Covance Reviews

Updated 13 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO Paul Kirchgraber
Paul Kirchgraber
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work environment is really great(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great job opportunity and Good benefits(in 82 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "struggle to maintain work life balance but that is part of learning new things(in 129 reviews)

  • "Upper Management is only interested in listings and reports(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Leading Global CRO. Good employer

      14 Sep 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility. Covance offer a good structure for flexible working in many roles. Hard work is expected, but as a company Covance can provide excellent options for flexibility and home / work life balance. Covance have proved to be an excellent and responsible employer through the COVID pandemic, with clear and regular communication, as well as a real focus on employee well-being and safety. Large company, with clear opportunities for progression.

      Cons

      As with most larger companies, it can be difficult for quick decisions and changes to take effect. Systems and processes can be a little labour intensive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Covance Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that you have experienced strong communication during the pandemic and that our flexible work arrangements have helped with your work/life balance.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great team and great development opportunities

      5 May 2021 - Project Coordinator I in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Project Management Academy offers fantastic development opportunities Good support Good team environment

      Cons

      I haven't found any yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Needs a Shake Up - Hopefully GS review will deliver that

      29 Apr 2021 - FP&A Analyst in Cambridge, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable employer Some of the very senior management deserve respect, i.e. Labcorp/Covance CEO’s but they are shining examples in a sea of mediocrity

      Cons

      Part of a large unwieldy broader entity Systems and sites poorly integrated; they have a recent history of acquisition for growth but lack the expertise to integrate the business properly, leading to myriad operational workarounds and sticking plasters Bullying is not uncommon in my experience - you are either liked or disliked and if you are out of sorts with the wrong managers, watch out US Centric, so limited career options if you are UK based They claim to value diversity, but it is the least tolerant employer I have ever encountered and the US workforce is very white middle class by and large.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Covance has a racism problem

      29 Apr 2021 - Project Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gets work done for the clients and volunteers

      Cons

      There is a huge problem with favoritism - only certain types of people get promoted, often multiple times before others get promoted once, creating a classroom atmosphere where the ones who can play teacher's pet with management are the ones who can succeed. Unfortunately this is usually twinned with racism. I knew multiple non-white colleagues who were very capable and hard working who were overlooked for opportunities that were more readily offered to white colleagues, and since leaving I hear that this practice still continues. All staff are also so overworked that there is a high staff turnover, which is reflected in the constant job adverts Covance has to put out!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      review

      3 Mar 2021 - QC Analyst in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      >Get trained to a high standard in various lab methods >get exposed to opportunities sooner than alot of other companies would allow

      Cons

      >Management / Atmosphere Upper management for analysts borderline abusive to employees. In my first week working there i saw two people crying leaving the section heads office. During my time working there i witnessed everyone of the colleagues i started with breakdown at least once. Expected to handle high work loads with zero mistakes . >Progression Promotions are slow ,in 3 years there were three 6 month promotion bans. In addition to this whilst working there i only witnessed promotions awarded after there had been a large wave of employees leaving this was done on two occasions , i never witnessed a promotion directly given as a reward for good work .They also don't allow any movement around the company until you are a grade 107 so no way to create promotions for yourself until then . >Pay Similarly to promotions ,payrise freezes were implemented 3 times for 6 months over the space of the 3 years i worked there . After working there for over a year it came to light that myself and my cohort were being paid 1k less than new employees who we were involved in training . It took 6 months for this mistake to be corrected at which point they corrected the discrepancy and added on an extra £50 to the yearly salary.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Awful since takeover

      4 May 2021 - Program Manager in Huntingdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Local to me, some nice people .

      Cons

      Excessive workload that cannot be done during normal hours, lack of clarity or quality in most people’s work, all since they took over, woeful integration. It is like 2 different companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Variety of opportunities but need to watch workload

      11 May 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots of opportunity as large company, good bonus scheme, great onboarding program, flexible working

      Cons

      progression can be slow, high workload with multiple roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      covance employee

      8 Apr 2021 - Multi Skilled Operative in Eye, Suffolk, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      all roles are extremely progressive, training is always supplied where it is needed.

      Cons

      poor turnover time for jobs due to a lack in efficiency through purchasing parts to complete the job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work for

      22 Apr 2021 - Senior Study Analyst in Huntingdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really nice people however this depend on the department

      Cons

      Departments don't share information with each other.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to gain some experience but don't stay forever

      6 Apr 2021 - Study Analyst in Huntingdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Restaurant food Variety of analytical teams using different types of methods and equipments Flexible approach to work Friendly and informal laboratory environment Free parking with friendly 24hr on site security guards

      Cons

      Management are leeches. They suck the life out of everything and obsessed with old style ruling. Can't take pictures of anything on site, even if its just the trees outside which is ridiculous. Not very diverse, some departments have a history of racism and high turnovers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,306 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Covance Job Seekers

    Clinical Research Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Covance? Share Your Experiences

    Covance logo
    or