Find jobs for CTM

Co-op CTM Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "With the right staff its a good time. The company is quite disorganised but it is what you make of it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for under 25s Relaxed atmosphere If you do the work and are nice to managers generally a good experience Good for part time work with college or school Flexible shift patterns Good at giving training or help when progressing or stuck Worked in 3 store and found most of management to be enthusiastic and easy to work with Shifts can be good fun with the right people

    Cons

    Where stores are short staffed you get late notice for shift cover. Small stores have more work per colleague as there is less staff on per shift. Depending on the supervisor/manager you are in with you can either know exactly what you are doing or be a little lost and not have much to do at tills. Due to the rebrand and how disorganised the overall company is some managers have become dissatisfied with their jobs

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    September 7, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working on these issues with our leading the way program. If you're interested in knowing more you can contact us through our Co-op Colleagues Facebook. Thanks, ^Sophie

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth the stress"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Ability to switch between different stores (when wanting over-time ect) Fair holiday's

    Cons

    Poor team building Made to feel isolated, unrealistic expectations in time frames. Pressure

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    September 18, 2017

    Hi There, Very sorry to hear work has been stressful for you. Did you attend a 'Back to Being Co-op' Session? This was a great team building day for everyone. ^Sophie


  3. Helpful (8)

    "Not the best employer out there..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in two co-ops, this review focuses on the one which I worked at for the longest (around 1.5yrs). I first started working at the co-operative food everything was great, even though at the interview I basically got told I had the job as soon as I gave my name and available hours. The pay was decent in relation to the work to begin with and I could work as much or as little as I liked. My colleagues seemed amiable, and my managers all seemed reasonable and respectable.

    Cons

    I didn't receive any training days etc, I was made to sign off for training that I did not receive and to sign " employee procedure contracts" to state that I fully understood processes/training that I never received, I tried to protest the first few times (I signed around 20 of these "contracts") but the manager made me feel as if I would be written up for refusing. These "contracts" were used as ammunition to discipline staff, no other reason, not to ensure a comprehensive level of training, but to make it easy for the management to throw the book at you. Since the first few weeks and up until the day I left, money was going missing from tills every week! Around £40-70 would be missing, and nobody would ever do anything about it. We had assigned tills and would have to declare all of our possessions before and after the shift - this did nothing. I would be lied to about the length of my shifts, managers would go back and edit rotas so that they could try to trick you into coming in on days off (I started taking a copy home on the release day to prevent this). I would sometimes be stood up at the kiosk for the entirety of an 8 hour shift, even when explicitly promised otherwise (i.e. that someone else would be in later to take me off later on) - complaints about ankle and shin pain from standing up for the duration were ignored. The first store manager I worked under (before leaving due to disability) never even knew who I was, I used to come in to shop on my days off and he'd speak to me as if I were just a customer. Towards the end of my time at co-op I was being consistently lied to by management, I was always asking for extra hours because mine had been cut back, I'd be told there weren't any going that week, and then later in the week I'd get a phone call asking me why I wasn't in work! I'd been assigned someone elses hours and then was told it was my fault for not checking rotas - even though I'd been told no extra hours were going. Managers did not communicate, one of my friends who was promoted to manager decided to step back down to superviser because he was actually making less money with more responsibilities and hours! I was commended on my work a grand total of twice during my employment, however, any time things went wrong I would be blamed regardless of the truth of the matter. For example, we started using two-way radios (there were about half as many radios as there were staff working because again, someone was stealing them) to call people to and from tills because the intercom had broken. My manager wrote me up for not responding to her on radio that she claimed she had given me at the beginning of my shift - she hadn't given it to me. I went into the back and it had been laying on a shelf for the duration, even after showing her her mistake I was still written up/disciplined. By the end I wasn't even being paid the full amount I'd worked, erroneous sick days and late starts on my payslip were incredibly common and the management would argue tooth and nail that you weren't in that day and that CCTV did not go back that far to prove it. We had thefts daily and no security to prevent it - the shop itself was falling apart, with doors having to be jammed open and shut (again presenting multiple risks) shelves were always half full (I was asked on several occasions if we were closing down; I wished!). Lastly, and most shockingly, presenting any individual initiative was met with contempt, I learned this very early on - any ideas I had about the store and improvements we could make were ignored. I was never informed of the complaints procedure for employees, I could never find out how to log on the co-op employees' page. Whenever I asked about taking complaints higher up I was met with animosity, I was worried that they would force me out of my job if I complained to HR. Given everything that went on there, I never had any real faith that employee complaints would be taken seriously - so well done on that, the work environment pushed me to the point of feeling weighed down and unable air my frustrations. At one point my managers "accidentally" changed my CITRUS password without my knowledge so my account had to be reset.

