Convergys Technical Support Agent Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 351 of over 5,559 reviews

3.6
52%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Convergys President & CEO Andrea Ayers
Andrea Ayers
132 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to work

    Mar 30, 2017 - Technical Support Agent in Bredbury, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Convergys in Manchester for three years. During this time I thoroughly enjoyed the role, which was an inbound calls role working for BT. I have friends who have also worked in the outbound and sales department who also love their role. I have read a lot of negative reviews on this website and really cannot relate to any of them - I have made some great friends while at this job, including managers who have been nothing but helpful to me. They have some great clients and treat you nicely and with respect, unlike other call centres I have worked at. Good benefits including a casual dress code, a free car park and a cheap canteen in the building where you can spend your break times.

    Cons

    Need to get there early some days as the car park gets full from about 2pm

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    absolutely dire

    Apr 6, 2019 - Customer Service Agent in Salford, North West England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    difficult to find any if i am honest

    Cons

    do not work here!!!! this place caused me depression and anxiety. you are literally a number to them not a human being. I was constantly being pulled in for meetings over the smallest thing, I ended up staying here over 12 months simply because they eroded my confidence in myself so much by making me feel worthless that I almost gave up on life. They kept using the approach of 'trying to teach grandmother to suck eggs' and making me have coaching, not that I required the coaching because I lacked skill but I rather lacked the will as the fact I was being paid barely enough to survive let alone to be able to plan for any kind of future had simply eroded my spirit. This was picked up on when my calls we're listened to but rather than them asking if there was anything bothering me they tried to teach me customer service skills as though I was 16 yet I am a fully grown adult.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Better jsa than these guys

    Sep 12, 2017 - Sales Agent in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no rules. If you ever dreamed of experiencing the will west first hand or working at the zoo youve found your home. This peace is wreckless and no one has any idea what they are doing. You will get in trouble, you wont have to know why or care because this place is a zoo and no one has a brain between them. Or a soul.

    Cons

    The management is a joke. Petty much everyone abuses their tiny little measly amount of power. The staff are pigs there is garbage crammed into every corner and the equipment is disgusting. The hygeine levels are the worst ive seen in any call centre. No one knows what they are doing. Important job changing announcements are yelled across the room while staff struggle to hear their customers. The management will be snide and arrogant if you dont hear their shouting announcements. Not that we have invented memos or eletronic mail or anything. You will get shifted between departments like cattle. You will have no name, you will have no purpose and no direction. People are unhelpful, lazy and frankly disgusting, immature and cowardly. This place is a pit please even if you have to stay unemployed. Do not work here!!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bullying and poor management

    Jun 3, 2016 - Customer Retention Agent in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - had fun co-workers - not paid month in band which makes for an easy financial transition into the job - free parking (even if it was a bit of a jaunt. specifically informed of my disability but forced to park away from building)

    Cons

    - dishonest management, hr and team leaders. - assume anything said in interviews or training is a lie. - LITERALLY NO ADVANCEMENT (see above for training lies). - genuine illness, even if part of a reported disability will lead to bullying, victimisation from hr and management. - ops managers were bullies. - will break the law regarding disability discrimination/pregnancy therefore putting you at risk. - management will lie, fabricate and throw you to the wolves to cover their back. - will strip any commission guaranteed for made up reasons if they don't have valid ones from the vast list of targets or change parameters at no notice even if already earned. - take £400 or £200 off you for 'training value' if you leave/are fired or chased out with discriminatory practice before 6 or 3months. - training is thorough but useless as job description is false due to lack of inter company transparency and cooperation. - training managers are fake, super nice so you sign contract & can't leave without fines. - unreliable system that they will blame you for. - spent all day listening to customers cry about client ruining their lives (all horror stories). - promised contractual pay increase not given until fought for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst company I have ever worked for!

    Jan 20, 2018 - Outbound Sales Agent in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The training is good. However it’s a con because the job isn’t good as it’s made out to be. I met some really nice people on my course

    Cons

    If you want a job that is soul destroying, never paid properly, and treated like rubbish by management then this is the job for you! It’s basic wage with the promise on commission. The commission is a con!! They lie and take it away from you claiming you did something wrong! The staff canteen is overpriced and the food is disgusting! The management are all drug users and only care about their bonuses! They don’t care about employment rights & will give you abuse & harass you if you phone in sick. They bully single mums to leave their kids at home if they are sick & to come in work, just so the manager gets his weekly bonus on attendance. Shocking company! Vodafone & 03 should know the truth about Convergys esp the Middleton & Bredbury sites

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    HSBC Customer service agent

    Mar 24, 2017 - Customer Service Agent in Salford, North West England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work mates, some managers are fun, commission.

    Cons

    Shifts are the most ridiculous! It's like you live for this job. You get only one weekend off in the month. The job is boring, do not go for this job if you are looking for challenges and everyday to be different. Big responsibility for the money you are getting paid. Doesn't matter how much you would try to be good, they will always find mistakes. Commission is based on quality of your customer service, which is very hard to get right.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Disorganised mess

    Sep 4, 2017 - Customer Retention Agent in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fellow workers, that's pretty much it, management only care if you can get in their clique, otherwise your on your own.

    Cons

    No support from leaders or management, only from other advisors who have been there longer. Not seen our team leader in over two weeks

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't do it. Poor pay, idiots in charge.

    Feb 21, 2018 - Customer Support Agent in Longbenton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fortnightly pay, no physical work.

    Cons

    You won't get anywhere if you are british, all the management levels are filled by nepotism and cronyism. Your skills are not needed just creep up to the non productive team leaders and you can go places, management level is full of self appreciating dimwits who spend all their time telling each other how good they are in never ending meetings about how good they are. Wage is minimum, and check your payslip because it is never right.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Convergys Review

    May 8, 2017 - Customer Service Agent in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great, when you're in a senior position you tend to stay there for a long time, the incentives on the campaign were achievable.

    Cons

    No loyalty to staff because its an outsourcing company with only the client's considersation in mind. Progression relies on someone leaving the company. For example the Call Quality Team had never changed since the beginning of the campaign. Working the same shift for a month, for example lates until 10pm meant no social life for a whole month.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Technical support advisor

    Feb 4, 2017 - Technical Support Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    health insurance and child care vouchers

    Cons

    long hours and shift work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 351 Reviews

Popular Careers with Convergys Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Convergys? Share Your Experiences

Convergys logo
or