Condé Nast Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Condé Nast Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Condé Nast CEO Roger Lynch
Roger Lynch
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "The recognizability of the magazine was really essential to me early in my career(in 68 reviews)

  • "Smart People, Good Work Life Balance(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "No upward mobility and long hours(in 49 reviews)

  • "Magazines are folding left and right(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Applications Support 

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time

    Pros

    Cycle to work, Subsidised Gym , Rail Loan Ticket

    Cons

    Going through major changes, high turn over

    Condé Nast2019-11-25
  2. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great to work with

    Cons

    There are no negatives really

    Condé Nast2019-11-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "All the Global middle Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before the merger/integration with the US office, we genuinely had a lovely culture. Sure there were frustrations but we had autonomy to do what we liked (within reason). Great office with river views.

    Cons

    A serious communication problem. Management at every level both in London and the US might be very task driven but their interpersonal and empathy skills are woeful. Since the merger/integration (early 2019), we have been in limbo. It has put a halt to promotions, salary reviews, and every bit of autonomy we had has been removed by VPs and Directors in the US (who don't make their presence known) not comminuting... with their UK counterparts, leading to a perceived dictatorship culture. This limbo has affected morale since it was announced and continues to decline. Career progression has stalled due to the merger, leading to a further decline in morale.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn some empathy. Learn some communication skills. Learn some interpersonal/soft skills. Don't tell people they're aware of low morale unless you're actively doing something to address it.

    Condé Nast2019-11-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic environment, not a place where you are encouraged to grow as a junior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance (Hanover Sq) in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At times, colleagues were helpful Some in-office socialising

    Cons

    Too many to discuss, high staff turnover, bad management, bad communication, low budget, overworked, loss making, lack of experienced staff,

    Advice to Management

    Fix all the major problems and support your staff. Employ experienced temporary staff to fix the major issues and improve the conditions. But I cannot see this happening for a long time.

    Condé Nast2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Place to work merger makes everything political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coffee nice building people are nice

    Cons

    Politics everywhere. Directors care about only getting promoted Avoid working here

    Condé Nast2019-11-08
  6. "Pretty good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, relaxed environment, great brands, nice office environment, nice people.

    Cons

    Not the most challenging work, meeting heavy environment.

    Condé Nast2019-10-03
  7. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Manager 

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great, very smart people around.

    Cons

    Cab be slow moving at times.

    Condé Nast2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Slow pace, boring work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Decent tech stack * Lovely office * Flexible on remote working * Friendly colleagues

    Cons

    * Really monotonous work. I've mostly updated configuration repositories or done simple bug fixes, both of which are both below my skill level * Some pretty egotistical engineers who aren't as technically strong as they'd like to believe; they just love to conflate 'abstraction' and 'indirection', and shoehorn their supposed understanding of big O notation into discussions in which it makes no sense, for example *... Way too many middle managers, most of whom pester you constantly and organise pointless meetings just to look busy, all while gesticulating excessively; don't expect to be able to get into a coding groove at this place * Too much involvement from external consultancies; currently we rely on FOUR different vendors, all of whom have their own agendas for growing * Extremely political. Despite the sexist content found in GQ, they'll happy provide female engineers with token promotions just so they appear progressive. While I agree there's an under-representation of women in tech, it's really a cheap, patronising opportunity for the company to brag on LinkedIn

    Show More
    Condé Nast2019-10-17
  9. "Every day is different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and the office

    Cons

    The unknown, global opportunities between each office

    Condé Nast2019-09-11
  10. "13 years in a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photo Edior Vogue Magazine in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Exciting beautiful work, wonderful clever people, quality of product and integrity

    Cons

    salaries not great, lack of training structure, politics.

    Advice to Management

    Be more gernerous and structured with training and support. Pay people better.

    Condé Nast2019-08-29
Found 691 reviews