Cloudreach Cloud Systems Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cloudreach Cloud Systems Developer Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach President and COO Brooks Borcherding
Brooks Borcherding
3 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic people, support, opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cloudreach has a number of serious positives: * Great Engineers to learn from in all Cloud areas. * A huge focus on training, certification and Personal Development (Paid Pdev time) * Great working environments (offices, food, drink etc) * Management who listen and adapt * Great opportunity to grow professionally * A diverse and interesting client base in a wide range of business areas. * An uncanny ability to hire great people who quickly become great friends. * Uncapped Holidays

    Cons

    * Newer higher spec laptops would be great.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-02-19
  2. "The good times are back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vendor agnostic allowing me the opportunity work on multiple projects with some of the biggest logos worldwide. Flexible working environment which allows me fantastic work life / balance. Working with some of the smartest people in cloud world. New leadership team are amazing and very open with communication. Love hearing about how sales are performing and new wins.

    Cons

    The old leadership team made a lot of mistakes which made people unhappy and resulted in people leaving. Changes have been made for the better. Some people who have left have returned which is testament to the work done by the leadership team to put us back on track. I really do not see any negatives since new management arrived.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-02-18
  3. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and the atmosphere is generally positive. Diversity is good as people come from all background.

    Cons

    Can be isolating depending on people within the project you are placed on. Staff retention needs to improve.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-02-11
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Used to be "best place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Still good people there, uncapped holiday and weekly lunch on Fridays with your colleagues

    Cons

    Hiring process is getting worst. People hired in the last few months are not (in majority) easy to work with, one of our former values. Management and Leadership don't listen to their employees, they don't pay attention to the feedback given.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-10-08

    Cloudreach Response

    October 24, 2019

    Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate you taking note of the great people who work here and perks like our unlimited PTO and Cloudy Lunches. However, we’re more keen to hear about the feedback that you feel is not being heard and apologize if you felt like Glassdoor was your last resort for having your voice heard. It sounds like you have expectations that have not been met and we’d like to understand where you’re coming from a little better (as you can imagine, this is difficult to do over Glassdoor). Please get in touch with us using whatever internal feedback mechanism (confidential Speak Up form, your line manager, your People Business Partner, the whistleblower hotline, etc.) you’re most comfortable with and we can try to address your concerns together.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Feels like it was once a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Uncapped leave. If you are able to take leave on a project then this can work out well, and many people get to take advantage of it - Training / Certs. Although the 1 day a week personal development is a bit of a fabrication (by the time you have run through meetings and other obligations you will be lucky to get a couple of hours in my experience), Cloudreach will invest in you getting certs if you put the time in - Flexibility. If the project allows it you will be able to WFH. When I had a personal issue my manager immediately told me to take off all the time I needed to recover.

    Cons

    - Cloud delivery feels directionless. The projects I have worked on have been pure bodyshopping for the most part, and I see no evidence of this changing - Attrition. Management can dress this up as much as they like, the fact remains that Cloudreach are losing many of their best and brightest employees and they cannot just replace them with new or recent hires - Benefits. I've worked at Cloudreach over a year now, and when I joined I was told that the benefits were being worked on. We still have no improvement (in fact they have got worse!). They claim to support women in tech and provide the legal minimum maternity leave . Pension is legal minimum, however they paid the recent 1% increase in pension contribution rather than taking it from the employee. - Bonus. Didn't pay a bonus this year because we didn't hit targets. The reason these targets weren't hit was largely due to poor management of resources, so basically staff actually working on delivery get punished for management issues. - Salary. The benefits could be forgiven if the salary was above market rate, however it is likely you are getting paid below market

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-10-09

    Cloudreach Response

    October 28, 2019

    Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate you taking note of our unlimited PTO policy, flexible work options, and training opportunities. It seems like the cons you mentioned are mainly around innovative project work and compensation & benefits. Definitions of bodyshop may vary, but we are not big enough, nor low cost enough, to sell in that way. We don’t currently have a large enough offshore presence to make real bodyshopping work like the GSIs, and we basically never sell in terms "would you like x people" (although sometimes the client can think like that, but we’ll forgive them). Having said that, we do sometimes take on projects where we don't have as much ownership as we'd like over outcome to see if we can build a relationship with the customer. This shouldn't be a long-term thing. The Customer Transformation Advisory is in large part created to mitigate this. Post our rebrand, we as a company are learning to shift conversations from projects to programs at pre-sales and help our customers see how we add value. Similarly, across the company we're working on productizing IP and process to try and add both ownership and value. Rest assured, opportunities for innovation still abound at Cloudreach. In terms of compensation, we’ve spent significant time this year implementing the People Fundamentals framework. One step of the program included using a professional consultancy to level the entire company through external professional market salary surveys and internal benchmarking, after which we made crucial market adjustments for those we felt were below market. As part of our Cloudy Deal (or employee value proposition), we’re building out our total rewards strategy, which has recently included a full benefits review. Finally, through our new Performance Elevation Process, we’ve also established a regular cycle of performance, development, and recognition to support everyone to grow and develop–including mid-management and all leaders–to balance individual contributions with the company’s overall performance. Thank you for your contribution at Cloudreach – we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (33)

