Criteo Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Criteo Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Criteo CEO JB Rudelle
JB Rudelle
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work in tech in Paris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Paris
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People-centric management, opportunities to grow - Very smart and kind people - R&D is at the heart of the company - Good perks and salary - Innovative culture

    Cons

    - Getting bigger with all the negative impact on collaboration - Advertising is not the sexiest product (appart from the technical side)

    Advice to Management

    Communicate even more on the organizational and strategical choices. Moving quickly is great, but is sometimes hard to follow as an employee.

    Criteo2018-01-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "best of french and us work cultures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One can leave very big impact because Palo Alto office is used for new project|products and they are mostly independent from HQ. So you have a feel of midsize company (think 50 engineers) but stability and perks of big company (~500 engineers). They like initiative and encourage engineers to think about big picture and come up with what to do. And the last point is cool cultural mix. The company was born in... France but french are minority in this office so don't be afraid of being overwhelmed. As for work and life balance. I keep hearing that so much from my friends working in Sillicon Valley. I think Criteo is unique in SV. Work-life balance here is not something HR are trying to force for people not to burn out. It is natural here. Just look at amount of day offs and respected holidays.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is 10 hours difference with HQ

    Criteo2017-09-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great to be with and a-typical company, really worth discovering."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment, relationships and incentives are sane and positive. People in your teams have a good skills and they are happy to be here and willing to help or to improve. The feeling that "we are in the same boat" dominates largely over any scope rivalry or counter productive incentives. The engineering culture is largely bottom-up: as individual contributor you can really push ideas or technologies... through, you are encouraged (and reasonably well empowered) to take ownership of anything relevant. The culture is pretty international and taps into an interesting mix of "typical" US and French cultures, especially combining lightweight hierarchy with large autonomy in our missions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Criteo is a bit "in-between" and this fuzzyness can be unsettling: not yet a giant of tech but not a startup any longer ; you are encouraged to challenges the rules but within established processes ; you are empowered also mean you can not expect precise scopes and objectives in some respect. Personally I like this in-between globally, but it can be exhausting at time and you have to be okay with this "meta-game".

    Criteo2017-09-08
  4. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo

    Pros

    Cutting Edge Technology at Large scale.

    Cons

    Main R&D base in only in Paris.

    Criteo2017-03-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growing company with great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bellflower, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High quality engineers, fun environment, and yearly summit that sends you to awesome place (like Paris) with the rest of the company!

    Cons

    All major developments are still in Paris headquarter, though US is gaining momentum but still way to go.

    Criteo2016-04-18

    Criteo Response

    April 26, 2016HR Director, Americas

    Hi there - thank you so much for your feedback! Absolutely agree when you're at Criteo, you get to work with some of the smartest engineers in the world! We know the challenges of having the engineering function split between Paris and Palo Alto is a difficult one, but it's been amazing ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent opportunity to work on key products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Each employee at Criteo is a key part of the success of its products. As part of the R&D team, I am working on building a new product that can significantly boost the company's revenue, and each team member is directly contributing to that. We are working on cool and proven technologies, and dealing with highly scalable applications, in real time, on Hadoop. The management is recognizing the work of each... individual and is striving to have their employees grow and evolve where they want to. There is an excellent team spirit within the company where all employees are very helpful and providing the right support, both inside or outside the direct team.

    Show More

    Cons

    At times, we have to raise our voice to make some technical decisions and make sure we are moving as fast as we would like. All in all, it makes a good tradeoff between keeping a fast-paced environment and an already working platform up and running.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on focusing your attention on your employees, and keep thinking ahead of time of long-term opportunities.

    Criteo2015-05-26

    Criteo Response

    June 8, 2015HR Director, Americas

    Hi - thanks for your very positive review, and glad you're feeling so highly about Criteo! We're focused on rapidly growing our engineering team in the Bay Area, so your feedback on this team is all the more critical. If there's anything more we can be doing, of course please reach ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Startup mindset with lot of means"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Paris office is awesome. A lot of pationate people and challenging problems to solve and multiple technologies to play with (.net, frontend things, java, hadoop world, probably all existing nosql stuffs on the market... :) ) Start up mindset, nerf guns, flexible working hours and a flat management hierarchy. Purely tech career paths are clearly promoted. Which is unique in France. A Principal Developer... can get as much money than a manager of 40 persons. You won't find better in France.

    Show More

    Cons

    lot of paperworks added when the company became public on 2013

    Advice to Management

    Go further promoting creativity. The 10% things are not enough.

    Criteo2014-12-14
  8. "Criteo Paris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Paris
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Population jeune, dynamique, compétente et décontractée. Locaux confortables. Possibilité de tester de nouvelles technologies.

    Cons

    Perd peu à peu en agilité au fur et à mesure que la boîte grandit, et que la politique prend le pas sur l'efficacité. Devleads globalement efficaces et compréhensifs, le plus haut management moins.

    Criteo2017-07-25
Found 8 reviews