ClearScore Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
ClearScore CEO and Co-Founder Justin Basini
Justin Basini
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great place for efficient people that likes to get stuff done and constantly challenge themselves(in 8 reviews)

  • "Hobby clubs, free GP, free breakfast, pension, team events, flexible hours(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "team members(in 3 reviews)

  • "Some people may find the fast-paced, delivery-focused environment difficult to handle, however I have found the pressure to be more than manageable(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work if you want to build something that matters

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

  2. "Mixed Bag"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Training & resources were great, learnt so much - Collaborative atmosphere - Parties were definitely worth the time (although these reduced significantly as company grew) - Rewards were good (though somewhat expected of sector these days) - Attn, to feedback + performance was impressive, good bonuses given - Tooling + equipment was top of the range

    Cons

    - Receptiveness to feedback greatly dependent on the quality of your manager, yet no feedback against managers was ever actioned as far as I saw - Hugely cliquey atmosphere (though steps to change this were happening while I was there) - Pay was not in-line with rest of the company (and likewise the industry) - Company outsourcing decisions were poorly made with little consideration for employees who had worked from the beginning with (or really hard) for the company - Thrived on the idea of transparency, yet was one of the most secretive management teams I've ever worked with - Recognition dependent on quality and experience-level of your manager, not uniform across whole company


  3. COVID-19

    "The place to be!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced but doing it smartly. Amazing people that also happened to be brilliant co-workers The most enabling work environment

    Cons

    Honestly nothing worth mentioning. I think the way the business is operating is good. Management approach to autonomy is great. And I'm not 100% satisfied with the way the pandemic's effect was handled but I couldn't think of a better way to have done so, so I can't even put this as a con

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    February 4, 2021CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for leaving a review. I completely agree that even as we scale we need to stay in touch and not disappear into rooms and ivory towers!! I'm proud of the way we stay in touch (lots of chats, surveys, informal and formal feedback). It's been challenging in lock down given the bump into people effect isn't there but things like Coffee Donut help! Thanks for all your hard work to keep our culture strong. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work with that support each other"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ClearScore is a very inspiring place to work. People are smart, kind and driven and you genuinely feel inspired to do your best since you are surrounded by talented passionate teams who are among the most collaborative colleagues I've had the pleasure to work with. The leadership team has always been accessible and transparent but I was particularly impressed during the 1st COVID lockdown crisis. While I had multiple friends in different companies and industries being kept in the dark on how the COVID uncertainty affected their job security - and some even lost their jobs without warning - our C-level team went out of their way every single week to report in detail about what was going on. We knew exactly what the impact of the crisis was, what risks were involved, what they were doing about it and what support they were able to offer everyone, ranging from additional mental health support or even extensive help with job reallocation if there was any risk for your job security. Now nearly 1 year since that first crisis, the business is back to performing as well as it was before it. I'm not going to say it was easy or perfect, but the way ClearScore's teams and leaders have shown resilience, collaboration and mutual support in a time like that has definitely reassured me that this is a rare kind of place of work and has reaffirmed my commitment to the company. The company is also in an interesting phase. After being massively successful as a startup, it's reached its adolescent years, bringing in exceptional industry leaders across functions to mature the business and carry on innovating. What was once a raw and informal start up full of potential is now blossoming into a more established scale up, retaining the fast pace and the brilliant ideas, perhaps now with more resource to spare. In general, now it feels like the stakes are higher but there are so many incredible professionals to learn from, it genuinely makes you excited to see what's to come.

    Cons

    All of the things I will list are already being tackled by the company and I understand they do take these seriously but it's important to highlight a few improvement points to paint a tridimensional picture of what it's like to work here. - Like a lot of tech and financial services companies, our leadership team, especially at C-level is not as diverse. There is real work being put into this but there are clear areas for improvement. - Even though there's a huge focus on work life balance, it is the type of environment where people work quite hard and they take their work seriously. It can get intense and stressful at times. Not in the sense of working long hours but in that you are under constant pressure to achieve your OKRs. - Your experience with managers will depend on who you report into. In recent years, a lot of experienced industry leaders were hired but there are a few inexperienced managers that grew within the business since its early days. They might have good intentions but some are not skilled managers and I've seen colleagues have a negative experience based solely on that. - Perhaps connected to the FinTech space, our teams are comprised of privileged people and contrary to most tech environments it is not as international. I would like to see ClearScore invest more in social mobility and address economic inequality within Britain while investing more in bringing in international talent in the technology space. It contributes to a more diverse and rich environment. - Even though salaries are fair, there's a lot to catch up on with competitors in terms of offering equity as part of the package.

