Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 789 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
153 Ratings
  1. "Not the best but was okay but wouldn’t recommend has effected my health."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Most customers were understanding and patient even though I suffered from dyslexia .

    Cons

    Their was some training but sometimes when you asked for help they say something like it’s easy to do when you haven’t been told and mangers moan.

    Advice to Management

    When you get taken to office for something wrong you do and they say they will talk to you about it they should, also being mentioned by your manager you didn’t tell them about your Disablity when you did it’s awful to feel like you a liar , managers need to give more time for people with Disablity it’s our right under the equal opportunities act 1995. Manager also said she hired me as I worked as a team leader in another...

    Show More
    Co-op2019-06-06

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thank you very much for leaving a review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience. Our HR team and Employee Assistant Programme is always here to support our current employees who are facing difficulties.

  2. "Its alright (short term)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Social-able if you have good people on shift

    Cons

    Regularly took responsibilities of team leaders/ managers. Guilted/ Forced to do more hours in order to keep up with delivery (sometimes till 2am)

    Co-op2019-06-04

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. We would always encourage our employees to speak to their manager if they are having issues.

  3. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good place to work overall

    Cons

    Hours can be quite inconvenient

    Co-op2019-06-03

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thank you for your review and recommending Co-op as an employer.

  4. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good holidays and very flexible working conditions

    Cons

    Lack of quality professionals who work there

    Advice to Management

    Invest in full time staff not contractors

    Co-op2019-05-21

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    We appreciate your review, thanks for the feedback.

  5. "The potential is there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funeral Arranger in Northwich, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The industry and the job were wonderful. If it all worked liked it was supposed to, it would have been a cracking job. The rate of pay is good and the hours on the whole suited me.

    Cons

    The way of working and the management structure changes every 12-24 months from one ill-conceived idea to another. Management isn't strong enough to manage the staff and now loads have been made redundant or not replaced, so there isn't enough staff to do the job effectively. Part time 20 hours actually means 20 hours that you are contracted to do, but if your job share phones in sick, doesn't turn in, goes on holiday,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff at grass roots level and cut out the middle management when it comes to processes. Find branches that do it well and see what operates differently.

    Co-op2019-05-28

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thank you for review. We are glad that you were happy with the pay and working hours. We always advise our employees to discuss any concerns with their managers and are sorry you didn't feel like you could do this in this instance. We appreciate the feedback and will share this with ...

    Show More
  6. "CTM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for what you do

    Cons

    Won’t give you set regular hours everyday e.g 10-6 Monday- thursday

    Advice to Management

    Expect the same standard of work from everyone, don’t let people that are lazy get away with being on the tills all the time

    Co-op2019-05-12

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thanks for your review and recommending the Co-op. We are happy that you are pleased with your flexible working hours and pay.

  7. "Ok for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - CTM 

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      First official job so enjoyed it for a year or so

      Cons

      Classic retail situation, team members aren't valued

      Co-op2019-05-23

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you very much for your review. Our employees are our number one priority and we are sorry that you are currently feeling undervalued. We would always advise having a chat with your manager.

    • "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Community focussed, moving forward with technology.

      Cons

      Can lose direction at times, rolls out a lot in one go, change agenda big.

      Co-op2019-05-21

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you for your review. We are proud of all our work in the community and are glad you feel this way. We are striving to make processes simpler in our stores and hope you will feel the positive impact of this.

    • "Ok but hard work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team good offers and discounts

      Cons

      Hard work long shifts very few staff

      Advice to Management

      More staff would make the place tick over better

      Co-op2019-05-20

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you would not recommend us. We are currently rolling our MyWork app to help support our store colleagues and better manage the time of our teams. We would definitely recommend talking to your manager about your working hours.

    • "Company Policy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Petrol Station Assistant in Colchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The companies values and staff welfare and considerations are paramount.

      Cons

      Sometimes a lack of trained staff available for support of new staff members.

      Advice to Management

      More training 'before' being thrown in at the deep end as I found this to be counter productive and stressful.

      Co-op2019-05-04

      Co-op Response

      May 17, 2019

      Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really happy that you felt our values and staff welfare are at the heart of what we do. We wish you the best in your future roles.

    Found 789 reviews