Cloudreach Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach President and COO Brooks Borcherding
Brooks Borcherding
19 Ratings
  1. "The people are making Cloudreach great again!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great colleagues - growing again - working really hard to correct the mistakes of the past

    Cons

    - some negative people who yearn for the "good old days" and don't like any kind of change

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-01-20
  2. "Far better than the rating suggests"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The people, the customers - Great offices, perks and vibe - Change is constant and new opportunities come up in many directions - Generally, very good transparency - Action is taken when needed, some of which is reflected in the current rating. Take aggravated reviews with a pinch of salt.

    Cons

    - People who can't deal with speed and perpetual change struggle here - Can feel a bit chaotic at times - Often a lot of interruptions (slack/email/walkups etc) which can be distracting and tiring

    Cloudreach2020-01-19
  3. Helpful (7)

    "burnout city - avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people (majority i worked with have now left)

    Cons

    95% billable engagements. your holiday entitlement ('unlimited') is also rubbish if your on engagement due to the billable SLA. 'flexible working' was only 'work from home with a valid excuse' or that was my experience. flexible for the client, not flexible for the workforce appeared to be the mantra. a very thin veneer and not at all a good place to work in my opinion.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-02-20

    Cloudreach Response

    March 11, 2020

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Appreciate you calling out our awesome people – people will often say it’s the best part about working at Cloudreach. We have also found that our employees really value the work / life balance and flexible work options here, as evidenced by the data from our employee engagement surveys, onboarding surveys, and exit surveys. We work hard to ensure we achieve a balance between customer delivery and personal development time, so we’re sorry to hear you had issues with this. Regardless, it sounds like your brief time here did not meet your expectations and we hope you’ve landed somewhere that suits you better.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "The future is bright again"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    - Great people, you will never learn as much from other smart people as you do here. Ask for help when you need it and you'll get it. You also have access to a lot of learning resources. - People are generally nice and helpful. It's a cultural element that makes everyone's experience here very pleasant. - For a company that is largely a consultancy, there's lots of respect for the people on the ground and their preferences (like everywhere else some deals / customers turn out to be difficult, but that's life!). - Generally, the tech you work with is interesting (depending on projects). If you want to gain public cloud experience, this is the place to be. Across all three clouds - AWS, Azure and GCP.

    Cons

    - The company made some mistakes in the past 18 months, especially in what concerns the top leadership role(s). This has damaged morale somehow, hence the content in previous reviews. Big change has come and the culture is back where it should be (hopefully!). All companies go through hiccups at some point and this is no different, shame it was somehow self inflicted, but OK when you look at the overall picture. - Needs improvement in the "HR" side of the house. There's some of the previous "feel good" messages and programmes still around. It's time to focus on real improvements.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cloudreach is back!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Renewed leadership has produced a significant change on the company and its people. People’s moods have changed and it is again, a great place to work. New operating model works and there’s a culture of action to keep making things better.

    Cons

    Cloud Operations is an outrageous mess. It needs to be sorted. The people team needs more people who care. We all know who cares. Empower them (they make the difference) and get rid of others.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-01-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Through Growth Comes Opportunity, a Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked with Cloudreach for 9 years, joined as employee number 7 (the company is circa 900 ish now). It's been a remarkable ride, I've worked in 5 roles, lived in two countries, made great friends, learnt a ton and moved my career forward in leaps and bounds. At it's heart, Cloudreach is a great technology company. It was born in 2009 at the start of the public cloud boom, leveraging close relationships with AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure. Those same partnerships are core to the companies strategy today. If you are looking for somewhere to grow your technical career, it's a good choice. Large complex projects with interesting customers. My advice would be to embrace a fast moving business, keep an open mind and see where you can grow your own career, something which is much easier at Cloudreach than many other places I've worked.

    Cons

    This last year has been tough (if you read some of the recent reviews), the company grew headcount aggressively and doubled down it's commitment to software (via Cloudamize). Growth doesn't come without it's pain points, it's hard to get it all right all the time. That said the foundations are solid, the vision is clearer than ever before and will provide future opportunity if you are thinking of joining. The recent appointment of Brooks Borcherding is a great move, he's a natural leader and I'm sure will do well during this next phase of development.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2020-01-08
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Watch Out, The Americans are Coming!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, some very nice people to work with. the engineers are awesome, but for the managers (see the Cons!). Friday lunches always great! Pretty good communications although maybe a bit too over-dependent on Slack.

    Cons

    Title says it all. Gone are the days of a small, quaint, British consultancy, run by people who actually knew what they were doing. Now, having sold their soul to a nameless, yet famous, corporate assimilator, the board is now largely American. As a result, the company has struggled with cultural changes, and management and leadership slowly descended in to chaos. Offices too small and cramped. In the Edinburgh office, there was often no room for everybody to sit, so you would often find engineers and other staff working in the cafe downstairs. The uncapped holiday is not what it is claimed to be. With a 95% utilisation requirement for engineers with customers, you effectively accrued holiday. For example, if you worked 100% with a customer for four weeks you earned two days. Which, incidentally, is the same as most places in the UK with standard 25 days off a year. if your utilisation fell below 95% after holidays, then overtime was required to make up the numbers. So, not as great as it seems! And the Cloudy Values, almost cultish. It felt a bit fake and contrived at times, especially when management very blatantly did not follow these values themselves.

