Cloudera Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cloudera Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 358 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera CEO Martin Cole
Martin Cole
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a GREAT reputation in the Big Data world(in 23 reviews)

  • "Smart people lead to happy customers too, and the roster of customer successes is impressive(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with all start-ups that go IPO, there are some growing pains and there is a need to roll up sleeves(in 31 reviews)

  • "Too much work, work life balance not very well(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Freedom to excel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can pick your speciality and excel if you want to, without sacrificing your life to make the time. Excellent internal communication tools, plenty of help technically at a moment's notice. Good executive engagement, focus on customer and community relationships through the company stack from engineering to support.

    Cons

    The sales team is too quarterly driven in most cases, and tight budgets while chasing profitability over the past few years have led to engineering underinvestment prior to the merger - fortunately both of these are being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    We found success in making big data technology manageable, now we have to make it easy to consume rather than feature-chasing flavour of the moment point solutions.

    Cloudera2019-05-06
  2. "As an employee who started in the post merger world I find it an exciting & invigorating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented and motivated colleagues Not micromanaged and are treated with respect Very flexible work conditions Small enough company that what you do can have a big impact Great fun place to work!

    Cons

    Typical post merger niggles, however it’s still early days of the merger and for me, the overall the benefits outweigh this.

    Advice to Management

    Put our customers success at the forefront of our business

    Cloudera2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Plateaued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    Great teammates and resources at the company

    Cons

    Not a lot in terms of growth. Very easy to plateau and not have other opportunities within the company.

    Cloudera2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (20)

    "Don't join for at least 1 year if they are still around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had good people but they have all left just legacy Cloudera old school surviving in the boys club Management only look after themselves but at least it's obvious

    Cons

    Executive Management live in a bubble, and not focused on the customer just look after themselves CDP Product is currently vaporware - Cloud Vendors are doing it better faster and cheaper Sales isn't a focus and customer success is bottom of the list Everything is about the merger and processes are broken

    Cloudera2019-06-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The impact of our technology on enterprises and business success

    Cons

    Based on 3+ years, it hard to name any other than the need for training is critical

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Cloudera2018-06-30
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Outstanding Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Genuine empowerment of employees, be prepared to use your initiative, take control and run your own business franchise.

    Cons

    The pace is breathtaking, time management and prioritisation tough - everyone wants to talk to Cloudera!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work - the Exec team here is one of the best in the industry. Take care not to lose the culture, pace and agility as the rapid growth continues. Keep making smart acquisitions and integrate and monetise quickly.

    Cloudera2017-09-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Alliance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your own franchise they promised me, and that is exactly how it feels; awesome! Great management that coaches instead of controls, smart and experienced colleagues, good money, great market segment.

    Cons

    If you're lazy this is not the right place; high pace

    Cloudera2017-09-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "High quality company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cloudera feels like a high quality company. They don't cut corners, they invest in the right places, the management team is experienced. It's also a friendly culture full of smart people.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and unpredictable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating.

    Cloudera2017-07-03
  9. "First impressions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    Open, collaborative working environment. Empowering leadership style. Trusting environment. Friendly, welcoming and supportive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Still maturing process's and organisation to match customer expectation of the strategic significance the product has.

    Cloudera2017-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic company, exciting opportunity, very fast expansion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company, rapid growth, dynamic environment, great people. In depth training programme.

    Cons

    Growing quickly and experiencing some pains through the expansion.

    Cloudera2016-08-24
Found 358 reviews