Covance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Covance Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO Paul Kirchgraber
Paul Kirchgraber
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be better(in 100 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Forward thinking, good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consulting work focuses on strategy, exceptional and smart colleagues, collaborative, work from home allows flexibility

    Cons

    None right at the moment.

    Covance2019-03-09
  2. "I love my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animal Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people i work with are amazing, the job is very rewarding, i love working with the animals, management are very understanding towards home life and are always happy to help.

    Cons

    Sometimes feel unappreciated, the money could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Look after the workers, they need to feel appreciated, don't fob them off with free sandwich now and again give them what they want like pay-rises or bonuses.

    Covance2019-10-20
  3. "Good graduate employer, plentiful opportunities for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Alnwick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent in-house training program, supportive colleagues

    Cons

    Noncompetitive salary increases once trained

    Covance2019-11-24
  4. "review headline was to be an analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    good well nicely paid job

    Cons

    long far not close to my present life

    Covance2019-11-24
  5. "Poor management and infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training schemes and generally supportive. Talented colleagues

    Cons

    Management detached from reality, too much back slapping over successes but an inability to ecognise reasons for failures. Terrible structure for sales development

    Advice to Management

    Stick to what you are good at

    Covance2019-11-28
  6. "Not the same company I joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people to work with, and good opportunity to deal with wide range of clients and products.

    Cons

    Profit before people mindset of senior management. Trying to grow too rapidly, especially since acquisition by LabCorp. Additional workload to integrate acquired companies, and implement new systems being given to already very busy/stressed staff, with expectation for them to cover via overtime (which most are already doing anyway).

    Advice to Management

    Can't continue to expect staff to keep taking on additional work out of 'good will', without extra resource - that's how people burn out. Show people you care.

    Covance2019-11-24
  7. "A company with lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Automation Specialist in Harrogate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Effort is noticed and rewarded. Lots of opportunities available if you're prepared to go after them.

    Cons

    Pay seems low compared to the rest of the industry.

    Covance2019-11-09
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Specialist in Huntingdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is fine,

    Cons

    Don't care about you as an employee and pay is well below market average

    Covance2019-11-04
  9. "Good for graduate to gain lab experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly Great location

    Cons

    Salary is low Work life balance not great Management aren't supportive No career prospects

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training initiatives

    Covance2019-10-31
  10. "na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Technician 

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    working on shifts and sometimes during weekends

    Covance2019-10-15
Found 1425 reviews