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    February 4, 2021CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for leaving such a thoughtful and thorough (tridimensional!!) review. I think it's a great reflection of where we were, where we are, the areas we still have to work at, and our ambition for the future. As you say we are working on a lot of areas that you mention, especially under the leadership of our awesome Chief People Officer Anna. For example we are rolling out options to nearly 50% of the organisation in the coming months which is an exciting development. And thank you for the specific call out for me which I really appreciate. Thanks for your commitment and investment of your effort in ClearScore. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  5. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people across most disciplines Good CTO Great Customer Ops dept Vision from CEO

    Cons

    Well it would have been pay but I think they've sorted it since I left

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    February 4, 2021CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review for ClearScore. We have been working on re-aliging our pay to the market and I'm confident we are in a good position now. We will ensure that we make every effort to "keep looking pretty"! Thanks Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people are the biggest highlight - The celebrations for your hard work - The communication around the company, you are encouraged to seek out conversations with others to improve the product - Free breakfast - Great opportunities - Free clubs i.e. cinema, fitness classes

    Cons

    - You can easily get overworked and too involved with life at ClearScore, it can take over everything if you don't put a barrier up, limit yourself and remember it's just a job

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    February 4, 2021CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks so much for taking the time to give ClearScore a review. I agree with you that ClearScore people are great. Some of the most talented and friendly people that I've ever worked with! I also agree that ClearScore can be very involving. I don't really believe in work being "just a job" but balance is really important and we have a very active conversation across the company on mental and physical health and how to sustain high levels of achievement. Thanks for your advice about people - we do performance management rigorously twice a year and if people are coasting or disengaged then I would hope that the feedback would identify this and allow us to take corrective action. Thanks again for all your effort to build ClearScore and deliver for our users. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Cool place to work, Most of the time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead User Interface Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company and CEO are great, people, in general, are great, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    The design team was all over the place.

    ClearScore Response

    February 4, 2021CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I'm sorry that you felt the Design team needed improvement. I'm glad to say that in the last 6 months since you left your review we have made some changes to the leadership structures within design and the integration with Product under our great new Chief Product Officer, Matt Fenby-Taylor, is really helping to make our product and design processes even more effective. Thanks for all your efforts building ClearScore. Justin Basini CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture with fundamental management issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some great aspects to the culture and friendly people - Flexible working, no clock watching, good work life balance - Show a keenness for advocating inclusivity (in some areas) - Fairly competitive pay - Some degree of business strategy transparency

    Cons

    - Top-heavy and undiverse C-level with a large level of micromanagement and final sign-off, which means employees arent always allowed to use their full expertise to do what is right. - Areas of the business and product are siloed with unclear ownership, which means the products are stagated in areas, any new products become disjointed as part of the full offering. - Very little recognition for good work, people that get rewarded are favoured, keep their head down, have the right manager, or have been there for a long time. Seemingly the only way for career development is if you happen to have been put on a high-exposure or relatively successful project, which is out of your control. - Titles do not match experience, employees more senior are forced to join at a lower level. - An emphasis of implied openness and many forced rituals, but with a somewhat calculated approach, which can make things feel a little cult-like and manipulative sometimes. There's a lot of shouting about how good the culture instead of enabling it to be great.

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    July 13, 2020CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for your thoughtful and honest feedback which we will reflect on as we seek to improve ClearScore and the environment that we strive to create to allow people to achieve their potential. I'd like to share some comments in response to some of your feedback. I do not believe that we don't recognise people who do good work. We have celebrations every quarter and make an effort to celebrate a range of people and projects so that it's not the same projects or names that come up every time. We have performance management twice a year which allows us to celebrate progress and give feedback formally throughout the year. Our company principles are exceptionally granular and clear. They are: Deliver, Focus, Obsess, Be Proud, Learn, Fight, Fail & Fix Fast, Lead. I don't think these are operational at all. Together with the text that goes with them they describe a set of desired behaviours. I wish you all the very best for the future and hope you find a place where you can thrive. Justin Basini CEO & Co-founder, ClearScore

  9. "An amazing company with amazing people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst Apprentice in Vauxhall, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearScore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone is very nice and welcoming. - Amazing benefits. - Great team spirit. - Always feel comfortable. - Nice Area. - pushes you to be better. - + a lot more!

    Cons

    None at all, mind-blowing company.

    ClearScore Response

    July 13, 2020CEO and Co-Founder

    Thank you for your positive feedback. I really appreciate you taking the time to post it. Justin Basini CEO & Co-founder, ClearScore

  10. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearScore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture, very friendly workforce - They invest in your development and try to make you fulfil your potential - The company are very open and honest in the way they operate

    Cons

    - Young workforce is a bit of a double-edged sword as we sometimes lack experience

    Continue reading

    ClearScore Response

    October 25, 2019CEO and Co-Founder

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm always so delighted when I get the feedback that ClearScore is a friendly place to work. We try so hard to create a safe space where people can be themselves and push themselves to achieve their potential. I completely agree that we need to ensure we bring in more experience and ensure our culture stays great as we scale. Justin CEO and Co-founder, ClearScore

Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 English Reviews

Work at ClearScore? Share Your Experiences

ClearScore logo
or