Co-op Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Store Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
15 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Burgess Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits pay pension and discount

    Cons

    Long hours and anti social customers

    Co-op2019-06-15
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good internal development path way

    Cons

    Expectation to work well above contracted hours

    Co-op2019-10-09
  3. "Average Employement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easy to manage work life balance. Set systems that helped things run effeciently most of the time.

    Cons

    Lack of control due to those systems, sometimes you need some human involvement. The pay is pretty poor for a store manager, I took a step down when I changed job to assistant manager and took a pay rise! Severally understaffed, your budgets don't allow you the people to get the jobs done to the standard I'd like. Old premises in most places always in need of repair, repair companies do bodge jobs and you've no... control over contractors used or price paid. You very much just tick a few boxes, you're more of a rule enforcer as opposed to the manager and leader of the business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow some freedom to managers to run the business rather then using them as messengers of rules and procedure. Pay your team a fair wage. Invest in labour, you may be surprised by the results of having that extra person at work each day.

    Co-op2019-10-05
  4. "Used to care about us, but now more bothered about the community!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary Flexible hours of working Good line manager We do loads of great things for the communities!

    Cons

    We used to have health care (scrapped!) We used to have regular double discount on all products (Scrapped - maybe twice a year now) We used to get great bonuses based on KPis (now a fraction of what they used to be) Colleagues used to get a yearly bonus (Scrapped!) Hours slowly being drained out of stores, each little technological advancement results in less and less hours in store. Christmas party fund out of... date & needs reviewing ..It has been £10 forever. We used to have a reward website for colleagues exceeding their role (Scrapped & replaced with a Thank you email!) Slowly killing morale in stores & killing the staff, especially managers who have to pull the slack & work for free - diluting our salaries Team leader pay is pathetic for what they have to do!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start thinking about the colleagues in stores a little more, Re-introduce health care Do for the colleagues what we have done for our communities Pay team leaders more Stop stripping any more hours out of the stores, the job used to be enjoyable, but its getting less & less a place I want to go to every day!

    Co-op2019-09-05
  5. "People are amazing, Job is unforfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People Job progression Multiple Roles and Opportunities

    Cons

    Work Life Balance Long hours Working with the general public can be demanding

    Advice to Management

    Don't.

    Co-op2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Enfield Lock, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros staff were good

    Cons

    No staff long hours health and safety really bad

    Advice to Management

    Make it better not safe to work in co-op

    Co-op2019-09-21
  7. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career progression up to Store Manager Level, further than that becomes challenging due to lack of opportunities if you're not located in the Manchester area. Salary can be good if you're coming in from an external retailer. The CEO leadership cannot be faulted.

    Cons

    Like all retailers the hours in store are getting tighter. Can feel less and less like a manager nowadays as you'll be shop floor filling at least 90% of the time. Some struggle to manage a team in that environment.

    Advice to Management

    Although we understand the requirement to strip hours from the business some of the "efficiencies" introduced to counter act this are more time consuming than before. Listen to the team on the front line more.

    Co-op2019-08-14
  8. "Tough but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great business for Community engagement

    Cons

    Hard work all the time.

    Advice to Management

    If you think your going in to this job to sit down behind a desk, think again!

    Co-op2019-07-30
  9. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Inverness, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team work and great with community

    Cons

    Area managers and higher very ignorant and thinking about themselves, no support when needed, facilities management very poor making staff to work even when direct health and safety issues

    Advice to Management

    Stop false promising and start to help your teams. Very poor communication and blame atmosphere on every step. Everyone at store level working following One Best Way but why higher management doesn't which leads to confusion and lack of trust in Coop values

    Co-op2019-08-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hypocritical company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It’s a wage that’s all

    Cons

    Too many field managers not enough store colleagues constantly cutting hours under the guise of taking tasks off colleagues then a few months down the line the tasks re appear under a different format but guess what no extra hours to do them. Too many people scared to complain because this is being negative. Store management expected to be available 7 days a week at the beckon call of the area manager. Expected to... use own phone for work business and attend meetings on your days off. While field management have numerous pointless conferences stores can’t have enough staff to do all tasks that need doing and feel safe. If it doesn’t affect field management then it’s not a problem

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try running a one on one convenience store for a week without having the staff to do everything for you you might just see what the reality is not some glossed up version of it given by the suck ups and people in fear for their jobs

    Co-op2019-09-02
Found 48 reviews