Cotswold Company Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 31 reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Cotswold Company CEO Kevin Johnson (no image)
Kevin Johnson
24 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An amazing place to work

    May 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful entrepreneurial spirit, inclusive, creative, exciting and dynamic. Great work life balance ethic, a real family.

    Cons

    Everyone gets involved in everything, this is a positive but can sometimes slow things down

    2 people found this review helpful

    Cotswold Company Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We have a great bunch of people working here and are really proud of what we are achieving together. We are always looking at how we can improve so thank you for your feedback, its definitely one for us to think about. Hannah - Head of People

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Aspiring but not quite delivering in areas

    Dec 6, 2021 - Quality Assurance Manager in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lenient work life ratio: great understanding of people's needs and malleable to support. Good benefits: good benefits and office amenities, refurb is nice though cold during winter. Great development opportunities: by far biggest strength. Investment in development and progression amazing. Great HR initiatives: Good MH support, Values and Sustainability programs.

    Cons

    Pay: inconsistent and unclear. High expectations and high demand: historically high workload and demand has resulted in poor work environment. Structure and organisation: overall objectives clear but messaging dropped at times which results in lack of engagement. Lots of covering for other roles increases poor work environment, applicable to other departments also. Clarity and consistency: Asks tend to change frequently causing issues with delivery.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    not good

    Jun 3, 2021 - Call Handler 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free tea and coffee on shift

    Cons

    Team leaders are mean and rude

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Caring Company

    Feb 18, 2021 - Head of Operational Improvement in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Superb management of the Covid-19 crisis, with support platforms from mental health, emergency funds to treats. Cotswold are a great company to work for if you want a fun place to work with friendly and supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    Not so good at keeping on top of individual's needs, as busy looking at the bigger picture. Whilst its appreciated, as the mortgage payments depend on their ongoing success, progression, salary reviews and personal needs can be overlooked.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Enter at risk!

    Jan 23, 2021 - Aftercare Advisor in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many opportunities to work over-time!

    Cons

    Not much support or cohesion and constant backlog!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Cotswold Company Response

    Really sorry to hear that you feel you are not receiving the support you need at work. I know that the management team in our Customer Services department would welcome the chance to discuss this further with you to see where the issues are and what improvements can be made if you are willing. Please do get in touch directly. Hannah - Head of People

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No good at all

    Sep 2, 2020 - Warehouse Associate in Wednesbury, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros wages bad work bad management bad

    Cons

    No chance at all if you are English not being racist it's just the way the place is, they love Europeans in the warehouse but will only employ English speaking drivers as they don't want European speaking people in the homes of Middle class people.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Cotswold Company Response

    I am really sorry to hear that this was the impression you came away with having worked with us for such a short time. We have a mix of nationalities in our operational areas and welcome the richness of the diversity that, that brings. We would like to try and understand and explore your feedback in more detail and would ask that you contract us directly so we can discuss this with you further. Hannah - Head of People

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    PURE DISCRIMINATION AND ALSO BREAKING THE HUMAN RIGHTS

    Jul 22, 2020 - Warehouse Worker in Walsall, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Do not recommend at all !!!

    Cons

    Ive been there as worker just for 1 day and half and on the 2nd day i've threatened by simple worker , and i did a complaint for that 1hour and half later i had a phone call from the agency that send me there and they said nothing of that i had reported is true, but im not surprised coz the manager there is the samae nationality as the worker who involved me , so IT IS PURE DISCRIMINATION AND ALSO BREAKING THE HUMAN RIGHTS , and that gives me a stable reason to report them

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    May 19, 2020 - Chief Executive Officer in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly, agile, growing, digital, exciting

    Cons

    no real negatives so far

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Culture is more than a ping-pong table and a coffee machine.

    May 18, 2020 - Head Office Employee in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively flexible working (not so much pre Covid-19 – a certain few people seemed to get more flexibility). Nice coffee machine and facilities at head office.

    Cons

    No progression in certain areas, yet it seems the company are keen to hire people above existing staff members and not give the chance to existing employees who put a lot of work and effort in, this means that good staff members have left as there is no progression for them. No increase in salary for long standing staff members, yet new employees and what seems like an 'elite few' are clearly being paid handsomely. 'Us vs. Them' mentality between departments, not helped by unrealistic deadlines and poor management at the senior level, resulting in a lot of finger pointing and poor morale within teams. The 'board level' seems unattached from the real day to day, resulting in unrealistic demands, tight deadlines and unhappy staff. Sometimes feels like a puppet show with the board members pulling the strings. Staff survey and 'Pulse surveys' seem pointless, as when the results are in management have a tiff and wonder why morale is low, then nothing is actioned and it's back to square one. At one point the message fed back was 'if you're not happy here then find a job somewhere else". Obviously there are tough times at the moment with the Covid-19 pandemic, understandably some staff members have been furloughed, yet the work load for existing staff members has got increased and is becoming increasingly demanding. Work is still being delivered but at the detriment of these staff members wellbeing. Seems as though the board are seeing what departments can 'cope' with fewer people and not bother bringing the furloughed staff back. Work/Life balance is poor, escalated by the Covid-19 pandemic and home working – end up working longer hours and not being able to switch off as the working day has no clear end. The wellbeing of staff is said to be important by the HR/'People' department, but it's almost a tick box exercise of sending through low quality pamphlets and info pulled from the web. Not very helpful.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Cotswold Company Response

    Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry to hear you feel the way you do. I absolutely agree that culture is more than a ping-pong table and coffee machine and we are working hard to support our managers and our teams to stay healthy and put our team’s wellbeing at the top of our agenda. Amongst other things we have recently introduced a Health and Wellbeing hub to support and sign post people to information and activities, as well as starting the process of training up 10 Mental Health First Aiders from across the business. Any other suggestions on how to best support our teams are always gratefully appreciated . As you noted it is tough times at the moment and I am exceptionally proud at how all the teams, the managers and our board, are pulling together. We value everyone’s efforts and contribution to making our business the success that it is and are looking at ways that we can develop individuals and teams to ensure we continue in our success. I do appreciate the pace has picked up and some will feel the pressure, that’s why it’s essential that we look after each other, supporting one another and making sure we continue to feedback suggestions on how we can be better, not just during this crisis but beyond as well. I would therefore welcome a chance to discuss your experiences in more detail. If you would like to do this then please contact me directly. Ralph

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Working at cotswold company head office Norwich

    Nov 25, 2019 - Merchandise Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's engaging, challenging, different everday, rewarding, fantastic environment and a beautiful office

    Cons

    everyone wishes they earnt more, so the pay could be more, learning names as a new starter was difficult and integrating with other departments could of been a little easier but otherwise top notch company

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cotswold Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cotswold Company? Share Your Experiences

Cotswold Company logo
or