
Don Iveson
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting projects, work life balance, earned days off(in 34 reviews)

  • "good pay , great teams and interesting projects(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "In order to be considered for any permanent, full time positions you have to be considered permanent Staff Support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making by upper management, does not listen to the people who are the experts in their area, no recognition(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "RFA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Edmonton part-time

    Pros

    Good wages. Able to make own schedule.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic system doesn't leave much room for growth. Senior staff not pulling their weight can become frustrating.

    City of Edmonton2017-10-05
  2. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great management team. Helpful and supportive with all of their staff. Full benefits and a monthly bus pass.

    Cons

    Low pay rate and long hours.

    City of Edmonton2020-03-11
  3. "Administrative Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    learn new skills and there are friendly people

    Cons

    entry employees' disability applications and process invoice

    City of Edmonton2020-03-04
  4. "Coop Student Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Alberta in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers were easy to work with

    Cons

    allot of paper work to complete the simplest tasks

    City of Edmonton2020-03-18
  5. "I hate glassdor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer 

    I worked at City of Edmonton part-time

    Pros

    Great employer to work for

    Cons

    Nothing At all. I loved them

    City of Edmonton2020-03-03
  6. "Green shack program good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Greenshack Leader in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun. You get to be outside all day.

    Cons

    You have no control over what park you get placed at.

    City of Edmonton2020-02-20
  7. "Engineering co op student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Not bad money and good co workers

    Cons

    Too laid back environment to work in, don't learn as much

    City of Edmonton2020-02-11
  8. "cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its fun and i love this job

    Cons

    its stressful but manageable and i love this job

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2020-02-10
  9. "Don't be fooled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very few unless you are permanent full time and even then the dysfunction in management is real.

    Cons

    Too many to list.

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2020-02-23
  10. "Great pension and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building 

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and earned days off

    Cons

    Customer service can be challenging and abusive at times

    City of Edmonton2020-02-01
Found 206 reviews