Co-op CTM Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for CTM

Co-op CTM Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
10 Ratings
  1. "Summerfields wasn't this bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Ainsdale, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like to do the night shifts. If im working in the cash office I uselly have the freedom to pick my brakes as and when I want them. I can charge my phone instore. 10% discount helps on milk.

    Cons

    Never enough staff. Low staffing levels No Accident book. No guard, I see more stock (In money value) go out the door in theft than I earn, Terrible handheld devices that the job needs, Self-scans and checkout computers that brake down frequently, Including bells used to call for assistance. No respect for times of shifts, I.E - Im mostly on all the lates when ofters have mornings. also people that have other commitments...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give us more staff to help with queues. Having no accident book is just plain stupid You need to start thinking realistically about every individual store. Not one method for all.

    Co-op2015-10-12
  2. "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Moffat, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Meeting the public and some members of staff are nice

    Cons

    Management have do care for their staff. You are just a number to them!!

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your staff. Especially in times when family members die

    Co-op2015-10-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "overstretched"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - CTM in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      ? can't honestly see any at the moment, hopefully it will go back the place it once was. Staff discount

      Cons

      Since the financial difficulties hours have been cut leaving it impossible to function, trying to be in 3 places at once, reliable,good long serving staff are leaving left right and centre. I just can't see what the future holds.

      Advice to Management

      Instead on spending money updating Angel square and new procedures and policys which clearly are not working, put money back in to the shop floor, where it is needed. You will continue to lose some good staff if it carries on as it is.

      Co-op2015-08-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Where is our fair trade?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The other CTMs are a delight, the customers in our area respond to us amazingly well.

      Cons

      Totally unethical with staff, S3 is an awful system and staff are treated like dirt by management who play the game and pretend to share the values we came to the store for, when in reality expect all of your time through an awful availability system (we aren't working in a zero hours contract but are treated as such! If you need more of our time contract it!). I have experienced very personal criticisms and have been...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be kind, be understanding, stand up for us (we are the backbone of your reputation and reflect how we are treated). Address our stresses, be critical of the system when we are telling you it doesn't work and don't try to cheat us to look good. You need us to trust you but you don't work to earn it.

      Co-op2015-03-06
    • "very old organization with high standard products and services and fairtrade policies but sadly mismanaged as whole ."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Swanscombe, England
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      I like to work here because it's very convinient to reach and don't have to travel.secondly my working hours are very suitable for my requirements and being an old employee i've become a part of the group.

      Cons

      To keep customer service the main objective.To keep customer's requirements and their satisfaction as keypoint for success.Keeping the products available and very focussed to make minimum wastes. All the equipments to have regular maintainanceand upgraded regularly to the latest technology easy to use. Cleanliness and hygiene to be first priority.

      Advice to Management

      It would be a great motivation if the store and the staff be rewarded for their exceptional performance every time they show good performance .If any staff shows tremendous performance should be rewarded . If any staff offers helping out covering any other staff's shift out of the way should be given double or atleast 11/2 The working hours for over time to help out in emergency.Because our help is not appriciated we...

      Show More
      Co-op2014-05-19
    • "Not the bad place it is made out to be on the news"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Alsager, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some great staff to work with...almost like a family in some cases. Customers in general are very thankful for your efforts and services. Co-op food is expanding (at least in my store) and we are seeing new faces becoming regulars. Nice contrast from what we hear on the news.

      Cons

      Management expect too much from staff with no extra resources to help them. More flexible hours needed to add to the total of hours per department, ie, short notice overtime. These cons however are based on a large store.

      Advice to Management

      Team leaders are key (not my role) and they deserve more praise than they get (in bigger stores at least). Seeing the work that they put in, often work that higher management don't know about, is sometimes staggering.

      Co-op2014-05-04
    • "Cooperative experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Team Member (CTM) in Southwater, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Meeting new people. Experience. Okayish work life balance.

      Cons

      Low pay. Akin to slave labour. Rota system is naff. Staff discount is only beneficial when you get paid as it goes from 10% staff discount to 20%. No real opportunities for team building events unless the staff pay from their own pockets.

      Advice to Management

      Pay staff more, listen and talk to general staff, not take managements word as gospel. Hold staff forums where some members are invited along to voice the opinions of the store, as voted by fellow employees.

      Co-op2014-05-18
    • "Reliable source of work, but not a fulfilling job, lacking support, room for improvment and fun!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Southampton, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good shift pattern, guareented hours every week. Good friendship with other employees.

      Cons

      Managment are boss, mean, and not encouraging. Work is not made fun or exciting, it is all about targets When something goes wrong, management never take responsibility

      Advice to Management

      Be more approchable, ,more kind and more supportive Praise staff when they do well, make work be recongnised

      Co-op2014-05-16
    • "it's ok but you never get all they promise"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Winchelsea, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      easy distance from home and school, convenient the current staff are fun to work with and 99% of the customers are lovely

      Cons

      always being let down promises made but never kept all staff suffers for upper management frailer and now are wasting millions on simple stores re branding. the training for staff to improve themselves are non existent

      Advice to Management

      listern to your staff

      Co-op2014-05-14
    • "Bitter sweet and frustrating."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op for more than 10 years

      Pros

      If you want proper feedback then 20 words is completely unrealistic - so I won't bother.

      Cons

      Upper management (i.e. Manchester) couldn't organise a booze up in a brewery.

      Advice to Management

      Stop fiddling while Rome burns - we make the money that pays your salaries!

      Co-op2014-05-14
    Found 47 reviews