Cloudreach Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach President and COO Brooks Borcherding
Brooks Borcherding
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (36)

    "Hyper growing into irrelevance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My cons section reads as a catty (but fair) review – so here’s the things I’ve appreciated at my time at Cloudreach: • Above anything else is the social aspect. I’ve built some strong friendships with fun people, who I will always stay in touch with when we all leave. • I’ve operated with complete autonomy and carved out niches for myself with clients. • Kickoffs used to be great and extravagant. • If you want to learn, the onus is on you, and you can, with relative ease, go to conferences, do certifications etc. In addition, some people in senior positions are genuinely trying to fix the problems with the company. Managers are going through some training (although this doesn’t make up for lack of experience), Sales are being taught more tactics etc. In the future things may improve – but there’s no tangible incentive for an individual to stick it out and wait indefinitely.

    Cons

    I joined Cloudreach with the promise that the company was rife with opportunities, was growing organically (for the most part) and would provide me with a breadth of experience with the latest cloud technologies. Unfortunately, the reality that myself and many others experienced was the inverse. To understand the problems with the company, it’s best to look at what’s changed: • In 2017 Blackstone purchased Cloudreach for an undisclosed sum. Internally, this was marketed as a fantastic opportunity to accelerate the company’s growth, provide a wealth of external expertise/partnerships and provide stability. • To achieve the ROI in the timeframe required by Blackstone, ultimately the organisation had to change. The CEO was replaced, and diversification into more service-based offerings was ramped up, to improve cash flow liquidity, and eventually provide economies-of-scale. The result of the new direction has led to a lack of focus on what caused Cloudreach to grow in the first place – happy people -> happy customers. There used to be a strong emphasis on hiring high-quality, aspirational people, which in turn led to better projects, and more people wanting to join and work with like-minded individuals. The company has instead matured into a Microsoft-esque heavy sales/marketing and back-office-driven organisation, where sales teams have, at best, the technological understanding of how to turn on a television. This has led to “scraps” of clients being picked up, with uninspiring projects being available as a result. This eventually resulted in dire financial performance and the leadership team (or as they prefer to be known, “Executive Council”) pushing more sales targets down peoples’ throats, without actually engaging with the worker bees to understand the real long-term cost of going after low-quality opportunities. If you’re looking at the vast number of job-openings and wondering “are they growing amazingly well?” or “are they merely backfilling leavers?” the answer lies somewhere in the middle. With regards to growth – yes, the company is growing inorganically. Money is being thrown at hiring anyone who will apply – especially at junior levels. What you will receive (with some exceptions) is awful line management and some trendy perks, such as snacks in the office – somewhat useful as you’ll be sitting on the bench waiting for a project. If you must apply, I would advise spending an hour with your potential manager to ascertain if they can inspire you, and you can trust them.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-06-14

    Cloudreach Response

    June 28, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. We value all feedback as we are continually seeking ways to improve. We appreciate a number of things you have raised here, and equally we wanted to address a couple of them. On the one hand, we are delighted to hear you have built strong friendships and gained valuable development experiences during your time at Cloudreach. A focus on our people, creating moments to connect with your fellow Cloudreachers, continuous learning opportunities have always been at the heart of our Cloudreach values and culture. We have been (and are) experiencing an incredible level of growth since we were founded, and this is set to continue in the future. To set us up for success, we’ve been pivoting in many areas. We appreciate at times that this may have felt unsettling and may have impacted some of the work you do day-to-day. We believe there is a bright future ahead and many exciting opportunities on the horizon. In terms of our trendy perks and nice offices not being enough to meet the needs of our consultants on the road, we hear you! We are very proud of our office spaces and comfortable work environments but we agree that first and foremost it is about how we service and solve problems for our Customers, and that our Cloudreachers want rewarding projects with industry impact as well as a broader suite of personalised benefits. Earlier in the year we clarified Our Cloudy deal which aims to meet the following elements - base your total compensation on the skills, knowledge and behaviours you bring to Cloudreach; aspire to provide flexible benefits, enabling you to achieve a work-life balance that helps you thrive; provide constant opportunities to take on new roles and grow with Cloudreach, as well as training, coaching and continuous feedback to boost your expertise and give you career-enhancing skills give you the opportunity to make a personal impact and deliver results that help grow our business and make a difference to our customers, our community and your colleagues We are building foundations to support this relating to people, processes, organisational design and functional aspects. This journey is heading in the right direction, however we appreciate this transformation has a ripple effect and going through growth means friction. We take everyone's feedback very seriously, discuss it at the most senior level and use it to keep improving and building momentum. We ask our people for feedback in all our internal communication mechanisms. We encourage you to share your thoughts, struggles and constructive feedback with us internally. Together, we shape the future. We will take your feedback onboard and use it to refine and focus our approach.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Scaling new heights"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working People centric Cloud heritage Great tech talent

