Corrections Corporation of America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Corrections Corporation of America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Corrections Corporation of America CEO Damon T. Hininger
Damon T. Hininger
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good perks, good people(in 20 reviews)

  • "Work schedule is great along with good benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "That they have one officer to 200 to 400 inmates and that help is locked behind 3 doors(in 50 reviews)

  • "Mandatory overtime, lazy officers (some supervisors too)(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun, lowpaying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Teacher in Fort Gadsden, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, 401K but it doesn’t compare to the state retirement plan teachers get working for the county or the state. If you need money, it’s a job but I wouldn’t make a career of it if one wants to financially get ahead in life

    Cons

    The pay. I started off at 22,000 a year as a certified academic teacher working 12 months out of the year.. County teachers starting pay was 10K above that for only working 9 months out of the year and not with felons behind bars. State Corrections teacher pay was also higher plus retirement benefits. After paying rent and other living expenses, I barely had money for groceries. Their income put me in the working class...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better pay. Offer to cover college courses for teachers like the state does(6 credits per semester) since teachers must have continuing edu action to maintain certification.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-12-13
  2. "Good company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Whiteville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great job security with good pay.

    Cons

    Having to deal with supervisors that don't know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce mandatory overtime for staff.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-11-22
  3. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Great supervisors and staff. I enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    None. I don't have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-11-04
  4. "Assistant, Inmate Programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    A team spirit, excellent management, and flow of work and responsibilities were clear cut and smooth. The potential there was limitless and the benefits were excellent.

    Cons

    There were so many prisons in the system that at times it was overwhelming. The politics were at times annoying.

    Advice to Management

    Is rather not answer this.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-10-24
  5. "Correctional Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Awesome pay with good benefits and job security especially in TX/AZ/CA or ICE, Marshall, Federal Contract.

    Cons

    No breaks, eat on the run when you can. Getting rid of the mandatory overtime will relived much of the "bad morale". Selfish management with a culture that carries enormous favoritism to there "cliques". "Boots on the grounds" the pillars of the facility are totally place on the side pretty much to a position with there is no actual one to one training. "Depression and Stress" is on the rise as for a correctional officer--they...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff is one my main priorities, provide the adequate help to an inmate and staff (a just resolution with future preventive risks) and have a better legal support team for staff. Don't award the staff with seniority only but too recognize the energetic and well rounded meritorious, who are happy to be there and willing to sacrifice and provide the skills and leadership.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-11-17
  6. "Eh. It is what it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    It was really easy work.

    Cons

    Sloppy. Unprofessional. Everything you don't want a correctional setting to be.

    Advice to Management

    Get better management. Start caring more.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-10-08
  7. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great training and great group of co workers

    Cons

    horrible supervisors that treated you like crap unless you were friends.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-09-24
  8. "Not a good place to working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Clerk in Tutwiler, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Definite raises, guaranteed pay

    Cons

    No unity. Management is undermining and sneaky.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equal.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-09-09
  9. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you meet and work with that are your same pay grade.

    Cons

    Not enough employees at facilities to make female case managers comfortable in the environment.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-08-20
  10. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

      Pros

      Staff was great to work with

      Cons

      Understaffed and supervisor broke policy

      Corrections Corporation of America2018-07-21
    Found 260 reviews