Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 793 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
153 Ratings
  1. "Ok for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - CTM 

      I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      First official job so enjoyed it for a year or so

      Cons

      Classic retail situation, team members aren't valued

      Co-op2019-05-23

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you very much for your review. Our employees are our number one priority and we are sorry that you are currently feeling undervalued. We would always advise having a chat with your manager.

    • "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Community focussed, moving forward with technology.

      Cons

      Can lose direction at times, rolls out a lot in one go, change agenda big.

      Co-op2019-05-21

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you for your review. We are proud of all our work in the community and are glad you feel this way. We are striving to make processes simpler in our stores and hope you will feel the positive impact of this.

    • "Ok but hard work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team good offers and discounts

      Cons

      Hard work long shifts very few staff

      Advice to Management

      More staff would make the place tick over better

      Co-op2019-05-20

      Co-op Response

      May 31, 2019

      Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you would not recommend us. We are currently rolling our MyWork app to help support our store colleagues and better manage the time of our teams. We would definitely recommend talking to your manager about your working hours.

    • "Company Policy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Petrol Station Assistant in Colchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The companies values and staff welfare and considerations are paramount.

      Cons

      Sometimes a lack of trained staff available for support of new staff members.

      Advice to Management

      More training 'before' being thrown in at the deep end as I found this to be counter productive and stressful.

      Co-op2019-05-04

      Co-op Response

      May 17, 2019

      Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really happy that you felt our values and staff welfare are at the heart of what we do. We wish you the best in your future roles.

    • "Use to be good now.its poor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - CSA in Wirral, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Forma staff n management.fun good breaks

      Cons

      New.management are horrible and unfair.

      Advice to Management

      To be more fair

      Co-op2019-06-08
    • "Don't think everything is black and white"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Customer Service in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Central location, free drinks machine

      Cons

      I don't know quite where to start. I don't want to put people off, I am sure this job suits some people, but if you want to be lied too and not listened too and just want a wage, an inadequate one, until you find employment elsewhere then its bearable. Just make sure you're not ill, or have a tragedy in your family,, you will get grilled and if you take time off for a funeral they will make you pay that time back.

      Advice to Management

      None, as they don't really care about you other than just making sure you are a pecking hen all for below par market wage. There is no leverage for flexibility at all and an ethical company they are most certainly not! This company tend to sack people at the drop of a hat, wages are very poor comparatively speaking with their competitors, that's if you get paid, they can't even get that right. One HUGE mess!

      Co-op2019-06-06
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Co-op part-time

        Pros

        Flexible working hours and kept busy

        Cons

        Can be quite repetitive day to day

        Co-op2019-05-01

        Co-op Response

        May 2, 2019

        Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback.

      • "Mixed bag over the last 10 years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Manager 
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        If you are willing to put the work in, progression is available.

        Cons

        Moving to other areas of the company requires a supportive line manager, and can be blocked if you don't get on with them.

        Advice to Management

        Stop stripping hours from stores, making the job harder than it needs to be, or you will lose long term staff who have supported the company through difficult times.

        Co-op2019-05-15
      • "Best working environment ent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Advisor in Manchester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        • Learn new thing everyday • Good people & friendly • Program to progress • Graduate programs

        Cons

        • Salary is not negotiable • Telephone based

        Advice to Management

        NA

        Co-op2019-05-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Horrible Company To Work For"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Desktop Support Analyst in Manchester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        10% off in the shop if that can be considered a benefit? Takes their products from extortionate to expensive. Middle management are very good.

        Cons

        The executives are absolutely delusional and love to haemorrhage money. They preach about doing business "the right way" but behind closed doors they are a much different beast. Just as corrupt and immoral as the big banks. They just hide it under propaganda. The pay review strategy is unfair and there is a strong case of favouritism. The company as a whole are so LGBT friendly that they are now well in the zone of...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Leave while you can.

        Co-op2019-06-04
      Found 793 reviews