Compass Minerals Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
52%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Compass Minerals President and CEO Fran Malecha
Fran Malecha
44 Ratings
  1. "Store Supervisor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Supervisor in Goderich, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation package was not great.

    Cons

    Worst management team I have ever worked with. HR team totally incompetent. Worked there for five years and always mass turmoil. Employee's constantly resigning. High turnover of good people. Incompetent ones seem to stay around longer.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-12-02
  2. "Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Tech in Ogden, UT

    I worked at Compass Minerals part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. They push for safety

    Cons

    Had a terrible manager. People i worked with were great thought

    Compass Minerals2018-09-19
  3. "Overall"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Cote Blanche Landing, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay Great people at the lower levels

    Cons

    Middle and Upper Management are the problem

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-09-27
  4. "Maintenance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    One of the best jobs I'd ever had. Excellent co-workers

    Cons

    Some of the policies were not good.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-08-01
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    They really value employees opinions.

    Cons

    They're a little behind modern times.

    Compass Minerals2018-07-24
  6. "Good Internship"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Compass Minerals

    Pros

    High salary for interns, good learning experience, good program for interns

    Cons

    Some of upper management creates a semi-toxic environment.

    Compass Minerals2018-07-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Isolated company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, and benefits good depending on your field. Putting in a D&I quota, so if you check their diversity box, you will be fast tracked along so those numbers look better (con if you are a white male I guess)

    Cons

    Really bad employee culture at corporate. There are no Christmas parties, events, get together's, happy hours or any team building. We lose people under 30 fast because of this (currently 1 still here that is not an intern). Project management is extremely poor and most projects go over budget and/or fail due to lack of project plan.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-07-03
  8. "Great opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Planner in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company really cares about its employees and their families. Development of employees is a high priority along with sharing of best practices throughout the company

    Cons

    Some locations are remote. Takes some time to adjust to mining environment. Other than that great place to work at

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-05-10
  9. "electrician/ mechanic"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good company for long term work .

    Cons

    more benefits for workers and family

    Compass Minerals2018-05-10
  10. "Poor CEO and dishonest Management group"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Goderich, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Goderich is a nice place to live and work ,pay is good and for the most part have really enjoyed working here until the past few years.

    Cons

    Company is being micro managed by a leadership group who won't take responsibility for their poor planning and choice's that took this company from being highly productive to barely getting by on a daily basis. They treat their staff terribly and are currently using scab labour to run a mine with untrained people and risking lives instead of working on a contract with their unionized workforce for whom the have put out on strike with unrealistic contract demands.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2018-05-23
Found 113 reviews