City of Edmonton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated 3 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton CEO Don Iveson
Don Iveson
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, pension(in 33 reviews)

  • "Good pay, easy going environment, little complicated work(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "In order to be considered for any permanent, full time positions you have to be considered permanent Staff Support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making by upper management, does not listen to the people who are the experts in their area, no recognition(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "RFA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Edmonton part-time

    Pros

    Good wages. Able to make own schedule.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic system doesn't leave much room for growth. Senior staff not pulling their weight can become frustrating.

    City of Edmonton2017-10-05
  2. "Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Student 

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Interesting impactful projects that make a difference in your city

    Cons

    There aren’t any negatives for this position

    City of Edmonton2019-11-03
  3. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    It was a good environment to learn about the operations of the City

    Cons

    The pace can be a little bit slow, it can be tough to track down co-workers you need for a project

    City of Edmonton2019-10-24
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton

    Pros

    Good benefits and easy work

    Cons

    Slow pace. Alot of beurocracy

    City of Edmonton2019-10-23
  5. "Accountability to deliver on values and potential for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program/Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Predictability relating to daily work. Good benefits. Opportunity for lateral moves. Union positions provide more job structure.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks vision and accountability for performance. Limited opportunity for growth beyond lateral position changes. Work progresses slowly and wasteful rework. Heavy reliance on and deflection of responsibility to contractors.

    Advice to Management

    Improve leadership to be more experienced, competent and to be held more accountable. Revisit rationale to use contractors. Hold leadership and middle-management more accountable for contract management to improve quality and speed of outcomes.

    City of Edmonton2019-10-12
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laborer in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady work easy enough plus being outside

    Cons

    Unorganized management no preparation at all

    City of Edmonton2019-09-12
  7. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Planning Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    a professional environment, fairness, diversity

    Cons

    The pay raise is bad. Also, there is no reward for working hard

    City of Edmonton2019-09-10
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth and advancement

    Cons

    None I can think of, between all circumstances can be changed for better

    Advice to Management

    Mentor those below and help them grow. Create more growth opportunities.

    City of Edmonton2019-09-10
  9. "CTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Chief Technology Officer 

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    good for single persons who are available 24/7

    Cons

    split shifts are not for me

    City of Edmonton2019-09-23
  10. "great place for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Labourer I (Turf) in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of camaraderie great hours (6am-4pm) 4 days a week easy and straightforward work, hard to look bad supervisors are easy going yet hard working

    Cons

    nepotism leads to some bad workers can be dangerous when working on the side of roads management does nothing about workers who make others uncomfortable

    City of Edmonton2019-08-30
Found 189 reviews