Condé Nast Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Condé Nast Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Condé Nast President and CEO Roger Lynch
Roger Lynch
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "The recognizability of the magazine was really essential to me early in my career(in 70 reviews)

  • "Some great, very smart people around(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "No upward mobility and long hours(in 49 reviews)

  • "Magazines are folding left and right(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Condé Nast

    Pros

    Collaborative and friendly environment. People want to help one another, and will always be willing to help if you ask. Nice central location.

    Cons

    Lack of visibility on progression throughout your career, either within or outside of the company. In general though, most people are willing to help you.

    Condé Nast2016-02-28
  2. "Junior at Conde Nast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks eg. great hours (9.30am-5.30pm) and summer hours (finish Friday's at 1pm) Beauty sales Discounts

    Cons

    Pay isn't great with a supposed pay freeze

    Condé Nast2020-02-12
  3. "Change and uncertainty seem to be the only constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Central offices in the heart of Mayfair (iconic building) and by the Thames (killer view and fantastic working space) * Good people to work with * Magazines! * Never the same day twice

    Cons

    * Management changes globally driven by NY mean UK and international organisation losing its identify * Collaboration and communication seem to be minimal with Top Down changes the norm * Lack of corporate vision and strategy from Top leadership means motivation of employees is low; 'business priorities' only after 10 months of a new Global CEO seem short-sighted and frankly, a bit weak *

    Continue reading
    Condé Nast2020-02-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Okay if you like an dull job that doesn't push you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Computer Services in London, England
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compny Name, Beauty Sales, Free magazines

    Cons

    Not a good culture not many team incentive, alot of people that have been there for years and are very old school

    Condé Nast2020-01-09
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Applications Support 

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time

    Pros

    Cycle to work, Subsidised Gym , Rail Loan Ticket

    Cons

    Going through major changes, high turn over

    Condé Nast2019-11-25
  6. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great to work with

    Cons

    There are no negatives really

    Condé Nast2019-11-01
  7. "Great perks and fun office, good first job but bad career progression and mentoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PA to Publishing Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing office location! Iconic global company which still has a fantastic name and opens doors. Lots of fun perks and young, friendly teams Great to build your network and meet industry professionals across various elements of the luxury sector

    Cons

    Senior management within the teams is not supportive or nurturing, you feel as though everything is a fight for the next level Pay not great and currently a pay freeze til mid 2020. they dont tell you this when you start...

    Continue reading
    Condé Nast2019-10-24
  8. Helpful (6)

    "All the Global middle Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before the merger/integration with the US office, we genuinely had a lovely culture. Sure there were frustrations but we had autonomy to do what we liked (within reason). Great office with river views.

    Cons

    A serious communication problem. Management at every level both in London and the US might be very task driven but their interpersonal and empathy skills are woeful. Since the merger/integration (early 2019), we have been in limbo. It has put a halt to promotions, salary reviews, and every bit of autonomy we had has been removed by VPs and Directors in the US (who don't make their presence known) not comminuting with their UK counterparts, leading to a perceived dictatorship culture. This limbo has affected morale since it was announced and continues to decline. Career progression has stalled due to the merger, leading to a further decline in morale.

    Continue reading
    Condé Nast2019-11-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic environment, not a place where you are encouraged to grow as a junior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance (Hanover Sq) in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At times, colleagues were helpful Some in-office socialising

    Cons

    Too many to discuss, high staff turnover, bad management, bad communication, low budget, overworked, loss making, lack of experienced staff,

    Continue reading
    Condé Nast2019-10-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Place to work merger makes everything political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Condé Nast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coffee nice building people are nice

    Cons

    Politics everywhere. Directors care about only getting promoted Avoid working here

    Condé Nast2019-11-08
Found 702 reviews