Co-op Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Cashier Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
1 Ratings
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Edgware, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    We do have a very good cooperation with staff and manager.some manager are very strict to the staff and others don't for my last few years I did have a very good relationship with the management strictness in a very good way I do miss everything about working with co-op,people atmosphere surrounding and most of all my relationship with the customer it's like a family shop.

    Cons

    Not enough display for the customer own choosing ,and sometimes luck of ability to communicate to the customer I've seen a lot for my 23 years service .

    Advice to Management

    Give a bit of training before, not to much pressure give them(the staff)a little time to adjust themselves .

    Co-op2015-10-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It's fallen apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Usk, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff all ways ready to help when they can do so, good range of food products and sometimes good deals are on offer.

    Cons

    Well lack of staff, the current staff that are there is being stretched to the limits, with ridiculous hours and been contracted to 9 hours and doing 40 hours overtime and struggling throughout the day with just 3 people in the shop. The mangment needs to sort this out other wise that place is gonna run down and people will stop going there which is a shame because it is a lovely store, but actions need to be taken.

    Advice to Management

    All management are lovely but they need to stop ringing people after all ready doing a shift or been working 5 days straight 9 hour long shifts and ringing them on there only day off.

    Co-op2016-03-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management ruin the workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly and social atmosphere

    Cons

    Staff are over worked and undervalued, low hour Contracts but usually plenty of overtime which means non existent holidays (I was employed on a 10 hour a week contract however worked full time most weeks and my years holiday allowance was only 40 hours!) Some management are OK but on the whole the majority are only out for themselves and could not care less about lower level staff. Any issues with management will not...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after staff better !!

    Co-op2016-03-01
  4. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in York, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Co-op

      Pros

      Sociable hours and warm welcoming staff

      Cons

      Only closed on Xmas day

      Co-op2015-10-11
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in Watchet, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It's like you are working with your family. You get to know the customers and they get to know you.

      Cons

      Not always enough hours. The stores can be a bit small too. It's hard to meet all the need of the profit targets.

      Advice to Management

      Allow more hours for the employees. All employers need to be made the most of their skills. Need to be more opportunity for the employees to climb up the ladder

      Co-op2015-10-09
    • "Sales/cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Paddockwood, SK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      HR does a good job of hiring team oriented people

      Cons

      Pay tops out low at smaller locations. Very seniority based, as opposed to skill based.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Co-op2018-03-12

      Co-op Response

      March 29, 2018

      Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your time at our Co-op and have a positive outlook for our future. ^Catherine

    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Bristol, CT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op part-time

      Pros

      Finished at 3pm. Some nice staff

      Cons

      Badly paid. Terrible working condition. Treated badly

      Advice to Management

      A company who advertises being ethical are far from it with their staff

      Co-op2016-08-07

      Co-op Response

      September 28, 2016Social Media Community Manager

      Hi there, Did you speak to your line manager or HR about your concerns? ^Sophie

    Found 7 reviews