    Cons

    Develop products with customers in mind Fuelling scaleable growth, especially into new technology areas

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Impressive place to work. So far, I feel lucky to be here."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance and flexibility. It seems to be only limited by the clients, but that is understandable as CR is a consulting company. Interesting and challenging technologies and projects. Technical skills development support and promotion. Easy access to the know-how gathered by CR consultants. Excellent knowledge base. Great atmosphere, it is a pleasure to be in the office and work with the people there. Leadership and senior management seem to listen to us, and they have taken action more often than I have seen elsewhere. Cloudy lunches are an excellent opportunity to meet and talk to the colleagues; it is great bonding initiative. The office kitchen is stocked better than my own, and any other place I worked at! WOW!

    Cons

    Company policy requires the use of Google Office Suite, and its limitations impact my productivity and prevent me from utilising the skills I have acquired over 15-years of work with MS Office suite. Frustrating! Not sure about career development opportunities, on the one hand, the company grows, and there should be plenty of opportunities, on the other nothing is clear about the process. In general, the benefits are disappointing and limited. In a way it is accentuated by the fact that CR lists a laptop and phone as benefits; I would argue these are tools! Limited space in the office and single screen workstations. Cloudreach does not enjoy brand and recognition as other consultancies, and this might somehow affect the future career opportunities outside of the organisation.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (11)

    "After a few years..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Been with Cloudreach several years. It has plenty more ups than downs but sometimes struggles under the weight of its own growth; it surges regularly, then needs to spend time balancing. If newbies can get through the first 6-12 months they generally do well and form very strong bonds. There is a distinct character type works at Cloudreach, it's easy to spot. Usually outgoing and smart; it's extremely rare to find people you can't get along with. Company falls over itself trying to communicate in numerous ways, in fact sometimes too many ways, the transparency is generally high but can be overwhelming. Lots of opportunity for growth and crossing job boundaries/ regional borders for those interested. The changes have been noticeable this year. The VC owners beginning to assert themselves, new CEO still to impose himself. Acquisitions in general have been very smart, the US monster is now awakening. These are not bad things.

    Cons

    Cloudreach can often be it's own worst enemy. Moving too fast, a desire to do things in a certain way, sometimes lack of process. Compensation is finally being addressed after a few years being behind the curve, though I would have preferred shares. Free beer and lunch is fine to a point but would like to see more meaningful grown up benefits. Deep expertise is sometimes hard to find, but the smart people have an attitude of "I will figure that out" but it may take time. Staff attrition comes and goes but rarely to competitors, often moves into different sectors, reflecting growth of the individuals.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-01-03
  5. Helpful (25)

    "Used to be great - becoming a boring corporate machine which lacks innovation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Still some good people left Flexible working hours and holiday benefits are good

    Cons

    Culture diminishing - hiring bar has lowered in both a technical and social capacity. Trying to meet aggressive recruitment targets set by new leadership who don't grasp what made the company successful and differentiated it from competitors. Lots of the fun perks are quickly disappearing - no quarterly trips Leadership are very closed about the real company strategy - founders used to be open about what was happening - the new corporate leaders just make vague meaningless statements now. Pay is below market rate People get mistreated - extra efforts go unnoticed. Engineers now often get left on projects for long periods of time in a bodyshop capacity. Longer standing employees get rewarded less than new joiners who are less experienced. Most of the projects the company has are using older less innovative areas of Cloud technology which means you don't learn new skills as much as if you worked somewhere more progressive like Cloudreach used to be. In some cases Cloudreach is struggling to remain far enough ahead of its customers Cloud proficiency to add strategic value. Took over 1 year (and still counting) to work on restructuring the company and halted a lot of the previous opportunities of career progression in the meantime - Cloudreach didn't care that lots of good people left during that time and those losses are beginning to show.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-02-11

