Clearswift Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Clearswift Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clearswift CEO Heath Davies
Heath Davies
19 Ratings
  1. "Great work/life balance, caring company culture, fun activities and good benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Theale, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management and Execs are really supportive and accessible and promote a great culture of employee wellness, work/life balance and fun. The location is lovely - right on the lake with a subsidised Gym and cafe nearby, easy access by car, train and bus and walking distance to Theale village or Sainsburys. You are given autonomy, trusted to do the job you're hired for and not micro-managed, but plenty of support and... training both internal and external is there if you ask. An open plan office and plenty of group activities and events mean that teams communicate well across the business and everyone is really friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growth has been slower recently due to the company being acquired but new investment should soon result in exciting change and improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the communication flow.

    Clearswift2019-11-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good culture, atmosphere and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Theale, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clearswift has a culture which looks after it's employees and provides a positive work environment with a friendly atmosphere. There are many smart and talented people to work with. When you join people start as they mean to go on by going out of their way to offer help and support. The work life balance is a positive

    Cons

    The office could do with a refresh

    Clearswift2019-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could be on the brink of massive success, but better watch those salary levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful, friendly, no-blame R&D department (where I work). Great operational management - this counts big time, because its very rare to have such talented lower and middle management in a UK organisation. Knowledge in depth, expertise and products (although mature) are globally top-tier.

    Cons

    Salaries are below market, which is why its 3 stars not 5. If this doesnt matter to you, then its 5. Clearswift is small, so career opportunities are limited, and there doesnt quite seem enough effort being put in to sort this out. One or two 'lifers' are clearly here for the ride, but this is containable at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Sort salaries and career prospects out, and this place would be golden.

    Clearswift2018-12-31
  4. "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing team of individuals, continuing to deliver an outstanding working environment and exceptional stakeholder returns.

    Cons

    Nothing material impacting the business today.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus.

    Clearswift2018-10-10
  5. "An old fashioned company with a desire to modernise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Theale, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clearswift

    Pros

    The best aspect of working at Clearswift is the social atmosphere, a lot of people in engineering are quite light-hearted, easy to get along with and most are hard working individuals. There's quite a few social events ranging from sports to board games. The company also organises parties for the employees which tend to be enjoyable and have high attendance. Clearswift are plagued by old fashioned development... practices and tools but there is an effort to modernise the company. There are multiple people in powerful positions within engineering who are pushing for a renovation of the department but progress is slow. Given a few years I think the company will be transformed into a much more modern software development house. A big positive of the engineering department is that they're very facilitating if you decide you'd rather work in a different team, they prefer to move employees than lose them.

    Show More

    Cons

    As I mentioned previously, the tools and code bases used for internal and external products can be extremely outdated. Often it feels like a lot of things have been put together in a very rushed manner to get a product shipped or get an internal system working, this results in a lot of technical debt. There are quite a few issues with lost knowledge of code bases but the company is making a genuine effort to... spread knowledge between multiple people and multiple teams. It feels like there's a bit of a disparity between departments, sometimes it feels like departments are working to their own goals with a disregard of collaborating more with each other. It can feel like the company is split into fragments that are competing with each other, when actually they should be helping each other succeed. Finally the efforts to modernise feel like progress is much slower than it should be. I believe it's because some senior long-standing employees don't like change and are resistant to it. Also the desires of the business side of the company don't align with the engineering side of the business so there isn't much time set aside to tackle technical debt.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company has a good foundation to build from but more effort needs to be made into bringing Clearswift into the modern era. A great deal of technical debt exists and it needs to be taken seriously by those outside of engineering.

    Clearswift2016-11-01
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Theale, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift

    Pros

    Clearswift is a real convivial and friendly place to work. It is quite a small sized company, and that means that we all pretty much know each other. It also means bureaucracy is down to a minimum, and projects are actually moving forward. I have been here just over 4 years now, my role has continuously evolved, and my salary raised every year. Clearswift provides internal and external training, and focuses on... its employees personal development. The products are great. Product management and R&D are making real efforts to be unique in a busy market.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary could probably be slightly higher, but the great personal development can make a real impact on future career moves. There has been quite a few changes in directions and objectives lately, and it sometimes is hard to follow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing personal growth training for all employees. I have learned so much on a lot of topics since I'm here.

    Clearswift2016-06-14
  7. "Very exciting company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Theale, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift

    Pros

    Fantastic team. Superb technology, UK based, strong performance

    Cons

    Very few. Higher investment to capitalise on growth potential, compensation packages could be more competitive.

    Clearswift2016-05-25
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Theale, South East England, England

    I have been working at Clearswift full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, really friendly people

    Cons

    i'm sure there are some but can't think of any right now

    Clearswift2016-01-06
  9. "Recommended place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift

    Pros

    good opportunities very welcoming team/people nice atmosphere

    Cons

    pay could be a bit better, but this is the most of the time the case, init.

    Clearswift2016-01-06
  10. "Really great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Theale, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clearswift for less than a year

    Pros

    - Training and support the company provides. - Remuneration package. - The people: Very friendly and also very professional. - Social events. - The software itself is interesting to work with.

    Cons

    - No gym. That's all I can think of.

    Clearswift2015-05-27
Found 28 reviews