Conagra Brands IT Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Conagra Brands IT Intern Reviews

Updated 7 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Conagra Brands CEO Sean Connolly
Sean Connolly
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience; Poor Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that I worked with taught me a lot and moving from team to team in rotations ensured that I learned about each IT role.

    Cons

    We were one of the few teams not at the downtown campus, which made us partitioned off from the rest of the company. Then of course, we all found out on the news that headquarters was moving to Chicago. We were never informed ahead of time. Conagra is a latecomer to the health food shift in the market and even at that, it's still frozen and highly processed. They clearly aren't adjusting to customer needs and tastes.

    Conagra Brands2019-02-07
  2. "IT Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    Interns were well respected at ConAgra and had access to consistent mentorship and guidance. I got to work on a couple meaningful projects, which gave me the skills I needed to land my full time position. There were also tons of extracurriculars that gave me better insight into the business and the industry that I really appreciated.

    Cons

    There was not a lot of structure around the switching of roles. I worked one role for 7 months, and the next only for 3. These switches happened at different times for different interns too, so people were always joining and leaving teams, which was a bit disorienting.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend management to give the interns more ownership and visibility into the role selection process. And I would recommend that offers for full time positions go out earlier, before the interns get antsy and look around for (or accept) other jobs.

    Conagra Brands2016-11-06
  3. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were extremely helpful and honest about the workload and the company's performance.

    Cons

    The company culture is non-existent. The IT department was housed in a depressing, dimly-lit building filled with high-walled cubicles. There was no communication between departments.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with your employees and be honest about impending changes within the company (i.e. release an internal statement before you announce a departure from a city's headquarters). Also, Sean Connolly's thinly-veiled attempt at making full-time employees think that they would retain their jobs via WebEx was difficult to watch.

    Conagra Brands2016-06-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Major outsourcing of IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    ConAgra Foods used to offer a broad, challenging, and rewarding IT internship program. Hourly pay was highly competitive for college students. Hours were very flexible during the school year and there was the ability to work 40 hours during the summer. Management and full-time employees provided career-advancing mentorship. There were several opportunities to learn about the business and the food industry, not just IT...

    Show More

    Cons

    The new CEO, Sean Connolly, and the revised board of directors have decided to implement a zero-based budgeting system that led to the outsourcing of departments like IT. The IT internship program was swiftly eliminated. Upon leaving the company, I was told that an estimated 90% of IT was to be outsourced. Simply put, it's likely that this lovely internship will never exist with this company again. Career prospects in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While it makes sense for executive-level leadership to make every effort to save an ailing company, jumping into a zero-based budgeting and eliminating a large number of positions comes across as a little drastic and poorly thought out. It feels like these decisions were made simply because entities like 3G Capital have implemented similar measures. Why not examine what would be best for ConAgra Foods as its own company...

    Show More
    Conagra Brands2016-02-04
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conagra Brands

    Pros

    The atmosphere is really good friendly people willing to help !

    Cons

    None Cons for me !

    Conagra Brands2015-10-13
  6. "A Changing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Conagra Brands (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good hard-working people Food at the Cafeteria is good Pay is good

    Cons

    Terrible Executives Terrible Culture Moving to Chicago and leaving Omaha behind Dysfunctional Will probably be sold

    Advice to Management

    Get your stuff together and please try to communicate to non-management better.

    Conagra Brands2015-10-07
  7. "Year Round IT-intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Conagra Brands

    Pros

    This by far one of the best intern programs in Omaha. It offers a will rounded experience by doing about 6 months rotations in different teams in IT. They are very flexible with the schedule.

    Cons

    I think they should let interns focus more on their major of study if applicable like more technical for more technical majors and vic-versa. Otherwise I think it is great how it is.

    Conagra Brands2015-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good internship program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conagra Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay rotational style program allows for learning in many different areas of IT exposure to IT management

    Cons

    lack of work for interns at times, even when continuously seeking work.

    Conagra Brands2014-10-19
  9. "Great Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conagra Brands

    Pros

    Lots of different experiences with different teams, good pay, good chance of getting a job. Overall a great experience

    Cons

    Some managers and/or employees don't put forth enough effort and that can leave the intern with not enough to do.

    Conagra Brands2014-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "College Sophomore excited for first internship, unstructured program and lack of stimulation leads to quick resignation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Conagra Brands (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Big company that taught me how to work with others, attractive salary.

    Cons

    Entered into a technical role but was not given any responsibilities and was a burden on other employees. Employees treated me as if they were babysitting me and I consider this to be my worst internship experience.

    Advice to Management

    The internship program was flawed when I worked there in 2010/2011. I had a boss in my building and then a mentor who was really too busy to reach out to me and check on how things were going. By the time he found out about the situation I was too embarrassed to do anything and tossed in the towel. I resigned without ever going to clean out my desk. Additionally, there was a problem with my paycheck from day one and I...

    Show More
    Conagra Brands2013-08-02
Found 12 reviews