Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1410 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Matt Comyn
186 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

      Pros

      team, culture, diversity, focus on getting customer outcomes right, great worklife balance

      Cons

      In a large organisation it can be slow to bring new initiatives to life

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-06-01
    • "Good people/teams"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Trader in London, England

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Surrounded by very good teams/good skilled people, was always the high point of working here.

      Cons

      None that I can currently think of.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-02-12
    • "Premier Banking Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

      Pros

      Great and easy to use systems with good training provided.

      Cons

      Career growth based on network and not merit.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-01-17
    • "Turbulent times"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Job security - you could spend your entire career in this bank. That can also be seen as a con - lots of dead wood....

      Cons

      Politics Ego Behaviours do not align with the values Salary below market

      Advice to Management

      Invest in the business

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-01-21

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

      February 19, 2019

      Thank you for your post. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. If you would like to speak to someone externally about your experience, we encourage you to contact our SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258).

    • "cba"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia

      Pros

      shares given as part of package

      Cons

      The work culture was too intense.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-12-06
    • "Senior Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      work life balance is ok but office is not very mixed

      Cons

      under pays compared to market

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-11-14
    • "KYC Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

      Pros

      good salary package and benefit

      Cons

      lack of communication management is not effective promotion without valid reasons/only when the annual survey result looked bad.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-09-04

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

      September 17, 2018

      Thanks for your post. We pride ourselves of providing a range of employee benefits. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and have passed it on to the relevant people in the organisation.

    • "Compliance manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Compliance Manager 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Amazing training opportunities Lots of smart, talented people to learn from Good career progression Great management

      Cons

      As it is a very large organisation ,it can be a bit political.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in cross-skill opportunities for staff, there will be less turnover if there is opportunity to move within a team.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-05-22

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

      May 31, 2018

      Thank you for your comments. We work hard to provide great development opportunities for our people. We’ve passed on your comments to the relevant team. Have a lovely day!

    • Helpful (1)

      "CommBank"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

        Pros

        - Great work/life balance - Good career progression and lateral move opportunities

        Cons

        - Political being a large organisation

        Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-05-15
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Good culture, 9 -5, okay benefits, good central location

        Cons

        pay is a on the low to medium range compared to the rest of the Market

        Advice to Management

        Better and more transparent communication in a timely manner

        Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-11-09
      Found 1410 reviews