Co-op Customer Service Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Customer Service Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
0 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Corsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really helpful, fun and friendly staff. Probably the best thing about the job/

    Cons

    Sometimes felt a lack of leadership from superiors as well as the feeling of a lot of bureaucracy.

    Co-op2016-04-06
  2. "Amazing workplace, one of my favriots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and very nice people

    Cons

    Long hours and heavy lifting

    Co-op2019-11-01
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet some life long friends Good bonus

    Cons

    Mixed hours sometimes a late shift finish at 10 then next morning in at 6

    Co-op2019-10-30
  4. "Hard but Helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours, plenty of staff discounts and incentives.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor communication between upper mgmt and stores (in experience) and low security.

    Co-op2019-10-24
  5. "Clicky place where I worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Get a 10% discount but I never worried about the odd change. Decent pay.

    Cons

    If higher management don’t like you, it’s over if you do something they don’t like. Don’t train you very well either.

    Co-op2019-10-02
  6. "Decent pay, mind it's retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good as initial experience in the working world for students as it's customer based

    Cons

    You need a good team or you won't enjoy/progress

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to assist employees better

    Co-op2019-07-23
  7. "...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Organisation with competitive salary.

    Cons

    Work in a rural although busy town therefore very busy and opens late as it one of the only shops in proximity

    Co-op2019-07-08
  8. "Ok but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team good offers and discounts

    Cons

    Hard work long shifts very few staff

    Advice to Management

    More staff would make the place tick over better

    Co-op2019-05-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Too much politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have a problem at work, let's say for instance, you're facing discrimination or bullying at work, you can contact the head of department by email and they will arrange a face to face meeting to do what they can to help you out. They will take action quickly.

    Cons

    -You've to get used to the drama at work from those who've been working there for years. -You can work for years without getting a chance to move up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    It will be nice if they can work on getting rid of in-store drama and politics. It's also not a great idea to employ several people who speak the same language other than English to work at the same store.

    Co-op2018-12-03
  10. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    most staff are friendly and easy to get along with

    Cons

    Expect you to be free to work 24/7, expect your life to revolve around the co-op, understaffed and can get very busy - strict budgets for staff and overtime so won't employ people when they need them, will work you to the ground if you let them

    Advice to Management

    Employ more staff, ask before changing contracted days/hours, more lenient with holidays (December specifically), stop expecting staff to work 24/7

    Co-op2018-10-10
Found 27 reviews