Co-op Customer Service Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Customer Service Assistant Reviews

Updated 20 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
0 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Corsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really helpful, fun and friendly staff. Probably the best thing about the job/

    Cons

    Sometimes felt a lack of leadership from superiors as well as the feeling of a lot of bureaucracy.

    Co-op2016-04-06
  2. "Ok but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team good offers and discounts

    Cons

    Hard work long shifts very few staff

    Advice to Management

    More staff would make the place tick over better

    Co-op2019-05-20

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you would not recommend us. We are currently rolling our MyWork app to help support our store colleagues and better manage the time of our teams. We would definitely recommend talking to your manager about your working hours.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Too much politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have a problem at work, let's say for instance, you're facing discrimination or bullying at work, you can contact the head of department by email and they will arrange a face to face meeting to do what they can to help you out. They will take action quickly.

    Cons

    -You've to get used to the drama at work from those who've been working there for years. -You can work for years without getting a chance to move up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    It will be nice if they can work on getting rid of in-store drama and politics. It's also not a great idea to employ several people who speak the same language other than English to work at the same store.

    Co-op2018-12-03

    Co-op Response

    February 4, 2019.

    Thank you for your review. As an employee, you were able to contact our HR team on 0330 606 1001 if you had any urgent issues you wished to raise. ^Sam

  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    most staff are friendly and easy to get along with

    Cons

    Expect you to be free to work 24/7, expect your life to revolve around the co-op, understaffed and can get very busy - strict budgets for staff and overtime so won't employ people when they need them, will work you to the ground if you let them

    Advice to Management

    Employ more staff, ask before changing contracted days/hours, more lenient with holidays (December specifically), stop expecting staff to work 24/7

    Co-op2018-10-10

    Co-op Response

    October 16, 2018.

    Hi, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're not enjoying your experience with us. You should be paid for the time you work and if that is not the case you need to take this up with HR. ^Sam

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Overall not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Good amount of paid holiday and staff discount for shopping

    Cons

    Arrogant and disrespectful managers who try to fiddle on the system and shave off hours you have worked. I am amazed and disgusted at how widespread this behaviour actually is among store managers. Not only have several managers at my store done this, i have heard from other employees in other stores that it happens to them too. The company is also trying to turn the working environments in the shops into what you see...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no advice as the entire retail food industry is rotten. Ethics are a fascade. Its all about profits, profits and more profits for those at the top.

    Co-op2018-01-10

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm concerned to hear about your claims of you not being paid hours that you have worked and ask that you raise this immediately with HR and if you know of fellow colleague who have experience this they also need to do the same so this can be looked into. ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I had never bothered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Manchester, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Four weekly pay None other than that. None whatsoever. I’m only writing this as they won’t let me continue others. Literally no more pros.

    Cons

    No compassion if you end up on the sick and wish to return on lower hours due to the illness being chronic. Very obstructive in allowing me to return to a different role of different hours without a fully competency based interview. This is their idea of reasonable adjustments. I was held back from returning for months for them to tell me this was my only option. Treated terribly.

    Advice to Management

    None. I don’t think you can fix these people and the way they manage people on long term sick.

    Co-op2017-10-24

    Co-op Response

    November 6, 2017Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm concerned to hear this, your manager should have worked with the HR team to see what support they can offer you with your new needs. I hope you raised your concerns with the HR team at the time so they could look into this. ^Catherine

  7. "Discount card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Keighley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Good at working around thier staff

    Cons

    When starting with coop i was not advised of the fact that you only get 2wks wage in the first month

    Advice to Management

    I was just wanting to know when do new staff get their staff discount cards.

    Co-op2017-02-10

    Co-op Response

    February 12, 2017

    Hi there, You need to apply for your colleague membership card. Please ask your line manager for details. Thanks, ^Sophie

  8. "Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Generally treated well by management, able to switch shifts amongst lower ranking staff

    Cons

    No real complaints but can be hard to sort out holidays

    Co-op2016-04-09
  9. "Unprofessional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Co-op

    Pros

    Good flexibility in shift pattern

    Cons

    Unprofessional management who had their favourites (tended to be the females who were the favourites; management was very male heavy).

    Advice to Management

    Be more strict on professional values and take more care about who you promote.

    Co-op2016-01-04
  10. "Work at co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Southwater, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Great time at work, staff all so friendly and lovely, very good pay and rota idea

    Cons

    Managers stressing people out to get work, can be a bit unsociable.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing us so much that your stressing us out making us angry towards customers for being so stressed.

    Co-op2015-10-11
Found 21 reviews