Convergys Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 316 of over 5,562 reviews

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Convergys President & CEO Andrea Ayers
Andrea Ayers
1,816 Ratings

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Dead-end job for Technical Support

    Feb 24, 2016 - Technical Service Professional in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training is the BEST part of this job, the trainers are awesome, and the first four weeks we learned a lot of valuable information, especially about our primary partner (Dell). Work environment isn't stressful, but metrics are everything. Easy to get a job. Ever make your own computer or repair a computer before? They will hire all walks of life. Great place to work as a student, after the first couple months, they will tailor your schedule to your school schedule.

    Cons

    Dead-end job No room for advancement at all Only work here if you are young, or your first job, or desperately need it. There is barely any room for advancement, and even if you do, you only get a raise of 1$ per hour. I moved to Tampa 2 years ago, this was my first job, I was happy to just have a job back then, but I realize I should of moved on at least a year ago. You will only make 13$ an hour and you will either hate it or deal with it. There's no room for a raise.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    BISC/Customer Care

    Aug 14, 2014 - Customer Care/EU/Digital Life in Clarksville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training is becoming more up to par. Looks like they are training TLs a little better

    Cons

    Clarksville TN: revolving door, they do not appreciate employees, trashy work environment, employees all sleeping with each other, one week new class will arrive the next week 5 people get walked out. 700+ seats as advertised, ONLY 200+ filled... Why is this? Forced to call out if PTO/UTO not available, SICK...? That could cost you your Job! Points system for which you get if tardy or leave early or call out is the HORRIBLE! Put it this way, if you are tardy one minute (keep in mind you have 5 min to logon your systems) you get 1/4 or .25 a point when a whole day off is one point. You work 3/4 of day and get sick, too bad .50 or 1/2 point GONE and you only get 12 points! I am still employed here, take my advice stay away.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun, friendly work environment but too much internal politics, extremely slow growth.

    Apr 22, 2015 - Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Friendly work environment - Provide free meals and prizes throughout the year - Decent health benefits - Lenient when it comes to family problems or time needed off

    Cons

    - Painfully slow growth. It can take many years to get a promotion depending on the project. They also have a tendency to bring higher ups from other projects that have no knowledge of the project they are now on than promote employees that have been working on that project for years. There are also positions where there is an increase of work, but no increase of pay. - Computer systems are horrible. The majority of the time the different systems do not cooperate with each other, and there are times when they cannot be accessed at all. - Senior management changes often, so it is hard to get to know them. This is also the same for employees, which rotate out constantly. - Dirty work conditions. Stained carpets, facilities doesn't clean up spills on floors for a week, broken locks in bathrooms

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good transition or starting job

    Dec 27, 2017 - Tech Support Advisor in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, benefits, PTO, relatively flexible attendance system, diverse work environment, expectations are communicated, training is slightly more extensive than other call centers (therefore you have more opportunity to learn), good job for college (if you’re attending classes part-time), strong possibility of overtime (food is also provided on said days)

    Cons

    Strict attendance during training (which for me has been the first five weeks of employment), some trainers/floor support are off-putting and might discourage some from seeking support, not a viable long-term position unless you plan on being promoted, strong possibility of odd and inconsistent hours (due to typical call center expectations), strong possibility of overtime, required to work most holidays

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Environment

    Aug 27, 2016 - Tennessee in Clarksville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Convergys is a great job, especially if you are the type that would like to avoid factory environments. You do have to be able to catch on quickly to new concepts, as well as being able to accomplish multitasking between screens. There are lots of motivational perks that occur to encourage everyone to do their best.

    Cons

    Some downsides to working at Convergys would be that there is no normal or stable work environment. Once you get used to being on a certain teams that you actually work well with, the team changes without warning. You never get to pick teams or stay on a team that has worked well together to maximize sales.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work and Grow!