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    May 14, 2017Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your comment. I'm concerned to hear about the issues you experience while working at your store. This is not the level or expertise we expect from any manager. If you raised your concerns with the HR team at the time they would have supported your while they investigated the short comings happening at your store. As a company we also have a Employee Assistance Programme (EAP) which is available to all colleagues 24/7, 365 days a year if you need confidential advice or support. They would have been able to help you. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Catherine

  4. Helpful (1)

    "typical customer service job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    get 10% off when shopping in co-op. if you get the right manager shop can be a good place to work. most other CTM's are friendly and nice and so can a lot of customer in a local shop.

    Cons

    use to get 20% off but recurrently taken that away, more bad managers that don't care, reviews are rare and are rushed and no real developed, rather employ new management staff then try asking staff already there if they would like to try for it even after they have express wanting to move up. rota work and normality only get one week ahead even though they say you should know the next three

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    February 18, 2017

    Hi there, thanks so much for your comments, we'll make sure this is fed back on your behalf. ^Scott

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible - Never Again."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is absolutley nothing positive to write about my time working in a horrible, filthy Co-op shop. I just hope that people think twice about starting employment for this awful employer and don't make the horrile mistake I did by giving them a chance. I had tears of joy after leaving this awful dead-end job

    Cons

    Everything about working for the Co-op was dreadful. The money was a joke (I know its a retail job and they do tend to be a lot lower paid than proper jobs) If the company wants employees to be slightly motivated for the horrible long shifts in a freezing cold shop at least pay the same as other supermakets. The shifts were a total shambles. They didn't listen to requests.about not working every singleweekend so I could see my kids - and yes I did bring this up with senior management. They didn't care. I have had nights leaving that place in tears. The only communication from management was because they weren't happy about something, or if they were wanting to have a go at you. During the year of 2016 I had 4 weekends off. 2 of them I requested as holidays. I had to beg them. This place made my life a awful. I honestly still feel sick when I think about the two years of my I wasted here. They shop was filthy, the only time it got any kind of clean was if an Area Manager was going to be visiting. There is no real promotion chances here. Unless your face fits and after a while you can be promoted to team leader and get lots more resonsability for an extra 70p per hour.

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    May 14, 2017Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your comment. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time when working for the Co-op. I wish you had raised your concerns with the HR team at the time as you mentioned that your manager wasn't helpful, the HR team can support you with any issues that you are having regarding your working hours. I'm sorry to hear about the state of your store also, again I hope you raised this with management so that this could be rectified. ^Catherine

  6. Helpful (1)

    "the coop"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good also a good management system

    Cons

    keep cutting staff back, not enough hours to run stores properly

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    March 6, 2017Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thank you for your comment and feedback. I'm sorry to hear you're concerned about the hours at your store. I recommend that you raise your concerns with your manager so they can look into this. ^Catherine

  7. "customer team member"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in Truro, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    love working for the co-op because it is owned by us and our customers

    Cons

    none love my job done it for 28 years

    Continue reading

    Co-op Response

    September 28, 2016Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks very much for your great feedback. ^Sophie

  8. "Lack of care"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op for less than a year

    Pros

    Well lots of hours if you have no other things to do.

    Cons

    -Poor toxic work environment -Us vs them mentality in terms of managers and team leaders -Put on shifts without asked if your available -Overtime hours with no overtime pay -Overworked -Sack culture -Lack of training -No bedding in period -You will work over your maximum hours -Ask for a holiday for important family event months before and not get it.

    Continue reading
  9. "CTM"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CTM in Dumfries, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    I get in well with my colleagues. Management are efficient and there if I need them. I enjoying chatting to customers as I serve them.

    Cons

    Occasional early starts. Not enough shifts.

    Continue reading
  10. "Love my job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Darlington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Nasty uniform, poor staff facilities.

    Continue reading
Found 74 reviews