Co-op "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Co-op Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
249 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours, great management, good pay, overall great company to work for(in 72 reviews)

  • "Good holidays and benefits as well as flexible working(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Bet y satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Crewe, England

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, contracted hours, good work life balance

    Cons

    None That I can think of

    Co-op2020-03-30
  2. "It's hard to think of a place I'd rather be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Excellent pay -Great holiday allowance -Top of the range facilities -Company's ethos is probably the best in the country -Relaxed environment with genuinely kind people -Flexible working patterns (working from home) -Dress for your day (casual or formal, you choose) -Progression is truly excellent -Management are really, really good

    Cons

    -Work/life balance isn't always right -Decision-making can be slow -Quite a disorganised business sometimes

    Continue reading
    Co-op2020-03-07
  3. "CTM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Team Member in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience, teamwork, organisation, rewarding, fun

    Cons

    Work life balance, long hours

    Continue reading
    Co-op2020-02-19
  4. "Loving it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Configuration Engineer III in Hastings, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team, excellent manager! Quickly resolves any issues. Good work/life balance. Flexible. Lots of overtime available. Reasonable pay. Easy to use app.

    Cons

    Improved training required. A lot of 'management' too young without the life experience needed to give you the right "head" on your shoulders.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2020-01-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It's not a 39 hour work week!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The holiday entitlement is decent.

    Cons

    There is a culture in stores whereby you're expected to work beyond your 39 hour work week for free (as management colleagues are salaried no overtime is payed). I've worked under a number of area managers and in a number of stores and simply put the workload cannot be achieved in a 39 hour work week with the hours given to you for staff. Working for Coop is only for those who live to work, and not those expecting any semblance of work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2020-01-30
  6. "Take advantage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers, local store, some co workers

    Cons

    Work life balance, mangers too much lone working

    Continue reading
    Co-op2019-12-29
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible and good work life balance

    Cons

    Pay could be better to help retain staff

    Co-op2019-10-14
  8. "Worked here over a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Mildenhall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team, great that you get to interact with customers, easy to rise up in the company

    Cons

    Not enough money compared to the ctm wage, stressful, not guarantee a break, horrid work life balance

    Co-op2019-10-16
  9. "Okay for money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CTM 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Some customers are very pleasant

    Cons

    Unsociable hours means work life balance may be difficult.

    Co-op2019-10-10
  10. "Average Employement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easy to manage work life balance. Set systems that helped things run effeciently most of the time.

    Cons

    Lack of control due to those systems, sometimes you need some human involvement. The pay is pretty poor for a store manager, I took a step down when I changed job to assistant manager and took a pay rise! Severally understaffed, your budgets don't allow you the people to get the jobs done to the standard I'd like. Old premises in most places always in need of repair, repair companies do bodge jobs and you've no control over contractors used or price paid. You very much just tick a few boxes, you're more of a rule enforcer as opposed to the manager and leader of the business.

    Continue reading
    Co-op2019-10-05

    Co-op Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback. We are glad you found a good work-life balance with us. We appreciate your comments and we are always looking to improve life for our store colleagues via the feedback we receive. We have introduced new systems and apps that allow shifts to be managed more easily.

    Continue reading
Found 57 reviews