Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 797 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
155 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Co-op part-time

      Pros

      Flexible working hours and kept busy

      Cons

      Can be quite repetitive day to day

      Co-op2019-05-01

      Co-op Response

      May 2, 2019

      Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback.

    • "Mixed bag over the last 10 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      If you are willing to put the work in, progression is available.

      Cons

      Moving to other areas of the company requires a supportive line manager, and can be blocked if you don't get on with them.

      Advice to Management

      Stop stripping hours from stores, making the job harder than it needs to be, or you will lose long term staff who have supported the company through difficult times.

      Co-op2019-05-15
    • "Best working environment ent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Advisor in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      • Learn new thing everyday • Good people & friendly • Program to progress • Graduate programs

      Cons

      • Salary is not negotiable • Telephone based

      Advice to Management

      NA

      Co-op2019-05-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Horrible Company To Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Desktop Support Analyst in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      10% off in the shop if that can be considered a benefit? Takes their products from extortionate to expensive. Middle management are very good.

      Cons

      The executives are absolutely delusional and love to haemorrhage money. They preach about doing business "the right way" but behind closed doors they are a much different beast. Just as corrupt and immoral as the big banks. They just hide it under propaganda. The pay review strategy is unfair and there is a strong case of favouritism. The company as a whole are so LGBT friendly that they are now well in the zone of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Leave while you can.

      Co-op2019-06-04

      Co-op Response

      June 20, 2019

      Thank you very much for your feedback. All of our colleagues, including our executive team, live by our values: Do what matters most Be yourself, always Show you care Succeed together We currently have 4 colleague networks covering women, young people, LGBT and BAME colleagues. ...

      Show More
    • "Working At Co-Op"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Co-op part-time

        Pros

        Good work balance, Always kept busy

        Cons

        Flexible Hours and may have to work more than 7 days straight

        Co-op2019-04-30
      • "Great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Chester, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good staff, fun job

        Cons

        Can get hectic but its manageable

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work

        Co-op2019-04-26

        Co-op Response

        May 2, 2019

        Thanks for your review. We are really pleased to hear you are enjoying life at the Co-op.

      • "Good all round"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Team Member in Derby, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good discount and Incentives for staff.

        Cons

        Poor management in my particular store

        Co-op2019-05-10
      • "duty manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Duty Manager in Whitstable, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        store was close.. Cheap food...

        Cons

        poor wages, young staff, very inexperianced..

        Advice to Management

        dont take on kids as a managers

        Co-op2019-05-10
      • "Shop assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cockermouth, England
        Recommends

        I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible hours, close to home, variety of tasks, sociable.

        Cons

        Understaffed, poor communication intermittently, long hours (10+)

        Co-op2019-04-25
      • "Retail"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Team Leader 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Once you learn everything, daily tasks become routine and automatic Offer more charity work and opportunities than some retailers

        Cons

        Hard work Long, unsocial hours Customer interaction can be draining Poorly paid It's retail

        Advice to Management

        Not much they can do, it's retail

        Co-op2019-05-10
      Found 797 reviews