Clifford Chance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Clifford Chance Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 193 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance CEO Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "relaxed work environment and work pressure(in 13 reviews)

  • "Focused on becoming a leading law firm, especially in innovation and technology(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, limited flexibility in choosing clients or type of work you are given at a junior level(in 32 reviews)

  • "Round-the-clock availability needed, not much life in the work-life balance(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits and very smart people

      Cons

      Hours can sometimes be long

      Clifford Chance2019-06-01
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Team is very friendly and collaborative. Work is sophisticated and challenging. Always learning new things.

      Cons

      Long hours, some repetitive tedious work

      Clifford Chance2019-06-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Demands a lot, gives a lot."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Associate in London, England

      I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      International work Diverse workforce Fantastic working conditions

      Cons

      Hours and requirement to be available 24/7

      Clifford Chance2019-05-17
    • "Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good training, Positive working enviornment, good support network, international opportunities

      Cons

      Long hours, limited flexibility in choosing clients or type of work you are given at a junior level

      Clifford Chance2019-05-13
    • "Legal Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

        Pros

        Very welcoming company despite being in the magic circle.

        Cons

        None that I can think of!

        Clifford Chance2019-04-09
      • "Finance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

        Pros

        Great benefits, lovely people, down to earth

        Cons

        It would be great to be based in one building together instead of split sites

        Clifford Chance2019-02-08
      • "Clifford Chance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Partner in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Clifford Chance

        Pros

        amazing for your CV and there is a lot of satisfaction in doing the work

        Cons

        Hours are very long but, you get paid accordingly

        Advice to Management

        Ensure that we get more up to date feedback on our work

        Clifford Chance2018-12-03
      • "Embarassing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Manager in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        gym and canteen on site

        Cons

        unflexible, senior management do not work together at all, line manager manages by fear, high attrition rate

        Advice to Management

        take HR issues seriously, re-fresh structure

        Clifford Chance2018-12-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "long Hours"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good colleagues, facilities are good with on site gym

        Cons

        Management only interested in billable hours, Family life takes a battering. Long term staff can be vindictive to newbies

        Advice to Management

        Look after your staff

        Clifford Chance2018-11-15
      • "Stagiaire"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Clifford Chance

          Pros

          Great teams, interesting work with top clients

          Cons

          Demanding working hours, but it is just similar to other major law firms

          Clifford Chance2018-10-15
        Found 193 reviews