    Jun 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Convergys has provided me with many opportunities to grow within the company. Convergys offers a casual, yet professional work environment. I have an excellent benefits package and receive many company discounts. It is awesome being a part of a global leader in the call center world. I have promoted internally twice and am looking to have a long term career with Convergys.

    Cons

    It can take time to get new log in information. Convergys partners with many fortune 500 companies and sometimes those relationships change. This is a pro and a con. Convergys sets the expectation that in many cases your role or project might change.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Better than most "call center" jobs

    May 26, 2018 - Hotel Reservations Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work at home. You are expected to be ready at your desk to take calls and often the calls are constant, but it is nice to not worry about commutes and experience the comforts of home - Paid time off accrues at a good rate. I took off six paid days plus two weekends for a total ten day vacation after my first year there. After your first year you begin accruing paid time off faster as well. - Good management, and a good work environment. Since your interaction with coworkers is all within recorded chatrooms, there is minimal opportunity for drama and no gossip. - There are performance-based raises (albeit small) every year

    Cons

    - Paid time off lately has been really hard to get. Probably growing pains as we are hiring more people, and we don't have an increase of available time off - Insurance is available, but not a particularly good value. - We have been understaffed for half a year now. As a result, calls have been burdensome, offline activity like meetings and 1:1 evaluations have been canceled, and if you get sick your usual choice is to get an attendance point, as there hasn't been same day leave available and we don't have sick leave.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Stable Work Environment

    Jun 13, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable work environment for up to 10 years

    Cons

    However the financial benefits, pension, 401k took a downfall. Convergys eliminated the pension plan, the retirement 401k was limited to 3% matching with the company, as opposed to the previous 5% matching. Stressful culture, at times intimidating, with several employees and team leaders either hospitalized or died in connection to the work culture. The client relationship when Union is radically positioned in a dichotomy to the subcontractor, policy by Union employees is often bypassed to the discredit of the "shadow company" or subcontractor. The outsourcing of the company took advantage of the capital gains tax, and most HR representatives are located in India, are difficult to understand and lack empathy skills for employees whom inquire about policy, benefits, or payroll. They must be asked to slow down and enuciate articulately. The rollover of Operations Managers is high, and few accomplish the goal of ideal leadership apart from statistics. Equipment for the positions is not always clean enough to avoid disease; Open air cubicles add to the infection rates, and cubicles that are rarely, if ever cleaned. Equipment testing on occasion resulted in the complete contact center shut down in excess of 2 hours, as the complete contact center had to be "rebooted".

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A Horrible Place To Be

    Mar 7, 2016 - Customer Service Representative in Logan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Friendly co-workers. -Close to my house -Got me through college -I've run out, but this completes the 20 word minimum.

    Cons

    I don't think it's too big of a secret that Convergys is renown for being at the bottom of the totem pole when it comes to call centers. For starters, their training program on virtually everything was usually incomplete or totally lacking in accuracy. This was primarily due to the fact that the relevancy on a particular product would grow outdated, often times as soon as the very next day, leaving many of us scratching our heads in amazement. It seemed that most of the time in fact, things were thrown together haphazardly at the last second with only a glimmer of thought towards any future benefit. Aside from very prevalent management flaws, the unrealistic expectations placed on the weary little heads of the agents became all too real, from call qualities to selling vast quantities of products that people just don't need in their lives. A stifling work environment, slave driving management, day-after-day unbearable oppression combined with stick of gum sales incentives, this was just a horrible place to be that eventually makes you laugh at the thought that you actually worked there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Team leader

    Jul 7, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Educational work environment teaches you to adapt to change and patience. Great starter job and will prepare you for a fast paced environment. Some really good management. Clean environment. Some really good leaders. Helps to build communication and management skills.

    Cons

    Not enough structure. Even as a team leader i was unable to figure out where the pitfalls began and ended. The issues are not just on tls, oms, soms, or even building management or client. I feel it's a combination of little things from every piece just not fitting right.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 50 of 316 Reviews

Popular Careers with Convergys Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Convergys? Share Your Experiences

Convergys logo
or