Co-op Team Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Team Manager Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a company they really care about their employees and there are great opportunities for those who want to progress and also for those who just want to expand their skillset.

    Cons

    You can't choose your manager and unfortunately its the higher ups that decide your progression. the path isn't always clear on what your options are if there is someone standing in the way of your career.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2019-09-21

    Co-op Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thanks very much for your 5 star review! We appreciate your comments.

    Continue reading
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sense of family at store level

    Cons

    The sense of family is caused by having to band together to produce results because the company does all it can to every single penny that can be scrounged from saving on personnel.

    Co-op2019-10-22
  3. "Worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good for progression Good for work in the community

    Cons

    Lot of unsociable shifts, kiss goodbye to a life. Upper management abysmal. Very monotonous. Company is all about giving the customers what they want with very little to no interest in their staff. During my time in the company, every benefit or incentive to work for the company was stripped, ie dividends, bonuses, discounts of 20% etc.

    Co-op2019-10-15
  4. "Ok for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are opportunitys to progress

    Cons

    Lots of long unpaid hours

    Co-op2019-08-15

    Co-op Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks for leaving us a review - we appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great if you aren't a manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive benefits including staff discount, pension scheme, health schemes, free funeral if you die in service. Nice to work in small communities.

    Cons

    Not getting breaks - if you take your breaks there isn't enough time to get jobs done and you get picked up on that. Meant to be customer focussed but have so few hours we don't have the time to give customers our full attention. Salaries are not competitive.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-10-26

    Co-op Response

    October 29, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoy the staff discount and associated benefits of being a Co-op Colleague. You are always able to speak with your Manager or Area Manager regarding getting the breaks that you are entitled to. Alternatively, you can contact our HR Department. ^Sam

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Glad to be out of there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Gillingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The 10% discount. The store colleagues are brilliant - it's a shame the business makes a lot of them work for free. Relies very heavily on goodwill, intimidation by higher management and lies.

    Cons

    Prepare to work for free, in the shadow of bullying and intimidation, and be more than prepared to feel lonely. One on one working all day every day, even when accepting deliveries. Deliveries often turn up together which means you have to fit 30 cages of stock into a stockroom built for 10 cages. Old buildings that are not fit for purpose. Area managers who really don't care less.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-10-04

    Co-op Response

    October 16, 2018.

    I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. You should be paid for the time you work and if that is not the case you need to take this up with HR. We have a zero-tolerance approach to harassment and bullying. You can call our Bullying and Harassment Hotline on 0844 728 0165 should you wish to discuss your experience. All the best with your future career. ^Sam

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager/Team Leader 

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount Workday passes quick compared to other places

    Cons

    Extremely poor work life balance. Senior level management expects miracles based on restricted employee hours. The only way to circumvent was for salaried managers to pull excessive hours beyond their contract. Even then it was thankless, you get more work thrown your way because now you were capable of meeting the expectations

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-08-28

    Co-op Response

    October 18, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you thought the colleague discount was of benefit. If you have concerns we would encourage you to contact our HR team. All the best with your future career. ^Sam

    Continue reading
  8. "Team manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun, rewarding, great to meet different people

    Cons

    Hard work, long shifts, busy

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-08-07

    Co-op Response

    August 13, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's great to hear you enjoy your role and would recommend to others. ^Catherine

    Continue reading
  9. "Faced paced, hard work, long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in West Malling, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good community spirit Ethical Good training Loyal customers

    Cons

    Higher expectations than reality Fewer hours than needed Long hours

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-06-16

    Co-op Response

    June 30, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's good to hear you enjoy your role and would recommend it to others. Regarding your concerns about hours, there is a big project at the moment which is looking into removing unnecessary tasks and making tasks in stores easier to complete so you have more time to do the tasks that matter such as engaging with customers. If you are seriously concerned about your stores hour allocation and believe that it is incorrect please raise this with your area manager to look into. ^Catherine

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Highly changeable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Community work, fairtrade, team spirit, job is relatively straight forward.

    Cons

    Never ask for a payrise, never expect thanks, don't expect to stay in one store for too long- area managers can move you on a whim, don't expect deliveries to arrive on time or at all if the weather is too hot/cold/wet/snowy etc, you'll work with less than minimal staff under constant threat of cutting hours further, you'll have no say in what happens to your store during refits, be prepared to be dumped in a terrible store if the AM doesn't like you, expectation is far greater than you can ever attain....

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-04-03

    Co-op Response

    June 8, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoy the community work and our ethic. I'm sorry to hear that you're having issues wth your manager. Managers should be giving regular feedback to colleagues and supporting and developing them. If you have concerns about your development and the stores you are working in I'd advise that you raise these with your manager or next line manager if you feel like your Area Manager isn't supporting. If you need any additional support we have Employee Assistance Programme which is available 24-hours-a-day, 365 days a year if you need: confidential advice, support, counselling, whether it’s to do with work or not. ^Catherine

    Continue reading
Found 25 reviews