Costa "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "free drinks and 50% OFF on food while on shift(in 102 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours due to staff sickness that effects whole team(in 87 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    . Great team and a friendly environment . Very patient with beginners and good training . A mix of fast paced and relaxing shifts . Discounts are good

    Cons

    . Minimum wage . All of your clothes will smell like coffee!

    Costa2017-12-19
  2. "Really busy store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee nice staff

    Cons

    Really busy customers get annoyed for waiting. Minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Costa2020-01-10
  3. "Not the best place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to meet some wonderful people The training program was good

    Cons

    Management is rubbish! Unflexible hours and minimum wage. Managers treated you poorly. lunch breaks were rushed- had them at the start of my 9-hour shift, so had 8 hours with no break.

    Costa2019-11-19
  4. "Not great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Nice team, free coffee, that’s it

    Cons

    Worse shifts, poor management, minimum wage, no benefits

    Costa2019-10-16
  5. "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Bedford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time contract, free drinks and good place to meet friends.

    Cons

    Minimum wage, only 40p more if you be a team leader, shift changing everyday and rude customers

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-10-10
  6. "If possible, don;t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers are pretty nice and if you are in a small branch as I am, you get to know some customers and the people are pretty much always friendly.

    Cons

    Costa is a typical corporate giant that takes advantage of its employees every opportunity it can (especially when it comes to pay). Will send you home early to keep labour costs down even if you are on minimum wage, takes away 15 minutes of your pay every day without telling you/clarifying this (even if you don't take a break), makes you pay any money lost to scammers despite no training on how to identify/deal with scammers, minimises the number of people on shift (2 per shift) to cut labour costs at the expense of overworking staff members

    Costa2019-10-04
  7. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Quick career progression, good reward and recognition and great barista skills programme where you have the opportunity to learn lots about coffee and challenge yourself eg barista of the year competition. Good discount and employee perks

    Cons

    A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-04-11

    Costa Response

    April 17, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good for young employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bond with customers and colleagues and always nice to get compliments from customers my , can get promotions easily if you work hard and are committed to the job.

    Cons

    Not always acknowledged for your hard work by higher management, would be nice if they listened to employee needs more. Pay is minimum wage and below average if you want to be a manager.

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-04-03

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time to write a review

    Continue reading
  9. "Alright job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food and acceptable shift hours.

    Cons

    The public are a handful. Having to undertake cleaning tasks at the end of the day. Franchised versions of the store pay minimum wage.

    Costa2019-02-28

    Costa Response

    March 12, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Strabane, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee and 50% food while on shift

    Cons

    Badly managed No recognition Minimum wage for hard work Managers sit around and offer little assistance No training provided Bad morale

    Costa2019-02-25

    Costa Response

    February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    Continue reading
Found 41 reviews