    Cloudreach Response

    April 3, 2019Head of Cloudreach Europe

    Thanks for the note, pleased to hear you generally like the benefits and the people we hire. We like to reply to feedback where we can, although it’s always difficult doing so anonymously. I’ll pick a few of your points below, and try to answer/respond: - Hiring bar. My belief is this is more perception than reality, likely linked to many new faces as we grow. I joined the company at around 10 people, so being at 800 plus is also a change for me - although one I’m enjoying, ;-) Generally it’s Cloudreach’s more experienced folks that handle our interviews, and I know they are as picky as ever (and so they should be, this is part of what makes us different). There’s no agenda to lower that bar, that wouldn’t make sense for anyone. We *are* definitely hiring a lot of people though - all of whom still pass difficult “domain” interviews, alongside the usual cloud panel check on cultural fit. - Quarterly trip. That’s a fair one - when we were a smaller organisation, it was logistically and cost-wise still possible to do this around calendar Q1. Now we’re a bit bigger, we took a decision this year at least to focus the effort and money elsewhere around benefits. We did still of course organise local events + parties in each city, and are gathering feedback formally around what worked + didn’t. - On the point about being closed on Strategy, that’s definitely not intentional. We’ve always tried to be open on all fronts, and I suspect communicate about who we are and what we do a lot more than most companies - BUT - sounds like we can do better. What type of thing would you like to hear about? Submit it through the TGIF Q form, or have a chat to your team lead, please. - You raise a couple of salary points - which I hope have been addressed in the recent rounds of benchmarking. But if not, your team lead would be a good place to start for a conversation if not already done. The Employee Engagement team can help with discussions after that. - On the “new skills” point, we’d love to help you (and others interested) work on something that’s of interest to you. Are you talking to your team lead on this? Sounds like you’ve got some good ideas we should be looking at. If that’s not getting the result you’d like, please talk to your ‘engine’ leader directly with some ideas. I was chatting to someone about tensorflow in space earlier for (very!) remote Edge devices, definitely interesting things going on, depending on what you're looking for. If we can get some specifics, I’m certain we can make some progress in the areas you’d like. I agree entirely with this sentiment: “the people are your greatest asset”. Chris

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Positive Atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Working with smart people + Lots of opportunity for learning, internally through the L&D team or with external companies + Fast Growing = getting involved in things that stretch your abilities + Great atmosphere to work in, people are friendly, enjoy the perks like going for lunch with others in the office

    Cons

    - Lots going on, can be hard to keep up!

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2018-12-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture. Lots of fun, but not for the faint-hearted"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Exposed to great tech. Ability to make a real difference. Plenty of learning and career opportunities as the company continues to grow. Culture is great, incredibly talented colleagues. Great customers and exciting projects. Incredible growth, who doesn't want to be part of a winning team!

    Cons

    There are some tools and processes which are only being improved recently. Most people are passionate about innovation and change, and aren't very forgiving of that, but inn fairness, when growing at this pace, it's easy to outgrow processes very quickly. Some other areas like the "formal" career progression paths need sorting (happening now).

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2018-11-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Never a dull moment, truly a cutting edge cloud company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You could never get bored at a company like Cloudreach. The company is growing really quickly and there are so many opportunities for people with the right outlook. It does take patience and maturity sometimes, given the amount of initiatives underway at any given time and the pace of change, but it's been my experience that people are judged on the quality of their ideas and how they deliver against these. The company scores high on innovation and has an aggressive growth strategy that is on track. I am truly exciting to think of where we will be in the next 2-3 years.

    Cons

    There are so many things to do and so many well meaning people trying to push in all sorts of directions, sometimes initiatives get jammed up by one another. I have also seen some people not make it at Cloudreach because they are not able to successfully assert themselves and get the development they are looking for. This is not a place for wallflowers.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2018-11-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome people, Great culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DevOps Lead in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So many good things!!! An amazing place to work, wonderful culture, and the most fantastic people. Smart, friendly, and the Cloudy Values are wonderful

    Cons

    Rapidly growing company is starting to experience some growing pains due to transition between a startup-sized company and a larger enterprise. The chaos and progress gaps can be frustrating at time.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2018-11-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Been here few years now and never stopped loving it!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent growth opportunities, ability to move between roles and offices - awesome office atmosphere, attitude of most other Cloudreachers is excellent, plenty of social events every day of the week - despite all the growth, so far the culture has not degraded - good leadership and bunch of very clever talented people around who are a pleasure to be learning from

    Cons

    - organisation of certain efforts and projects could be better, duplication of effort or time wastage keeps happening - benefits could be better

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2018-11-07
Found 257 reviews