Creative Support Employee Reviews about "support workers"

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 261 reviews

3.0
37%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Creative Support Chief Executive  Anna Lunts
Anna Lunts
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have worked with some amazing service users(in 78 reviews)

  • "Most Support workers motivated and hard working(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If your thinking of going to work for creative support I want have another think about it honestly(in 32 reviews)

  • "Services are run for staff and not service users(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "support workers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great organisation

      Dec 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely staff, great ethos, trying their best

      Cons

      The organisation gets a lot of flack from support workers, but you'll find these problems in all other organisations and companies in the care sector.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Communications Officer

      Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to hear you enjoy working for Creative Support and value our ethos.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Managers are a nightmare

      Dec 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Scunthorpe, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Waiting to see their downfall.

      Cons

      Minimum pay for a lot of responsibility. No sick pay, so support workers come in sick and spread their germs around. Wages are often wrong and support workers aren't allowed to contact wages themselves, as they are "only" support workers! So you have to nag a manager to contact wages on your behalf. Management are uncaring and arrogant. They promote their friends, attempt to have affairs with other managers. They suspend support staff on a whim. They try to rule through fear, but they only pay minimum wage so staff just leave. They penny pinch on everything. They don't provide correct training or provide the right tools to do the job properly. Not professional. Staff are physically and mentally suffering.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Communications Officer

      We're sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience with Creative Support. We are an Investor’s in People (Silver award) accredited company. We employ 5,600 staff supporting 7,000 people and have a range of benefits available to our staff, including excellent training. Unfortunately, we have little control over rates of pay as these are usually set by local authorities.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lovely Company

      Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Stockport, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people - The team I work in at Head Office are lovely, I enjoy coming to work and one of the main reasons is because of the people. They are brilliant! The Experience- I have gained invaluable experience in my chosen field due to the size of the company and the variety of the work. The Mission - Promoting the independence, inclusion and well being of people with support needs. What the company are trying to achieve is great. Flexible - Management do what they can to support employees with flexible working and a work/ life balance. CEO- The CEO Anna is so committed to Creative Support and is always available to speak to. Anna gets involved in every aspect of the company and is very hands on.

      Cons

      The Payroll Department - There are far too many issues that need resolving in the payroll department. Employees cannot get through to the payroll team via telephone and its not acceptable. Timesheets - There are too many issues with processing timesheets that cause pay issues. New ideas are needed to resolve this as management spend their valuable time chasing timesheets. Wages- I appreciate that CS is a not for profit charitable organisation however the jobs that Support Workers are expected to undertake needs to be reflected in the pay. Retention- The company relies too much on agency staff and needs to invest in its recruitment process and retaining its valuable employees. There are too many employees recruited that are not well matched to job roles.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Communications Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to raise these important issues. It’s good to know you enjoy coming into work and have gained valuable experience working with us. We’re sorry to hear you have had issues with pay roll. This is something we will investigate. We have a dedicated team working on recruitment and retention and make sure our new employees understand our expectations. We also offer a range of staff benefits and strive to create an environment where employees feel respected and valued.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      no support from management

      Aug 18, 2017 - Support Worker in Sheffield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      while been with them for a month ..i find the management condescending

      Cons

      i have been tupe over to creative support .only been with them just over a month and its a total nightmare how the management treat you .went to welcome meeting at sevenairs in sheffield ...well some welcome meeting the manager told us this was dumped on her .and she was not happy .thats how professional the manament are ..and its been absolutely awful working with type of negativity from the managers ...theres 2 managers !!!! i have to say the student support workers who have worked a long side of us have been lovely .but have no personal care or medication training ..and there as been blunders with medication not from support workers ..but management ......

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Creative Support

      Thank you for your feedback. Creative Support takes all concerns seriously and there are a number of ways in which employees and ex-employees can raise concerns, this can be done anonymously if preferred. Please call Head Office on 0161 236 0829 if you would like to discuss your concerns or complete our anonymous online complaints form at http://www.creativesupport.co.uk/complaints. Your concerns will then be investigated and acted upon.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Left, missed them and went back.

      Jun 30, 2017 - Project Manager in Billingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, lots of opportunities to develop and be promoted. supportive managers, promotes autonomy. 100% client focused. Fabulous array of company benefits.

      Cons

      As with all of social care...pay for support workers, short staffed at times.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Creative Support

      Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to come back to work with Creative Support! We we are feeding back your suggestions for improvement to our senior management team.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awful Company.

      Jul 16, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have met some incredible support workers whilst in this job and have seen some amazing progress with service users.

