Co-op Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
253 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours, great management, good pay, overall great company to work for(in 75 reviews)

  • "Good holidays and benefits as well as flexible working(in 37 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assissstant 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount on all coop products

    Cons

    A lot of 5:30am shifts

    Co-op2019-09-15

    Co-op Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thanks very much for your 5 star review, we're really glad you are enjoying your time with us!

  2. "Its who you know"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Community , Friendly people, Great products, Staff discount, membership card has good incentives

    Cons

    Bad management, expect you work as 3 people, unorganized, high staff turnover, no security to protect staff

    Co-op2020-05-21
  3. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Staff- customers- pay- staff discount

    Cons

    No bonus No development Poor management

    Co-op2019-09-09

    Co-op Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. We have multiple development routes for our store colleagues and would recommend speaking to your manager about the best option for you.

  4. "Great values but not demonstrated every where"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and staff discount. Nice office which looks good.

    Cons

    Hierarchical, beurocratic, slow moving, values not always lived

    Co-op2018-11-29

    Co-op Response

    November 30, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you saw the benefit of the colleague discounts. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Sam

  5. "Hard"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Decent amount of holidays. Staff discount of 10% and occasional double discount days.

    Cons

    Lack of staff. If 1 person went off sick then we were screwed. Not much room for progression.

    Co-op2018-12-10

    Co-op Response

    February 4, 2019.

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you benefited from the colleague discount available to you. I wish you the best with your future career. ^Sam

  6. "Fluctuating hours and being assumed the worst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Straight forward part time job - staff discount is great - easy access to reduced offers - banter with some stuff and regular customers - paid training day out of store - quick turnaround time after initial interview

    Cons

    - as a younger staff member (still 27 though!), a lot of older staff members have been excited for me to start as it means anything remotely physical has been passed on to me. - some older staff have been a bit condescending, talking down at you because you're younger (university graduate with a 2:1 doing an internship part time alongside it!) - holiday forms are always 'conveniently' not available -slow turnaround with getting holiday accepted - I've rang in sick once and despite being severely unwell, got told straight away about it being my probationary period and asked to come in anyway. Some management aren't aware that management includes managing human beings, and treating them like humans. - not being taught something and then being penalised when it goes wrong because you weren't told in the first place - having part time hours doubled each week and then being guilt tripped when you can't commit to 32 hours when the role was ADVERTISED as 16 hours a week - favouritism between staff. Longer term staff getting access to discounted goods first (often hiding them etc), being treated by management when they should focus on equality

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-11-04
  7. "Great if you aren't a manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive benefits including staff discount, pension scheme, health schemes, free funeral if you die in service. Nice to work in small communities.

    Cons

    Not getting breaks - if you take your breaks there isn't enough time to get jobs done and you get picked up on that. Meant to be customer focussed but have so few hours we don't have the time to give customers our full attention. Salaries are not competitive.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-10-26

    Co-op Response

    October 29, 2018.

    Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoy the staff discount and associated benefits of being a Co-op Colleague. You are always able to speak with your Manager or Area Manager regarding getting the breaks that you are entitled to. Alternatively, you can contact our HR Department. ^Sam

  8. "Custer assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Easy Friendly Good pay Supportive management Staff discount Nice break room

    Cons

    Long hours Difficult customers Ugly uniforms Can't talk to other employees Strict timekeeper

    Co-op2018-06-07

    Co-op Response

    June 8, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your role at our Co-op and enjoyed the colleague benefits. Regarding speaking to other colleagues, this isn't a policy that we have in place and very much encourage colleagues to work together to build a fun and supporting workplace. ^Catherine

  9. "Not bad. Not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in Wareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good selection of products Staff discount Flexible working hours that fit around my family life

    Cons

    Don’t get full breaks if any at all Asked to work through breaks while managers take several breaks You can’t sell any age restricted items including energy drinks till 6 weeks in. Have to call other staff to authorise age restricted products which is a pain when there’s a massive que. had to work out how to do a lot of things on our own not a lot of training given. Some members of staff not given training on things they’ve been asked to do Not enough staff to cope with the demand of the shop and customers Not enough storage space to cope with the amount of delivery’s Managers stressing out with every delivery

    Continue reading
    Co-op2018-04-22

    Co-op Response

    June 2, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you are not getting your breaks, this should not be happening at your store so I ask that you raise this with your manager and HR so this can be rectified. Regarding training, this should be happening often among your team, if you feel you are not getting the support that is needed please do report this through the official lines. ^Catherine

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice customers and staff discount

    Cons

    lack of use of local knowledge

    Co-op2018-01-30

    Co-op Response

    February 19, 2018Social Media Content Planning Manager

    Thankyou for your review. It's great to hear you'e enjoying your job at our Co-op and enjoy the benefits offered to you. ^Catherine

Found 33 reviews