Cloudreach Cloud Systems Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cloudreach Cloud Systems Developer Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
11%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, great people, great attitude and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are very well looked after, and there is a great attitude from everyone throughout the entire org chart from the top down. Work/life balance is a real priority that is taken seriously. If you have some initiative and are willing to innovate, you will be supported in your endeavours.

    Cons

    Working on-site with clients means I tend to miss out on some of the delights and luxuries provided back at the office!

    Cloudreach2018-03-06
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Used to be "best place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Still good people there, uncapped holiday and weekly lunch on Fridays with your colleagues

    Cons

    Hiring process is getting worst. People hired in the last few months are not (in majority) easy to work with, one of our former values. Management and Leadership don't listen to their employees, they don't pay attention to the feedback given.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, take actions and do as much as you can to retain the talent that are leaving the company

    Cloudreach2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Feels like it was once a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Uncapped leave. If you are able to take leave on a project then this can work out well, and many people get to take advantage of it - Training / Certs. Although the 1 day a week personal development is a bit of a fabrication (by the time you have run through meetings and other obligations you will be lucky to get a couple of hours in my experience), Cloudreach will invest in you getting certs if you put the... time in - Flexibility. If the project allows it you will be able to WFH. When I had a personal issue my manager immediately told me to take off all the time I needed to recover.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Cloud delivery feels directionless. The projects I have worked on have been pure bodyshopping for the most part, and I see no evidence of this changing - Attrition. Management can dress this up as much as they like, the fact remains that Cloudreach are losing many of their best and brightest employees and they cannot just replace them with new or recent hires - Benefits. I've worked at Cloudreach over a year... now, and when I joined I was told that the benefits were being worked on. We still have no improvement (in fact they have got worse!). They claim to support women in tech and provide the legal minimum maternity leave . Pension is legal minimum, however they paid the recent 1% increase in pension contribution rather than taking it from the employee. - Bonus. Didn't pay a bonus this year because we didn't hit targets. The reason these targets weren't hit was largely due to poor management of resources, so basically staff actually working on delivery get punished for management issues. - Salary. The benefits could be forgiven if the salary was above market rate, however it is likely you are getting paid below market

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I joined there were some great people who I had a lot of respect for, many of these people have left. Nothing can be done about this but you need to ensure that remaining decent people do not leave, and that you quickly promote up people who show aptitude before they get bored and move on. 1) Immediately sort out the benefits, or just be straight and say you can't afford them. Fix your maternity pay, its... simply not acceptable in this day and age 2) Focus on what value you can add to customers rather than just dragging out time and materials based contracts 3) Sort out your hiring process. There are people I have worked with who had limited knowledge of basic cloud technology which really should not be happening. Cloudreach really feels like a company that was once amazing and had a great culture while providing value to its customers. I'm not sure this is the case anymore, and I'm not willing to wait around and see if they can right the ship.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (32)