      Cons

      Management likes to avoid working within services wherever possible. Very few staff members stay long term because it is such a toxic company to work for. Support workers are treated awfully as though they are thought of as disposable. Standard pay even when working above and beyond your personal roles. Your shift requests are often ignored even when requested several months in advance.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Creative Support

      Thank you for your feedback. Creative Support takes all concerns seriously and there are a number of ways in which employees and ex-employees can raise concerns, this can be done anonymously if preferred. Please call Head Office on 0161 236 0829 if you would like to discuss your concerns or complete our anonymous online complaints form at http://www.creativesupport.co.uk/complaints. Your concerns will then be investigated and acted upon.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      AWFUL COMPANY

      Apr 11, 2017 - Senior Support Worker in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Service users were lovely and most of the support workers were lovely too! Other than that I have nothing nice to say about creative support!

      Cons

      CEO (Anna Lunts) doesn't care about the staff or how her actions affect the staff, she hides in her tower and gets her office staff and directors to do her dirty work, she won't meet with staff if they have issues she won't answer emails and she lies to relatives of the service users about the care creative support give. My personal experience of working there was good for many years, until the not for profit organisation just started to care about what money they can make. Making massive cuts with affecting the care of the service users ( for example refusing staff PPE when it's needed to complete tasks safely for both service users and staff) Another issue is concerns, I personally reported a number of incidents to my team leader one including a massive medication error, that had a detrimental effect for the service user, again nothing was done about it!!! Another is rotas! You'd be lucky if you got your rotas a week in advance and when you did they'd change them! CEO is nothing short of a bully and she blackmails staff offering them payouts of thousands for them to keep their mouths shut, hopefully one day staff will ignore this money and feed information to CQC and the service users loved ones, I certainly wouldn't want anyone I love to be in the care of creative support. And I must say you're getting a lot of good reviews lately, I believe that the CEO is doing these herself or maybe paying her staff too, because I've never met a support worker in 12 years thats said anything positive about the company!

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Creative Support

      Thank you for your feedback. Creative Support takes all concerns seriously and there are a number of ways in which employees and ex-employees can raise concerns, this can be done anonymously if preferred. Please call Head Office on 0161 236 0829 if you would like to discuss your concerns or complete our anonymous online complaints form at http://www.creativesupport.co.uk/complaints. Your concerns will then be investigated and acted upon.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Whos home is it?

      Mar 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Despite senior management there is some decent support workers .

      Cons

      I have worked within the care sector for many years, in a number of different establishment's. I have never in my entire working life witnessed what's ongoing within a home in Cleveland, Tenants all hold individual tenancy's for a home they've lived in for many years, Since this company took on this service, every aspect has been changed, The tenants no longer have control over their own home. Senior members of staff have keys to the home, letting themselves in and out at all hours, at no point have any of these venerable people been consulted. This is only one of many serious concerns taking place. this is peoples homes and lives, and senior support workers are taking advantage of these vulnerable people. This needs to stop! I thought we were supposed to be empowering these people, not controlling them!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Creative Support Response

      Creative Support

      Thank you for your feedback. Creative Support takes all concerns seriously and there are a number of ways in which employees and ex-employees can raise concerns, this can be done anonymously if preferred. Please call Head Office on 0161 236 0829 if you would like to discuss your concerns or complete our anonymous online complaints form at http://www.creativesupport.co.uk/complaints. Your concerns will then be investigated and acted upon.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      my xperience

      Oct 13, 2016 - Support Worker in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lot of training manager was good nice helping people get to attend excibitions/cinema/theatre

      Cons

      senior support workers are unfriendly with new staff try to take advantage rota only once a week cannot schedule anything for your personal life difficult hours lot of extra hours/long days bureaucracy lot of gossip

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A care company which doesn't care about the staff!!

      Sep 27, 2016 - Support Worker in Cannock, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have worked with some lovely support workers.

      Cons

      The management have no regard for the staff. There is a very HIGH turnover of staff due to this. They don't think you should have a life outside work. If you do get a rare week end off they try to change it to get you to go to another project. I had a weekend booked away for a weekend I was not rota to work. I was told I had to work it or would be disciplined. I had to cancel my weekend away. I was told I would have to book annual leave if I wanted a weekend off - even if I was not rota'd on!!???? How stupid is that! Creative support make the rules up as they go along. One minute they are desperate and need you to work long shifts, then they say long shifts are not allowed. The rules change to suit them. They are always short staffed and have lost some marvelous staff. I always did sleepins but when the sleep in allowance we were paid trebbled, I was then pushed out to another project which did not have sleepins - all so my senior could have them instead!! I complained but they just let this senior get away with it! Take note of all the reviews and best keep clear and find another company where you will be treated better.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Creative Support Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Creative Support? Share Your Experiences

    Creative Support logo
    or