Conagra Brands Brand Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Brand Manager

Conagra Brands Brand Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
1%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Conagra Brands CEO Sean Connolly
Sean Connolly
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity to Grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager 

    I have been working at Conagra Brands full-time

    Pros

    Lots of brands and a terrific team that is supportive in your development.

    Cons

    None right now that I can think of

    Conagra Brands2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Eternal Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Colleagues Company launching new products

    Cons

    High Turnover of employees Toxic Environment

    Conagra Brands2019-07-03
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager 

    I have been working at Conagra Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really helpful and has built a strong supportive culture

    Cons

    Smaller company in comparison to other CPGs leading to smaller budgets

    Conagra Brands2019-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "ABM review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Conagra Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rigorous, dats driven and analytical approach

    Cons

    Not a lot of creative thinking

    Conagra Brands2018-03-23
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Mixed bag at CAG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great people who are down to earth, little office politics, generally good work/life balance, food that tastes better than you might expect

    Cons

    1) Inconsistent in promotion practices 2) Absurd focus on cost-cutting when Wall Street has indicated that they are indifferent to it (CAG has one of the lowest SG&A rates within CPG industry) 3) Hypocrisy about high ethical standards when everyone knows that a brand president had an affair with HR rep who kept getting promoted. Also they rescinded multiple ABM offers during the summer (when offers had been... extended and accepted during the winter). 4) Pushes too much decision making to the top 5) Lower compensation than peer companies 6) Willingness to tolerate leaders who are bullies and micromanagers

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Actually make sure that you are promoting the right people. 2) Develop and reward good people managers. These people are critical. 3) Change your compensation structure. If you want to pay low salaries, then you need higher bonuses. 4) Actually clean house and take action on the known ethical violations. Keeping them there just makes people distrust ethical commitment. 5) Push decision making... down. Believe it or not, but the people who work for you are closer to the business. 6) Stop being penny-wise and pound-foolish. Let people spend time growing the business, not worrying about micro-managing absurdly small SG&A budgets. 7) Stop moving the target. "Everything will be figured out when we reorganize." "Everything will be figured out when we get brand segmentation." "Everything will be figured out when we move to the new office."

    Show More
    Conagra Brands2016-08-12
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Offer Revoked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interactions with marketing were positive, clearly an HR and senior leadership problem

    Cons

    My friend and 2-3 others who were supposed to start during the same month had their offers rescinded based on a typo on their applications. General consensus is that ConAgra over hired and then needed to take offers back, but did so in a super shady way!

    Conagra Brands2016-08-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Remove the Bad Seeds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time

    Pros

    Summer Hours Casual Dress code Compensation Opportunity for Advancement

    Cons

    Constant restructuring Work-Life Balance Lack of direction- I still don't think this company has any clue of where it's going. Low Morale

    Advice to Management

    It's unfortunate that the attitudes of some senior leadership can really impact and create a hostile work environment. These negative dynamics are not rectified fast enough creating churn. So many great employees pass through these doors due to organization disarray and negative leaders. Most of the mid-level employees are really awesome people but if you're not a favorite of certain leaders (despite reasons out of... your direct control) your progress is stunted.. Cut the favoritism. Treat your employees better.

    Show More
    Conagra Brands2016-05-13
  8. "Still a long way to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Passionate people Flexible work environment (work from home, can adjust hours to meet your schedule) Ability to make an impact

    Cons

    Changing leadership Frequent reorganizations Leadership lack of trust in employees, high level of involvement in brand strategies Too much focus on short-term vs. long-term performance

    Advice to Management

    In order to change behavior and culture, you need to change the leadership

    Conagra Brands2016-05-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager, Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Brand Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My colleagues were and are to this day phenomenal.

    Cons

    Completely lost executive team, with direction in terms of where to direct our collective efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what's the problem, design a strategy, and then communicate!

    Conagra Brands2015-11-02
  10. "Brand Design Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Design Brand Manager in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recognizable brands. I learned a lot about brand management.

    Cons

    Big company with "lots" of politics and turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Empower middle managers.

    Conagra Brands2015-09-19
Found 23 reviews