    "Just another underperforming MSP. Cloudreach is dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People - you will meet some lovely people. You will meet some highly skilled people, though the top echelons are dwindling day by day. Despite the horrendous decline, there are still a few people in the business, whether technical, managerial or HR focussed who do care deeply, and are determined to turn it around. Those people are highly admirable and will be the ones who give you hope. If you're relatively... inexperienced, this is a good first step if you're willing to put the effort in. Bear in mind that if you're underperforming, nobody will say a thing and you'll still pass probation, so the caveat is that you must be motivated to push yourself and seek out those individuals that enjoy being generous with their knowledge. Related to this - if you're an experienced engineer, but struggling to get AWS or Python on your CV, you could spend a year here. There's more skills to gain, but you'd be lucky to not end up on a general bodyshop project. I would say the perks are good but they're being diluted. You still get lunch on Fridays, which is a nice touch. Access to aCloud.guru and plenty of Udemy content. That's pretty cool, since you should come here and use the time to upskill ready for your next job which might even pay market rate. If its important to have a social/drinking culture, you'll find it here. There's usually plenty of opportunity for a drink or two. If you can just get by, come to work, do your hours and not really mind about doing something different or innovative then this is a good place to come and just get by.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is clearly in disarray, but there is a leadership team will not talk straight to colleagues. They will preach "transparency", but it is smoke and mirrors. You will get the opportunity to have Q&A with them, but everything will be answered with sheer denial, or "Yes we are aware and we really care. We're looking into it. Still." You will probably be body shopped onto a rather dull engagement doing... the fundamental basics of cloud adoption. Talk of innovation is not something you will likely find yourself involved in. You will be told you're joining a company full of amazing talent. Truth is, if you're experienced, you'll probably be leant on constantly and find that next level of talent to work with. You might try to drive forward improvements but it'll be an uphill struggle, in which you may find yourself demotivated and burned out. Perks are being trimmed to save money. Everyone will be told how important it is to reduce costs. Then they will hire some more unnecessary management roles that generate no value (let alone revenue). Then they'll hire useful people too, but they'll sit on the bench for months waiting for a project. So while they still haven't got a mature benefits package, the cultural benefits are being eroded. Morale is through the floor. People are leaving in droves, particularly the highly skilled. Nobody seems to believe in any mission. The whole "Keep it Cloudy" cultural aspect is gone. You will be paid FAR less than you can get elsewhere for your skills. Not a little, but a lot. Plenty of people accept less in return for a happy work life with great culture. Once you realise that doesn't actually exist, you will wonder why you're here. You probably won't be rotated on engagements very often. You might not want to be, or risk being put on the bench to work on some dead end internal project. Promotion comes from throwing your toys out the pram or knowing the right person. Which explains the number of incompetent or under-experienced people in leadership positions. No real direction. Lots of talk from leadership of being "super excited" and being in "hypergrowth". Its all hollow. The things you've seen about Cloudreach being an amazing place to work mostly come from a few years ago. Sometimes you'll see some glowing reviews on here which sound suspiciously like they are written by someone who wants you to see it :) The leadership has taken the company in a direction where you are not part of the same team. They sit above you. You are numbers on a page. You are a means to their end. They make everything very formal (particularly if they are trying to shut you up), but not when it matters. If its something that affects you, then it depends on how they feel on the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the nonsense. Be honest with your colleagues. If you're going to behave like question dodging politicians, then cancel your Q&As. Its disrespectful to pretend that you are transparent, then consciously conceal the facts. Just be honest. Create a culture where those difficult conversations are had and not just avoided. Do not stare into the camera at Town Halls and TELL us that we DO love working here and we... should be grateful for what we've got. Stop trying to be something you're not. If you're done with the culture that previously existed, then let it breath its terminal breath and model yourself on being a corporate machine like everyone else. However, you now have nothing special to offer, so sort out your benefits package, including market rate pay. Otherwise it just doesn't make sense and people leave. Stop bringing in your mates for high paid roles. On a related note, stop dangling a carrot in front of existing staff in terms of career development, then letting them down. Listen to your employees. Discontent is pretty well known, stop avoiding it or attributing it to some small group of bitter resistors of change. When things are a bit naff (quarterlies and kickoffs are basically a bit pfft now, aren't they?) then just say. Explain why, be honest and don't try and make it out like its still something to be excited over. Operate with more care to your employees and stop being irresponsible with people's futures. On my first kickoff there was lots of talk about brain power over people power. Bring that back. Seek clients that are ready to let you innovate and actually drive them forward. Find a way to give CSDLs more ability to have an impact again. That seems to have been removed, which results in CSDs not really having any decent avenue to address anything.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-09-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great perks and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Great perks and learning opportunities but no opportunity to grow with what you have learnt.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise engineers in need of coaching to encourage them to be experts in their given fields which in turns brings value to the company.

    Cloudreach2019-09-16
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food Quarterlies Relaxed dress code Work life balance is OK

    Cons

    Respect the individual is not real Pay is under market rate No clear career opportunities Compensations and benefits are not good at all Management is not good

    Cloudreach2018-07-23
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of nice people working at Cloudreach. And there are free snacks in the office.

    Cons

    There has been the removal of redundancies lately. A lot of people world wide have been laid off. It's not a safe place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Management should understand the business and the impact of their actions. The impact of the recent lay offs has not been understood. Decisions were being made based on spreadsheets which do not reflect the reality of our company and business. Cloudreach management lives in their own world. There is no connection between the people who get sold to customers and management.

    Cloudreach2019-11-12
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Cloudreach - Need to Rekindle Itself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in Munich, Bavaria
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great Colleagues - Highly skilled Architects and Developers, You will get to learn a lot within a short span. 2. Cloudy Benefits - Friday Lunches, Massages, Sodexo, Awesome Travel Policy. 3. Personal Development - Full support for training and certifications, they do spend a lot on employees personal development. 4. Remote Work - Good work-life balance (although depends on the project as well)

    Cons

    1. No more good projects - Staff augmentation is what they are focussing on. 2. Negative atmosphere - No job security as recently good and performing employees were fired. 3. Lack of transparency - Communication between Management and Staff is declining. 4. No retention - People don't want to leave, but they have no option, plus, the company actually want people to leave so that they don't have to fire and pay... compensation. We are losing our perks, salaries are becoming outdated now, and you can expect really good compensation and growth in the market. Executive Management failed to raise this company to a new standard although they tried hard. Cloudreach target market and the domain has the potential to reach new standards in Cloud Consulting, but I guess Blackstone and EC went to the wrong side and failed to deliver. CR was always about its people and had that dynamic startup spirit although the company is 10 years old now. This was something which attracted young and free-spirited talent to join CR, but until recently the new EC team tried to formalize the processes, promotions, growth, etc. Rather than keeping the company young and aggressive, they tried to make Cloudreach an enterprise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. I don't know if they want to improve the current situation. 2. Talk to the people, rather than just announcing who is leaving the company, they seriously want to know they are in safe hands. Be upfront on this. 3. Retain your skilled workforce - why do you want to lose out on skilled and young talent. They were making millions for you. 4. I hope the founders join back and don't just sell-off.

    Cloudreach2019-09-27
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Complete lack of vision and de-motivational lack of effective leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The individual contributors and engineering talent is there; if you are just starting out your career, Cloudreach peers will help you in any way they can because we genuinely want you to succeed, in spite of leadership. Unlimited time off and flexible work schedule allows you to take care of personal life and relationships comfortably, without affecting work. People are friendly, and enjoy spending time with... each other outside the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ever since a new CEO was brought on in August 2018, a few organizational restructurings and pivots have happened. Since then, the company has completely lost any semblance of an identity in who it is, and what it stands for. A few examples are illustrated below: - Grassroots campaigns like the Alliance for Partnerships and Inclusion (API) has completely lost focus, and pretty much fallen apart due to lack of... interest from leadership, and basic requirement for monetary ROIs of diversity efforts. That's no way to measure success of D&I initiatives. D&I is currently on the back burner as the leadership team deals with burnout and high turnover rate among under-represented groups. If you are part of a diverse group, please think twice about coming here. Your concerns will probably not be heard. - A sharp pivot to focus on software and solutions has alienated the consulting (or CE) organization because CE no longer felt respected and listened to. CE is the most profitable and successful source of revenue for Cloudreach, yet has become an afterthought in leadership. As a result, consistency in delivery has gone down, talent has left, bookings have dropped sharply, and types of deals (especially Migration work) have become more body-shop like, and less interesting. Sales is driven by bonuses and commission to sell software that can barely stand its own, and CE engineers are recruited to help with it, while not getting paid or compensated in any way for their work. - False promises of promotions and compensation. Cloudreach has lost any understanding of "market-rate salary". Most people stayed because of the culture, but the culture and engagement has dropped sharply in recent months; internal surveys have revealed this to be the case. As a result, lots of top-end talent has left the building. Management, instead of listening to their concerns, has started to hire external talent with high pedigree, essentially alienating internal talent that waited many years in some cases to rise up to the top. - Lack of mid-management. There are lots of voids in mid-management because of people leaving, and lack of direction for each business unit. Training for managers is non-existent and inconsistent when there. Top-level leadership is a revolving door where some individuals keep rotating between positions, expecting the overall outcome to change. - Changing Values. Cloudreach has acquired a few companies (Relus mainly) whose culture values do not align with ours. Yet we are trying to combine them in a way that doesn't make sense. "Old school boys club" attitude still prevalent in these companies makes its way to the Cloudy culture Cloudreach used to harbor. Focus was put on revenue, over development of talent. 'Promoting personal growth' and 'being easy to work with' values are no longer respected as a result of a strong push to succeed monetarily. - Lack of ownership. When problems arise in teams becoming silo-ed, instead of working together, people say "not my problem" way too often, and leave things as is. No one wants to improve internal systems and procedures, and if they do, it's a single-handed effort where management simply never pulls through in supporting these changes. The Executive Council has grown from 10 people to probably more than 20, with no understanding from the individual contributors as to who owns what, who is responsible for what.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LOYAL; Listen or you always lose. Listen to those who are leaving, listen to those who have been with Cloudreach a long time to see why people have been sticking around. If you don't pay us enough, at least keep the culture that has fostered so much personal growth and amazing technical solutions that have come through. Don't shy away from getting to know individuals who are the most vocal. Also, be honest and... transparent. Q&As serve that purpose, so use them effectively.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-07-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Keeping everything Cloudy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super friendly and helpful people everywhere you go, the company's got some exciting future plans

    Cons

    Need to solidify the training process. More focus on hands-on training and less so on online courses or certifications.

    Cloudreach2018-10-03
Found 15 reviews