Find jobs for CTM

Co-op CTM Reviews

Updated 11 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "CTM 2 years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and friendly management (mostly) able to get a good work life balance. Never any issues with store manager he was always very helpful and approachable

    Cons

    Particular staff in my store were obvious favourites and full time staff were condescending and got away with murder

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    October 22, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the work/life balance available to you. All the best with your future career. ^Sam.

  2. "Sales assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Chirnside, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to work for a big branded name and also work with people I like as well

    Cons

    Having to travel to walk for instance I have to walk to work but its not too much of a problem

    Continue reading

  3. "Meh"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great chance to talk to customers and become a part of the community

    Cons

    -Management just doesnt care -You are always wrong -When you are asked to work overtime, and find later on your schedule has been changed to set you in on that time, so you dont get overtime pay -6-8 hours on a till only is a joke Especially when there is no seat to sit down. -Getting a review and getting "Bellow Standard" because you are slow at stocking shelves, when all you ever do is be on till. And also getting rated on your avaliability. -Having your availability ignored, or holiday requests ignored, even though you were the first there. -No set shift pattern, and last minute changes, making a 3 week rota schedule ineffective and useless to make plans for. -The same 16-20 songs played for almost a year, only difference was christmas -Unwillingness to waste products that should be wasted. For a part time job, this is pretty bad

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    October 18, 2018.

    Hi, thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you're not enjoying your experience. I would encourage you to speak with your Manager or Area Manager about your concerns so that improvements can be made. If you need any additional support do contact our Employee Assistance Programme on 0800 069 8854. ^Sam

  4. "Not bad. Not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Wareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good selection of products Staff discount Flexible working hours that fit around my family life

    Cons

    Don’t get full breaks if any at all Asked to work through breaks while managers take several breaks You can’t sell any age restricted items including energy drinks till 6 weeks in. Have to call other staff to authorise age restricted products which is a pain when there’s a massive que. had to work out how to do a lot of things on our own not a lot of training given. Some members of staff not given training on things they’ve been asked to do Not enough staff to cope with the demand of the shop and customers Not enough storage space to cope with the amount of delivery’s Managers stressing out with every delivery

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    June 2, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you are not getting your breaks, this should not be happening at your store so I ask that you raise this with your manager and HR so this can be rectified. Regarding training, this should be happening often among your team, if you feel you are not getting the support that is needed please do report this through the official lines. ^Catherine

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Generally good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member (CTM) in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can sometimes have a great team and few rare excellent managers do exist

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, rota'd shifts so very hard to plan your life outside of work. Some managers are awful and make you hate your job

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    April 30, 2018

    Thankyou for your review, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your time working at the Co-op. I'm sorry to hear that your working hours were not discussed with you at the job interview so you weren't aware that working as a CTM involved working weekends and evenings. This should happen at the time you are offered a role within our Co-op. I hope you raised your concerns about your manager at the time so that they could be looked into. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Catherine

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sort out the wastage issue!!!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some great people over the years. Management fair when changing shifts/booking holidays etc Management approachable Good atmosphere/lots of regular customers

    Cons

    Discount could be better for convenience store price band Area manager arrogant, doesn't even acknowledge staff, only management. The amount of waste thrown away each night is disgraceful.

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    March 1, 2018

    Thankyou for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoy your role and the people that you are working with. I'm sorry to hear you are having issues with your area manager, if this proceed I do recommend raising these concerns through the official lines. Regarding food waste - no food goes to waste at our Co-op. Food is either donated or recycled into energy to fuel our stores. May store colleagues have built up additional relationships with local food banks, so if this is something you're passionate about I recommend you do the same. ^Catherine

  7. "decent job for student"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    relatively relaxed compared to some super markets. decent pay. good people.

    Cons

    little to no progression within company

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your role at our Co-op and would recommend to others. I'm sorry to hear you felt there was no progression within your team and raised your concerns with your manager at the time so you could both work on a development plan for you. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Catherine

  8. "CTM Co-op Food"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant pay, great benefits (like double discount on payday weekends, half price cinema tickets with the co-op benefits website, interest free loan, paid back over 12 months out of your salary, for deposit if you ever move whilst working for co-op etc) Good support for staff if you are struggling with depression/anxiety Company are very focused on the wellbeing of its staff In most stores really understanding and lovely management and colleagues

    Cons

    Unreasonable sickness and absence policy (3 missed work days or illnesses over a year and you have to have a disaplinary hearing, EVEN if you had to miss work for family emergencies or operations) Not very easy to get in contact with HR if you have a problem with a manager or another member of staff etc Unsociable hours (sometimes from 5am to 3pm or awkward hours like 1:30pm to 11pm so I personally found I had no life outside work and if I did I was always tired or always waiting around to go to work) Each supervisor and manager has a different way of doing things (so you're told to do something one specific way when one duty manager is in and then told to do it a completely different way when another one is in) Not much communication between area managers and store managers (so you're told to do different things by each of them) If you do something wrong some managers can be very quick to report you however when they make the same mistakes it is ALWAYS just brushed under the carpet High expectations for staff yet managers seem to get away with doing nothing (eg sitting in the office talking, laughing and eating with other managers whilst the rest of us are working really hard to get everything done before close)

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    June 8, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed working at the Co-op and would recommend it to others. I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with your manager all colleagues should be able to speak to raise concerns with their manager or area manager and give feedback. We also have our Employee Assistance Program which is available 24-hours-a-day, 365 days a year if colleagues need: confidential advice, support, counselling, whether it’s to do with work or not. I'm sorry you were't aware of this service who would have been there to help you with an issues your were having. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Catherine

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Dire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    10% discount, 20% a couple of times a year

    Cons

    Low contract hours for staffers. 39 hours for Managers, mainly slightly better paid shelf fillers Holidays are paid on contract hours, savings for COOP, not hiring on full time contracts, but getting full time workers! Deliberate understaffing, 1 on 1 shifts, 1 manager 1 staffer shifts, putting staffers at risk Back to back shifts, illegal unless agreed, 2-3 hour short shifts, Inadequate security and vetting, and it shows Survey results worthless. Managers stood over staffers. COOP do not want to hear the truth. Just what they want to hear Worst pay, and benefits compared to competitor chains £7.66 per hour Chaotic business, poor training, and patronising citrus modules

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time working for our Co-op and would not recommend it. I'm concerned to hear about your claim on illegal shift patterns and hope that you raised this with the HR team at the time so this could be looked into as this should not be happening. Again I'm sorry to hear you do not feel as though your feedback was taken on, we have an entire team who are dedicated to listening to all our colleagues through many means and feeding this information back across the business on a weekly basis so that changes can be made where they need to be. Regarding our benefits, all colleagues have access to hundred of discounts across high street brands and discounts at our Co-op, these can all be found easily on our online system, I'm sorry to hear you didn't make use of them. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Catherine

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Co-Op proves very disapointing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM Bakery in Harpenden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fellow staff members are friendly and hard working

    Cons

    poor pay, not enough staff so always stressed, unpaid overtime, don't reward additional skills

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear you do not enjoy your job and would not recommend it. I"m concerned to hear you are working overtime that is not being paid. Please raise this immediately with the HR team so this can be looked into as this should not be happening in your team. ^Catherine

Found 75 reviews