Creative Circle "gigs" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Creative Circle Employee Reviews about "gigs"

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Creative Circle CEO Creative Circle (no image)
Creative Circle
249 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ended up with a good full-time position (which is what I was hoping for) pretty quickly(in 22 reviews)

  • "Quality screening of potential gigs(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was met with rudeness each time I explained to the recruiter or coordinator that I work full time and can't always pick up my phone(in 36 reviews)

  • "No cons or flags from my experience(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gigs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great connections, not so great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + awesome places to work + really builds up your portfolio / network + plenty of gigs available + get paid weekly

    Cons

    + either: they don't tell you the company you'll work for just the pay and role descriptions or they don't tell you the pay and try to trap you by the company name + take A HUGE cut and i mean HUGE + doesn't respect salary or hourly expectations and always try to low-ball you + they have a nasty attitude

    Creative Circle2020-02-21
  2. "Great tallent agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Drupal Developer in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Quality screening of potential gigs They're W4 so they handle the taxes for you Healthy SF access FT, PT, and Contract work almost always available

    Cons

    If client doesn't pay them they don't pay you

    Creative Circle2019-12-06
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Very rude and disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasional freelance gigs onsite and offsite

    Cons

    They have unprofessional people on their team who treat others disrespectfully and with rudeness; Recruiters which don’t know the difference between certain technical positions. Additionally if you work with a difficult client they won’t have your back because they just care about money, regardless of the facts. Judgement made on race and they also don’t pay the highest in the city;

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Freelancers stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graphic Designer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides some gigs for freelancers looking to pick up extra work.

    Cons

    No transparency to discuss fees with freelance clients they connect you with. This means freelancers get paid far less than they should.

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2018-09-04

    Creative Circle Response

    September 25, 2018Answers

    We appreciate the feedback but want to clarify some points in your review. We value the connections we build with our candidates and make sure that we are within industry standards for compensation. Our candidates let us know their desired hourly rates when they meet with our recruiters, and we only communicate job positions that fall within that range. Additionally, we place our candidates in roles with rates that are agreed upon prior to starting. If you feel that your compensation does not reflect the work you are doing, we encourage you to reach out to the recruiter who placed you. If you have additional information you'd like to share, please email us at answers@creativecircle.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Not employee centered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Creative Circle

    Pros

    Lots of freelance opportunities for those looking for short term gigs

    Cons

    They don’t care about the employees. When I first met with my recruiter I gave them exactly what I was looking for and explicitly said I wanted long term contract work or direct hire. They kept sending me short term freelance roles and contacting me about them saying I was a great fit and that I needed more experience for a direct hire/full time role and that these short term roles were going to help my resume. I decided to take one of these short term roles and it was not what I had expected. I didn’t learn anything. When it was over I was contacted for another similar role and I interviewed for it and realized that the role and the team were not a good fit for me so I declined it. The recruiter basically harrased me for two days trying to change my mind because I was “passing up a great opportunity to work with a great team” this was after I had explained my reasonings. She basically told me I wasn’t going to be considered anymore. She clearly didn’t care about finding me the right job.

    Creative Circle2018-06-11
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Woah, woah, woah... you did WHAT?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Graphic Designer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle for less than a year

    Pros

    Sounded like a good opportunity to get gigs.

    Cons

    One of my references is not only a client, but a very close friend. He forwarded me the correspondence from Creative Circle. The questions they asked I'm pretty sure prospective employers aren't allowed by law to ask. However, that's not the offensive part. They sent my client a thank you letter for filling out their form... ...Attached to it was a brochure for their services. They literally attempted to take my client... my reference, put from under me. I'm extremely upset by this! I'm my book, that's unethical. I called the recruiter today and she was conveniently working out of the office. I haven't gotten a call back yet.

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2018-04-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Messy and unorganized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Creative Circle for more than a year

    Pros

    As a contractor, I’ve found them helpful for quick gigs. I’ve even had repeat clients. They pay in a timely fashion, which is a plus. Associating with them has never yielded anything long term.

    Cons

    The New York office seems like it’s a mess. Their communication is sloppy and haphazard, and it seems like a new agent is assigned to the same project everyday.

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2018-02-20
  8. "Desigenr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Creative Circle for less than a year

    Pros

    They get you very good gigs, powerful connections to major companies.

    Cons

    They get a huge cut from you pay, prepared for almost minimal wage.

    Creative Circle2017-10-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Freelance Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Freelance Graphic Designer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Creative Circle

    Pros

    I'm getting consistent freelance gigs. I've work with other company and none has giving me as much work as Creative Circle.

    Cons

    I wish they can give more of a direction towards the type of design work I prefer to do. Give a direction to grown from a Jr designer, to mid level designer, to Sr. Designer, to an Art Director.

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2017-04-07
  10. "Cattle Call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Creative Circle

    Pros

    I was able to get a few gigs through them, though none that were long-lasting or lucrative.

    Cons

    What you can expect: Lots of emails for openings, though you'll rarely hear back from them if you respond to them. Occasional calls where they'll ask to submit you for openings, though they'll rarely follow up with you as they're submitting god knows how many other people. Oh, you'll also need to drastically cut your regular freelance rate so that they can take the bulk of it, thus contributing to the horrible market for creatives.

    Continue reading
    Creative Circle2016-05-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews