Cloudreach Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cloudreach Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "With the rapid expansion the company is undergoing, some growing pains are not uncommon(in 19 reviews)

  • "yes, the company is growing inorganically(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Innovative and flexible workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance People are passionate, intelligent and easy to work with Working in an interesting field that is impacting the industry as a whole Growing like crazy with opportunities for growth into lead positions Open communication from leadership team Fast paced environment with the flexibility - get your work done and you won't be micromanaged

    Cons

    Growing pains are a real thing, but worth it if you want to be a part of a company that is gaining competitive advantage and breaking through tech barriers. No company is perfect but at least here they're working to alleviate the pains.

    Cloudreach2019-05-06
  2. "Good, on the bumpy road to being great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Operations Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks are excellent; uncapped annual leave, great office space, great healthy culture

    Cons

    Concerns and input can feel like they hit a brick wall at senior levels

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the people on the floor and gather proper, in-depth feedback more

    Cloudreach2019-10-09
  3. Helpful (31)

    "Poor leadership makes for a toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since it used to be a tech start-up, there are still some remains of that culture - cool office spaces, some good internal systems (Gmail, Slack etc), and a few really awesome people left. Opportunity to buy into shares in the business for a chosen few individuals which does make you feel you have an extra stake and the potential to make some money. If you are in a role with a distributed team, depending on... your responsibilities you might get the opportunity to travel globally and visit different offices. Generally pleasant colleagues day to day and homely feel in local offices with competitions and activities (Movie Nights, Bake Off etc).

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, as the saying goes "people don't leave companies, they leave leaders". Many, many of the very best people who made Cloudreach what it was have either left or been driven out by new management who do not like being challenged on their approach. Having worked at Cloudreach for many years, I've seen plenty of change and the tolerance for change has always been high. Attrition is particularly high of... late because the beliefs and values of the top tier of leadership at Cloudreach has permeated throughout the whole business, and the effect has been quite toxic. Perhaps it's just a natural part of being owned by a Private Equity business, but many of the positive things about the company are only remains of the old business under the old management, and even they are slowly being removed or eroded. The current leadership team's ways of working couldn't be further removed from the culture that once made the company such a special place to work. Cloudreach was founded on genuine respect for people (whatever your seniority or role), a belief that people should be treated well, and that one should earn rather than demand respect and obedience. You will hear plenty of management buzzwords: "diversity", "people-centric", "growth", "respect", "transparency". Repetition is powerful (as politicians know!), and for new starters I'm sure it does seem genuine, but for anybody who's been at the company any length of time you will see that these words are not backed up by actions or in fact real belief by the executives using them. I saw this first hand many times - at many live Q+As, I heard leadership tell outright lies about facts and figures to mislead people into holding a certain opinion. Another good example is that taking holiday is frowned upon (although never publicly verbalised), and whisperings of disapproval behind people's back to their managers means many people are paranoid about taking much needed time off. I am not saying it is an awful place to work. If you came from a traditional consultancy background it would probably seem great (as many newer people on Glassdoor attest) - because of its remaining legacy start-up elements. However, if you are looking to be in a company of true top performers, have your opinion valued and really fast track your career, then this is not the place for you any longer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The best way to get people to do what you want them to do is to inspire them and make them want to succeed for you. Shouting, belittling, demanding, humiliating, badmouthing people to others, lying about what or why you're doing certain things... these tactics produce a toxic work environment and you're seeing the result in all the bad reviews on this site. People will follow your example. If even the CEO of the... business treats people this way, how can you expect to have a decent working culture? It probably feels like it's too late to change the habits of a lifetime, but there is always time if you genuinely want to.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-09-16
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Feels like it was once a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Uncapped leave. If you are able to take leave on a project then this can work out well, and many people get to take advantage of it - Training / Certs. Although the 1 day a week personal development is a bit of a fabrication (by the time you have run through meetings and other obligations you will be lucky to get a couple of hours in my experience), Cloudreach will invest in you getting certs if you put the... time in - Flexibility. If the project allows it you will be able to WFH. When I had a personal issue my manager immediately told me to take off all the time I needed to recover.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Cloud delivery feels directionless. The projects I have worked on have been pure bodyshopping for the most part, and I see no evidence of this changing - Attrition. Management can dress this up as much as they like, the fact remains that Cloudreach are losing many of their best and brightest employees and they cannot just replace them with new or recent hires - Benefits. I've worked at Cloudreach over a year... now, and when I joined I was told that the benefits were being worked on. We still have no improvement (in fact they have got worse!). They claim to support women in tech and provide the legal minimum maternity leave . Pension is legal minimum, however they paid the recent 1% increase in pension contribution rather than taking it from the employee. - Bonus. Didn't pay a bonus this year because we didn't hit targets. The reason these targets weren't hit was largely due to poor management of resources, so basically staff actually working on delivery get punished for management issues. - Salary. The benefits could be forgiven if the salary was above market rate, however it is likely you are getting paid below market

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I joined there were some great people who I had a lot of respect for, many of these people have left. Nothing can be done about this but you need to ensure that remaining decent people do not leave, and that you quickly promote up people who show aptitude before they get bored and move on. 1) Immediately sort out the benefits, or just be straight and say you can't afford them. Fix your maternity pay, its... simply not acceptable in this day and age 2) Focus on what value you can add to customers rather than just dragging out time and materials based contracts 3) Sort out your hiring process. There are people I have worked with who had limited knowledge of basic cloud technology which really should not be happening. Cloudreach really feels like a company that was once amazing and had a great culture while providing value to its customers. I'm not sure this is the case anymore, and I'm not willing to wait around and see if they can right the ship.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-10-09
  5. "Shocked by negativity - I LOVE IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treated as a grown up - ZERO micromanagement and I am allowed to work to a way which suits me best. Unlimited paid annual leave Great working environment - Tech start up offices Great co-workers Flexible working Exposure to fantastic customers and projects

    Cons

    A lot of change in management which causes fear for no reason within workforce. Changes should be communicated quicker.

    Cloudreach2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be "best place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Still good people there, uncapped holiday and weekly lunch on Fridays with your colleagues

    Cons

    Hiring process is getting worst. People hired in the last few months are not (in majority) easy to work with, one of our former values. Management and Leadership don't listen to their employees, they don't pay attention to the feedback given.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, take actions and do as much as you can to retain the talent that are leaving the company

    Cloudreach2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (30)

    "Just another underperforming MSP. Cloudreach is dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People - you will meet some lovely people. You will meet some highly skilled people, though the top echelons are dwindling day by day. Despite the horrendous decline, there are still a few people in the business, whether technical, managerial or HR focussed who do care deeply, and are determined to turn it around. Those people are highly admirable and will be the ones who give you hope. If you're relatively... inexperienced, this is a good first step if you're willing to put the effort in. Bear in mind that if you're underperforming, nobody will say a thing and you'll still pass probation, so the caveat is that you must be motivated to push yourself and seek out those individuals that enjoy being generous with their knowledge. Related to this - if you're an experienced engineer, but struggling to get AWS or Python on your CV, you could spend a year here. There's more skills to gain, but you'd be lucky to not end up on a general bodyshop project. I would say the perks are good but they're being diluted. You still get lunch on Fridays, which is a nice touch. Access to aCloud.guru and plenty of Udemy content. That's pretty cool, since you should come here and use the time to upskill ready for your next job which might even pay market rate. If its important to have a social/drinking culture, you'll find it here. There's usually plenty of opportunity for a drink or two. If you can just get by, come to work, do your hours and not really mind about doing something different or innovative then this is a good place to come and just get by.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is clearly in disarray, but there is a leadership team will not talk straight to colleagues. They will preach "transparency", but it is smoke and mirrors. You will get the opportunity to have Q&A with them, but everything will be answered with sheer denial, or "Yes we are aware and we really care. We're looking into it. Still." You will probably be body shopped onto a rather dull engagement doing... the fundamental basics of cloud adoption. Talk of innovation is not something you will likely find yourself involved in. You will be told you're joining a company full of amazing talent. Truth is, if you're experienced, you'll probably be leant on constantly and find that next level of talent to work with. You might try to drive forward improvements but it'll be an uphill struggle, in which you may find yourself demotivated and burned out. Perks are being trimmed to save money. Everyone will be told how important it is to reduce costs. Then they will hire some more unnecessary management roles that generate no value (let alone revenue). Then they'll hire useful people too, but they'll sit on the bench for months waiting for a project. So while they still haven't got a mature benefits package, the cultural benefits are being eroded. Morale is through the floor. People are leaving in droves, particularly the highly skilled. Nobody seems to believe in any mission. The whole "Keep it Cloudy" cultural aspect is gone. You will be paid FAR less than you can get elsewhere for your skills. Not a little, but a lot. Plenty of people accept less in return for a happy work life with great culture. Once you realise that doesn't actually exist, you will wonder why you're here. You probably won't be rotated on engagements very often. You might not want to be, or risk being put on the bench to work on some dead end internal project. Promotion comes from throwing your toys out the pram or knowing the right person. Which explains the number of incompetent or under-experienced people in leadership positions. No real direction. Lots of talk from leadership of being "super excited" and being in "hypergrowth". Its all hollow. The things you've seen about Cloudreach being an amazing place to work mostly come from a few years ago. Sometimes you'll see some glowing reviews on here which sound suspiciously like they are written by someone who wants you to see it :) The leadership has taken the company in a direction where you are not part of the same team. They sit above you. You are numbers on a page. You are a means to their end. They make everything very formal (particularly if they are trying to shut you up), but not when it matters. If its something that affects you, then it depends on how they feel on the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the nonsense. Be honest with your colleagues. If you're going to behave like question dodging politicians, then cancel your Q&As. Its disrespectful to pretend that you are transparent, then consciously conceal the facts. Just be honest. Create a culture where those difficult conversations are had and not just avoided. Do not stare into the camera at Town Halls and TELL us that we DO love working here and we... should be grateful for what we've got. Stop trying to be something you're not. If you're done with the culture that previously existed, then let it breath its terminal breath and model yourself on being a corporate machine like everyone else. However, you now have nothing special to offer, so sort out your benefits package, including market rate pay. Otherwise it just doesn't make sense and people leave. Stop bringing in your mates for high paid roles. On a related note, stop dangling a carrot in front of existing staff in terms of career development, then letting them down. Listen to your employees. Discontent is pretty well known, stop avoiding it or attributing it to some small group of bitter resistors of change. When things are a bit naff (quarterlies and kickoffs are basically a bit pfft now, aren't they?) then just say. Explain why, be honest and don't try and make it out like its still something to be excited over. Operate with more care to your employees and stop being irresponsible with people's futures. On my first kickoff there was lots of talk about brain power over people power. Bring that back. Seek clients that are ready to let you innovate and actually drive them forward. Find a way to give CSDLs more ability to have an impact again. That seems to have been removed, which results in CSDs not really having any decent avenue to address anything.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-09-05
  8. Helpful (5)

    "I Love This Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csd 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my 24 year career, I've never before worked at a place where management is more engaged, more transparent, or tries harder than at Cloudreach. Sure, it's not perfect, but welcome to the real world. In my time here so far, I've worked on several really cool projects for clients, and the people I work with are smart and they care about me and care about doing great work. There is a love of engineering and... technology, and my colleagues are constantly innovating in the work we get to deliver. Management has a clear strategy for the company, and the mission is about making other people great and doing it with technology. When my former colleagues talk about their jobs elsewhere and I talk about mine, they are jealous about what it's like for me at Cloudreach.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is my first time on this site and I so surprised to read negative reviews, that I felt compelled to write something about my experience, because it is nothing like I read here. It's not a perfect company, but I've worked at enough places to know that no company is perfect.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is figure out to make Glassdoor reviews reflect all the good! Sorry to hear some people have had less great experiences, but it's not the reality for us all!

    Cloudreach2019-09-12
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Cloudreach

    Pros

    Flexible working Lots of autonomy Central office & snacks Weekly lunch with colleagues on Friday’s Onsite massages Gym passes at local hotel

    Cons

    Keeps changing on a daily basis in spite of this actually being a simple IT services business; - back office staff constantly worn out & constantly running to catch up Internal systems and processes are very poor - highly manual & antiquated Lack of accountability / ownership due to practically no middle management Good people leaving left right and centre

    Advice to Management

    Put in place proper management structures and accountabilities Culture eats Strategy for lunch

    Cloudreach2019-10-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great perks and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Great perks and learning opportunities but no opportunity to grow with what you have learnt.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise engineers in need of coaching to encourage them to be experts in their given fields which in turns brings value to the company.

    Cloudreach2019-09-16
Found 214 reviews