    "Just another underperforming MSP. Cloudreach is dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People - you will meet some lovely people. You will meet some highly skilled people, though the top echelons are dwindling day by day. Despite the horrendous decline, there are still a few people in the business, whether technical, managerial or HR focussed who do care deeply, and are determined to turn it around. Those people are highly admirable and will be the ones who give you hope. If you're relatively inexperienced, this is a good first step if you're willing to put the effort in. Bear in mind that if you're underperforming, nobody will say a thing and you'll still pass probation, so the caveat is that you must be motivated to push yourself and seek out those individuals that enjoy being generous with their knowledge. Related to this - if you're an experienced engineer, but struggling to get AWS or Python on your CV, you could spend a year here. There's more skills to gain, but you'd be lucky to not end up on a general bodyshop project. I would say the perks are good but they're being diluted. You still get lunch on Fridays, which is a nice touch. Access to aCloud.guru and plenty of Udemy content. That's pretty cool, since you should come here and use the time to upskill ready for your next job which might even pay market rate. If its important to have a social/drinking culture, you'll find it here. There's usually plenty of opportunity for a drink or two. If you can just get by, come to work, do your hours and not really mind about doing something different or innovative then this is a good place to come and just get by.

    Cons

    The company is clearly in disarray, but there is a leadership team will not talk straight to colleagues. They will preach "transparency", but it is smoke and mirrors. You will get the opportunity to have Q&A with them, but everything will be answered with sheer denial, or "Yes we are aware and we really care. We're looking into it. Still." You will probably be body shopped onto a rather dull engagement doing the fundamental basics of cloud adoption. Talk of innovation is not something you will likely find yourself involved in. You will be told you're joining a company full of amazing talent. Truth is, if you're experienced, you'll probably be leant on constantly and find that next level of talent to work with. You might try to drive forward improvements but it'll be an uphill struggle, in which you may find yourself demotivated and burned out. Perks are being trimmed to save money. Everyone will be told how important it is to reduce costs. Then they will hire some more unnecessary management roles that generate no value (let alone revenue). Then they'll hire useful people too, but they'll sit on the bench for months waiting for a project. So while they still haven't got a mature benefits package, the cultural benefits are being eroded. Morale is through the floor. People are leaving in droves, particularly the highly skilled. Nobody seems to believe in any mission. The whole "Keep it Cloudy" cultural aspect is gone. You will be paid FAR less than you can get elsewhere for your skills. Not a little, but a lot. Plenty of people accept less in return for a happy work life with great culture. Once you realise that doesn't actually exist, you will wonder why you're here. You probably won't be rotated on engagements very often. You might not want to be, or risk being put on the bench to work on some dead end internal project. Promotion comes from throwing your toys out the pram or knowing the right person. Which explains the number of incompetent or under-experienced people in leadership positions. No real direction. Lots of talk from leadership of being "super excited" and being in "hypergrowth". Its all hollow. The things you've seen about Cloudreach being an amazing place to work mostly come from a few years ago. Sometimes you'll see some glowing reviews on here which sound suspiciously like they are written by someone who wants you to see it :) The leadership has taken the company in a direction where you are not part of the same team. They sit above you. You are numbers on a page. You are a means to their end. They make everything very formal (particularly if they are trying to shut you up), but not when it matters. If its something that affects you, then it depends on how they feel on the day.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-09-05

    Cloudreach Response

    October 23, 2019

    Hi, Chris Bunch (General Manager - EMEA) here. Thanks for the feedback - and the positive things you take the time to call out around people, development and some of the benefits. I agree we’ve always generally hired really well for smart, friendly people who get on well with each other. I/we don’t agree with the strength of some of the comments in the Cons section, but thanks for taking the time to write it anyway - and for the suggestions on things to improve. We’re always moving fast, but equally always striving to do better. As you know, there’s no downside to giving direct feedback internally, so hopefully you were able to voice these concerns while you were at Cloudreach. We’ve acted on a lot of feedback we gotten recently, such as making our strategy clearer and understood by everyone, transparency on the big bets we’re taking in FY20, etc.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great perks and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Great perks and learning opportunities but no opportunity to grow with what you have learnt.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-09-16

    Cloudreach Response

    October 28, 2019

    Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate you taking note of the cloudy perks & benefits you enjoy at Cloudreach, as well the learning opportunities available to you here. However, as a current employee, we’re keen to hear more about why you’re dissatisfied with your options for career growth and how we can do a better job of supporting the engineering community with technical coaching / mentoring. Please get in touch with us using whatever internal feedback mechanism you’re most comfortable with–our confidential Speak Up form, your line manager, the Internal Communications & Culture team, your People Business Partner, etc.–so we can get a better understanding of where you’re coming from. As you can imagine, these types of things are difficult to resolve over Glassdoor, so let’s work together offline to improve Cloudreach together.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food Quarterlies Relaxed dress code Work life balance is OK

    Cons

    Respect the individual is not real Pay is under market rate No clear career opportunities Compensations and benefits are not good at all Management is not good

    Cloudreach2018-07-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, great people, great attitude and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are very well looked after, and there is a great attitude from everyone throughout the entire org chart from the top down. Work/life balance is a real priority that is taken seriously. If you have some initiative and are willing to innovate, you will be supported in your endeavours.

    Cons

    Working on-site with clients means I tend to miss out on some of the delights and luxuries provided back at the office!

    Cloudreach2018-03-06
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of nice people working at Cloudreach. And there are free snacks in the office.

    Cons

    There has been the removal of redundancies lately. A lot of people world wide have been laid off. It's not a safe place to work.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-11-12
Found 18 reviews