Clifford Chance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Clifford Chance Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance CEO Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, limited flexibility in choosing clients or type of work you are given at a junior level(in 32 reviews)

  • "Benefits are VASTLY different between lawyers and operations staff(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company great people, interesting work, many challenges

    Cons

    Working hours can be intense

    Clifford Chance2019-08-05
  2. "Top Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Solicitor in London, England

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work, supportive culture, interesting people.

    Cons

    Long hours but if you aren't ready for it when you join you have misunderstood the job.

    Clifford Chance2019-10-10
  3. "Upscaling LPM's to be on a par with associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Facilities are great. There is a very good restaurant, gym and swimming pool and people are friendly

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets to meet, long hours and no time to enjoy the gym or pool. Working from home is viewed as an exception not the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce or get rid of targets. Let people routinely work from home if they want to.

    Clifford Chance2019-10-31
  4. "Pays you a lot to compensate for your social life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly stimulating place to work in.

    Cons

    Easy to feel overworked. Not a very international place.

    Clifford Chance2019-10-07
  5. "Good firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and facilities

    Cons

    Support services slightly detached from business management, too many layers

    Advice to Management

    The business leaders should take time to challenge the support service more and perhaps re- define the objectives . This will ultimately improve efficiencies and significantly reduce cost .

    Clifford Chance2019-10-16
  6. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LSS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free breakfast. Nothing else I can think of

    Cons

    Lots of ego's in the partnership. Too many managers.

    Advice to Management

    Take more care of the little people... they matter.

    Clifford Chance2019-09-16
  7. "what you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best deals , great travel opportunities, smart people.

    Cons

    Contribution/hard work not always recognised.

    Clifford Chance2019-08-14
  8. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Placement Student 

    I worked at Clifford Chance part-time

    Pros

    -Networking with lawyers -Experiencing the concrete activity of a trainee

    Cons

    -No cons which I am aware of

    Clifford Chance2019-07-20
  9. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work and clients for this field. Top of the game

    Cons

    Long hours (though mine are better than many of my friends at other magic circle firms and US firms and even some silver circle firms)

    Clifford Chance2019-07-31
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team is very friendly and collaborative. Work is sophisticated and challenging. Always learning new things.

    Cons

    Long hours, some repetitive tedious work

    Clifford Chance2019-06-14
Found 229 reviews