    Cloudreach2020-01-14

    Cloudreach Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate you taking note of our cloudy perks like Friday lunches and recognising our talented Cloudreachers. We think they’re masters! And yes, we do love slack, but hey, we like to move fast - who doesn’t love a giphy or emoji, right? It’s true that we’re not so small anymore. We’re proud to have grown into a global organisation - we cherish our British roots, and equally love how we’ve expanded our impact across the world. And that’s just our office locations. We’re even more proud that we have people from many cultures in our Cloudy family. We experienced a lot of growth and change in 2019, which meant our offices started to fill up and our leadership team evolved. We’ve taken steps to adapt how we do things and we are taking forward what is best in our Cloudy Values so that we stay one step ahead and succeed together. We might not always get it right, and even when we do, we’re always working at making that happen. To say that our utilisation expectation is 95% is a bit unfair, though. If you felt this was the expectation, we’re sorry to hear it and we hope you shared this with your manager before you left. Thank you for being part of our team - we wish you all the best on your next adventure!

  8. Helpful (4)

    "A great place to learn if you want to move fast"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    - You will learn a lot. The world moves fast in cloud computing, and especially at Cloudreach. This applies across functions, it doesn't really matter if you're in "tech" or not. Don't be afraid to put your hand up and ask for more to do/different things to do...you'll probably get it - Cloud computing, and Cloudreach, is a great thing to have on your CV for the future should you want to do something else - The company hires well (bar some mis-steps in management in 2018/19, which have been corrected - well done). You'll work with smart, friendly people who want to make it happen. People who do leave, frequently come back for social events as they realise their new place of work doesn't hire people as nice - There are plenty of opportunities to work in different locations - You'll be part of an organisation that is generally very successful in what they set out to do - The company is transparent about where they're headed and how they're performing (as much as is possible, and certainly more than most)

    Cons

    - As above, some of the leadership roles were poorly filled from summer 2018 onwards, and you'll have seen that in Glassdoor ratings. That's now been fixed, and people more culturally aligned to the business are in role. There's a lot less corporate cheese as a result, and more action - Probably still a few people unsettled by prior changes, but that will calm down - Some systems aren't slick and smooth as they could be in an ideal world - Compensation process, and a few HR things generally, are a little clunky. Also, the company isn't rolling in money (intentionally through growth, as I interpret it), but pays fairly - although you'll earn more at Google, Facebook, etc of course

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-12-24
  9. Helpful (41)

    "Leadership value profit over people"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I joined Cloudreach, the company was committed to doing things differently, and putting the employees first. There was an understanding that having an engaged and committed workforce would lead to having a successful business. Cloudreach had values that every employee lived and breathed. The culture was infectious which made going to work each day a joy, rather than a drag. This made a noticeable difference both internally, and externally to customers. Cloudreach challenged employees to think differently, experiment and not be afraid of failure. This allowed Cloudreachers to push the boundaries and develop super-creative solutions to difficult problems. Personally, I was able to be involved in a huge variety of projects that gave me so much exposure and experience. This allowed me to develop in my role at a rapid pace. I gained so much valuable experience in my 2.5 years at Cloudreach, that is feels more like 25 years. I can take away a huge amount of learning from Cloudreach that will allow me to excel in my next role. I will certainly be taking some of the original Cloudreach culture and ethos with me.

    Cons

    Over my time at Cloudreach, I noticed a huge decline in the culture. Cloudreach is now moving towards ‘off-the-shelf’ for everything. Cloudreachers are no longer required (or given the opportunity) to think creatively. The leadership is out-of-touch and unaccepting of challenge where it would have previously been welcomed. Now, any challenge to leadership decisions seems to result in a mark against your name and a constant, unwinnable battle. Cloudreachers who challenge leadership are “problems” to be mitigated rather than assets to be valued. Often decisions would be made for a line of work to progress. Many Cloudreachers would be working on a project, and then somewhere down the line a seemingly arbitrary decision would be made to halt the project. No explanation or justification would be given, and the past 6, 12, 18 months work would be rendered pointless. This came down to Leadership not having a clear vision and not understanding what was happening on the ground. Compensation at Cloudreach is poor. Despite having an entire team dedicated to improving this for over two years, no improvements have been made and numerous deadlines for a compensation review have been missed. Many Cloudreachers, including myself, were happy to overlook this delay as we felt valued in other ways. However, it is clear that Cloudreach are moving away from caring about their employees, in an effort to “put-the-customer-first”. It now seems that the only objective is to make as much money as possible, without caring about what damage is done to the company on the journey. As a result, many Cloudreachers have been left feeling undervalued as well as underpaid.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-11-03

    Cloudreach Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate you taking note of our cloudy perks like Friday lunches and recognising our talented Cloudreachers. We think they’re masters! And yes, we do love slack, but hey, we like to move fast - who doesn’t love a giphy or emoji, right? It’s true that we’re not so small anymore. We’re proud to have grown into a global organisation - we cherish our British roots, and equally love how we’ve expanded our impact across the world. And that’s just our office locations. We’re even more proud that we have people from many cultures in our Cloudy family. We experienced a lot of growth and change in 2019, which meant our offices started to fill up and our leadership team evolved. We’ve taken steps to adapt how we do things and we are taking forward what is best in our Cloudy Values so that we stay one step ahead and succeed together. We might not always get it right, and even when we do, we’re always working at making that happen. To say that our utilisation expectation is 95% is a bit unfair though. If you felt this was the case, we’re sorry to hear it and we hope you shared this with your manager before you left. Thank you for being part of our team - we wish you all the best on your next adventure!

  10. Helpful (17)

    "This ship is sinking..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A once great company is well and truly over. Hideous to employees, especially woman.

    Cons

    Too many to mention, treat women badly, no interest in career progression, kicking people out the door left, right and centre.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-11-06
Found 257 reviews