Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1696 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth Bank of Australia CEO Matt Comyn (no image)
Matt Comyn
355 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes there is a bit of red tape to cut through(in 75 reviews)

  • "Large organisation - so many acronyms for technical terms(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company going through significant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    There was a strong focus on collaboration, customer-centric design and innovative thinking

    Cons

    Less focus on digital transformation in recent times

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-06-07
  2. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Management can be slow at times.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-09-15
  3. "RTA Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Time Analyst 

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, networking opportunities, stakeholder management, analytical exposure, friendly staff environment

    Cons

    After-hours work, workplace politics, lack of appreciation

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-07-25
  4. "Good people/teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Trader in London, England

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by very good teams/good skilled people, was always the high point of working here.

    Cons

    None that I can currently think of.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-02-12
  5. "Premier Banking Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Great and easy to use systems with good training provided.

    Cons

    Career growth based on network and not merit.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-01-17
  6. "Turbulent times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security - you could spend your entire career in this bank. That can also be seen as a con - lots of dead wood....

    Cons

    Politics Ego Behaviours do not align with the values Salary below market

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the business

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-01-21

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

    February 19, 2019

    Thank you for your post. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. If you would like to speak to someone externally about your experience, we encourage you to contact our SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258).

  7. "cba"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia

    Pros

    shares given as part of package

    Cons

    The work culture was too intense.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-12-06
  8. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance is ok but office is not very mixed

    Cons

    under pays compared to market

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-11-14
  9. "KYC Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    good salary package and benefit

    Cons

    lack of communication management is not effective promotion without valid reasons/only when the annual survey result looked bad.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-09-04

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

    September 17, 2018

    Thanks for your post. We pride ourselves of providing a range of employee benefits. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and have passed it on to the relevant people in the organisation.

  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    team, culture, diversity, focus on getting customer outcomes right, great worklife balance

    Cons

    In a large organisation it can be slow to bring new initiatives to life

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-06-01
Found 1696 reviews