Co-op Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
28 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Burgess Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits pay pension and discount

    Cons

    Long hours and anti social customers

    Co-op2019-06-15

    Co-op Response

    June 20, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you would recommend us and are enjoying our employee benefits.

  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supplier Relationship Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus, team building and location

    Cons

    Could have more cross function working

    Co-op2019-06-06

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review and for recommending the Co-op as an employer. We wish you all the best in your future career.

  3. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Discount , community, membership , flexible hours , good technology

    Cons

    Colleague sickness, long hours , no extra pay for managers

    Advice to Management

    Stop 1-1 stores

    Co-op2019-06-10

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. It's great to hear that you feel part of the community and are happy with our current benefits. We would always recommend speaking to your manager about long hours and sickness. If this is not possible then you can speak to HR on 0330 606 1001.

  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community focussed, moving forward with technology.

    Cons

    Can lose direction at times, rolls out a lot in one go, change agenda big.

    Co-op2019-05-21

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We are proud of all our work in the community and are glad you feel this way. We are striving to make processes simpler in our stores and hope you will feel the positive impact of this.

  5. "Mixed bag over the last 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to put the work in, progression is available.

    Cons

    Moving to other areas of the company requires a supportive line manager, and can be blocked if you don't get on with them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop stripping hours from stores, making the job harder than it needs to be, or you will lose long term staff who have supported the company through difficult times.

    Co-op2019-05-15
  6. "duty manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Whitstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    store was close.. Cheap food...

    Cons

    poor wages, young staff, very inexperianced..

    Advice to Management

    dont take on kids as a managers

    Co-op2019-05-10
  7. "Gone downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Willaston, Cheshire, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None all benefits have been removed

    Cons

    All of it top to bottom rotten to the core

    Advice to Management

    Avoid at all costs

    Co-op2019-05-13
  8. "Great people, office, sense of purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 1 Angel Square is a great, modern office to work in. - Great sense of purpose - the Co-op have the ability to make good things happen. - Profits aren’t returned to shareholders, they’re reinvested into the company. - Relaxed atmosphere. - As a manager there’s a lot of flexibility about how you deal with your staff. - One of the biggest financial turnout stories I’m aware of.

    Cons

    - It’s a really long-standing company so IT wise there is a lot of technical debt.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Keep an eye on financials at all times, strong cost focus needed.

    Co-op2019-02-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Supportive management, great culture, great team,

    Cons

    Moving departments abroad, too many meetings

    Co-op2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Surprised they are still in business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some store teams are very passionate about their local community and charitable causes.

    Cons

    Inefficient and poorly run across all areas of the food retail operation. Deliveries of goods are not safe and never easy to unload or work. The size of the stock room and shoofloors are not fit for purpose due to such a large range. Staffing levels and budget of hours is ridiculously low - stores are expected to run with 2 people all day, it is not practical and it is not safe. The experience for the customer is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only work here if you've got no choice - there are better Food Retail businesses out there who can provide you with relevant support and can actually staff a shop properly and have goods on the shelf.

    Co-op2019-02-09
Found 92 reviews