Co-op Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Store Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
9 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Burgess Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits pay pension and discount

    Cons

    Long hours and anti social customers

    Co-op2019-06-15

    Co-op Response

    June 20, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you would recommend us and are enjoying our employee benefits.

  2. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Discount , community, membership , flexible hours , good technology

    Cons

    Colleague sickness, long hours , no extra pay for managers

    Advice to Management

    Stop 1-1 stores

    Co-op2019-06-10

    Co-op Response

    June 12, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. It's great to hear that you feel part of the community and are happy with our current benefits. We would always recommend speaking to your manager about long hours and sickness. If this is not possible then you can speak to HR on 0330 606 1001.

  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community focussed, moving forward with technology.

    Cons

    Can lose direction at times, rolls out a lot in one go, change agenda big.

    Co-op2019-05-21

    Co-op Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We are proud of all our work in the community and are glad you feel this way. We are striving to make processes simpler in our stores and hope you will feel the positive impact of this.

  4. "Mixed bag over the last 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to put the work in, progression is available.

    Cons

    Moving to other areas of the company requires a supportive line manager, and can be blocked if you don't get on with them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop stripping hours from stores, making the job harder than it needs to be, or you will lose long term staff who have supported the company through difficult times.

    Co-op2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Surprised they are still in business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some store teams are very passionate about their local community and charitable causes.

    Cons

    Inefficient and poorly run across all areas of the food retail operation. Deliveries of goods are not safe and never easy to unload or work. The size of the stock room and shoofloors are not fit for purpose due to such a large range. Staffing levels and budget of hours is ridiculously low - stores are expected to run with 2 people all day, it is not practical and it is not safe. The experience for the customer is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only work here if you've got no choice - there are better Food Retail businesses out there who can provide you with relevant support and can actually staff a shop properly and have goods on the shelf.

    Co-op2019-02-09
  6. "Doesn’t live up to its ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Store Manager in Dorchester, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many store teams have a good sense of collaboration and work hard to keep the stores’ going under increasing amounts of pressure. Good brand and many shops are now much more modern than before

    Cons

    Some members of senior management don’t practice the co-op core values and principles and are top out of touch with the co-op of today. Increasing cutbacks in store make running a store effectively increasingly difficult resulting in low morale and poor customer service. There are some, to put it mildly, evil, egotistical managers with their own agendas who don’t give two hoots about their staff

    Advice to Management

    Listen to colleagues’ concerns and look after them, I was treated appallingly after 23 years loyal service and was just a number at the end of the day. I would of done anything for the co-op but in the end they didn’t care enough to look after me

    Co-op2018-12-30

    Co-op Response

    February 4, 2019.

    Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that, towards the end, you did not enjoy your time with Co-op. As a Co-op employee, you would have been able to contact our HR team on 0330 606 1001. Alternatively, we have an Employee Assistance Programme which can be contacted on ...

    Show More
  7. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get paid , colleagues can be nice

    Cons

    Too many to say, very stressful

    Advice to Management

    Don’t do it, unless you like running a marathon everyday with no help or support

    Co-op2019-01-06

    Co-op Response

    February 4, 2019.

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that the level of pay meets your expectation and that you enjoy working with your colleagues. If you need any additional support please contact our Employee Assistance Programme on 0800 069 8854. ^Sam

  8. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, great leadership which helps you shine.

    Cons

    The company is going through some lean process' however some of the colleagues are unable to make the required changes

    Co-op2018-11-13

    Co-op Response

    November 15, 2018.

    Thank you for your review and for recommending Coop as a place to work. We're pleased to read that you are enjoying the working environment and that you are able to get the most from the leadership around you. ^Sam.

  9. "Very Ethical - Struggles to understand pressures placed on Shopfloor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very Ethical company to be proud to work for. They are trying to progress into the modern times but are very slow.

    Cons

    High pressure to hit a specific standard within stores without over spending our very small budget for payroll.

    Co-op2018-11-06

    Co-op Response

    December 3, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. It's fantastic to hear that you are proud to work for Co-op. If you need to discuss issues relating to your store please feel free to take this up with your area manager, who will be able to help you. ^Sam

  10. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager/Team Leader 

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount Workday passes quick compared to other places

    Cons

    Extremely poor work life balance. Senior level management expects miracles based on restricted employee hours. The only way to circumvent was for salaried managers to pull excessive hours beyond their contract. Even then it was thankless, you get more work thrown your way because now you were capable of meeting the expectations

    Advice to Management

    Review Compensation policies for the salaried management team.

    Co-op2018-08-28

    Co-op Response

    October 18, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you thought the colleague discount was of benefit. If you have concerns we would encourage you to contact our HR team. All the best with your future career. ^Sam

Found 37 reviews