Clarion Events Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Clarion Events Reviews

Updated 8 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Clarion Events CEO Russell Wilcox
Russell Wilcox
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Coworkers are good people that work hard(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good location - 10 minutes walk from Putney Station, 30 seconds walk from Putney Bridge Underground, 15 mins bus from Fulham Broadway(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clarion Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of social events to keep morale high

    Cons

    Very high targets meaning a high turn over of staff

    Clarion Events2019-04-17
  2. "The best company I’ve ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Executive in Fulham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarion Events full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic, like-minded colleagues. Great social atmosphere and activities. Training and development offered and encouraged. Nice offices just off Putney Bridge. Rewarding work.

    Cons

    Below average salary. Long hours required. A lot of time away from home.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2020-03-08
  3. "Sales Manager Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Putney, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarion Events full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not located in central London

    Cons

    Company is becoming more and more corporate and commissions are becoming a thing of the past

    Clarion Events2020-02-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not terrible but wouldn't completely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clarion Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some events were fun/interesting, some colleagues were nice. Others would enjoy the role more - it perhaps wasn't for me ultimately. Other teams/departments seemed very different and more supportive.

    Cons

    The management within my team I found quite strange - I was micromanaged for the duration of my employment. I wasn't particularly trained in sales techniques and was largely told to get on with it. There was an expectation of staying late and working weekends on short notice, which is fine but you weren't able to work this around plans you had already made. Very little constructive feedback given. I was spoken to in ways in which I wouldn't expect and had not experienced before (and have not since) - and which I believe probably breached HR in some cases.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2020-02-12
  5. "Poor Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clarion Events full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office culture, young, vibrant and hardworking teams.

    Cons

    Poor salaries, little chance to progress or be promoted. This is in part due to restrictions in budgets, and also the knowledge that there are lots of new recruits ready to take on your role should you push too hard for a salary increase / promotion.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2020-02-04
  6. "Great support, but needs to be quicker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anon in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarion Events full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The support and training at Clarion, in general, is fantastic - they really are a people's business. - Amazing opportunity to see the world and work as part of a massive team unit. - In such a massive company, I can count on one hand the number of people I really truly struggle with. Everyone has such fantastic personalities, have a lot of passion and demonstrate a lot of growth.

    Cons

    - Despite the strong support and training, there isn't really an open forum to criticise or progress. HR should implement an anonymous suggestions line. - Some divisions are better than others, from what I've seen. Some struggle a bit with cliques and gossip. - They do not pay people enough! You also shouldn't have to fight tooth and nail for a raise. - London offices have a bad location and it's really cutting them off from attracting hot new talent, which is concentrated in central London. The office itself is also quite boring and doesn't reflect the company's values at all really.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2020-01-06
  7. "Too much focus on growth & not enough on staff development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clarion Events full-time

    Pros

    The people and camaraderie. Some departments are pretty relaxed.

    Cons

    Lack of investment in staff training from central office. Discrepancies in pay and bonus structures.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2019-11-26
  8. "Not loyal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Events in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clarion Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good way to get experience in events

    Cons

    No loyalty, it’s who you know not what you know!

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2019-11-21
  9. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDE in Putney, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clarion Events full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong events, good commission structure

    Cons

    Slow progression senior management hold main accounts

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2019-09-17
  10. "Fun, young"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VIP Relations Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarion Events full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well establish company. Fun and young people to work with and lots of socials!Good to work for 1/2 years.

    Cons

    Location - Putney Bridge No training - they love to temp so they don't keep and nurture people.

    Continue reading
    Clarion Events2019-08-20
Found 78 reviews