Cromwell Tools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cromwell Tools Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Cromwell Tools CEO Neil Jowsey (no image)
Neil Jowsey
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some great people that work for Cromwell and there are load of opportunities for the business to do well(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great team; an eagerness to learn and embrace change(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Change is being driven with urgency throughout Cromwell as it adapts to the needs of the 21st century(in 12 reviews)

  • "A combination of poor decisions and even poorer execution has severely disrupted customer service and experience(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I’m proud to be part of the Cromwell team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools for less than a year

    Pros

    Clear strategy, inspirational CEO, empowering leadership team & an abundance of opportunities.

    Cons

    Execution and delivery of actions can take too long, hindering progress at pace.

    Advice to Management

    Keep linking all comms to our strategy giving everyone a clear purpose and line of site to how they support achievement of our goals.

    Cromwell Tools2019-09-13
  2. "Company in transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cromwell Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong strategy, significant growth plans and many talented colleagues.

    Cons

    Whilst there is a strong strategy in place there is a need to remember that you can't boil the ocean in one go. Transformation takes time; however, there is noticeable progress such as the significant change the NPS and customer ease ratings.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused; challenging times ahead, you can't please everybody but staff are behind vision and BHAG.

    Cromwell Tools2019-10-29
  3. "average job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dudley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    bonus structure needs to be achievable

    Advice to Management

    communicate more

    Cromwell Tools2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Going through change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Team Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time

    Pros

    A lot of change over the past few years. Some for the benefit of people and others for the business. Better bonus now and people now being made to work on getting developed. The new pay scales seem good.

    Cons

    I hope I still work here after the restructure and shift changes finish but I know it was needed to happen. Many people are more worried but most are lazy people who don't want change. Less management jobs in future I want to be one of the successful ones at the end. We are not as busy as we should be so it was obvious they had to do something about it.

    Advice to Management

    Remove the lazy people. Finish the structure change quick. Work out what to do to sell more and get back to the volumes we used to do.

    Cromwell Tools2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time

    Pros

    I work in a great team. Direction and strategy to achieve goals is very clear. Direct management is supportive and clearly values the input of each individual team member.

    Cons

    I have worked in various teams in my time at Cromwell and effectiveness of management is not the same across the board. This clearly affects the teams moral and productivity.

    Cromwell Tools2019-10-03
  6. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to grow with Cromwell

    Cons

    Cromwell have never payed the going rate

    Cromwell Tools2019-10-16
  7. "Working hard to make sure the company is around for at least another 50 years for its customers and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, majority want to do a really good job. Now have a clear strategy and plan for delivering. Communication clear.

    Cons

    Takes too long to put some things into action.

    Advice to Management

    Accelerate digital for the future

    Cromwell Tools2019-09-23
  8. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and supportive culture. Feel part of the team. Clear strategy and understanding how to achieve our ambitions.

    Cons

    Sometimes legacy issues continue to get raised when action has already been taken.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate visibility and stick with the strategy to help us move our business to greater success

    Cromwell Tools2019-09-12
  9. "A Transforming Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strategic direction is clear and exciting Great people who really care Flexibility Exciting and interesting work People focused leadership team who really do care about development A huge growth opportunity Parent company support is positive Lot's to do, never a dull moment!

    Cons

    Transformation means there's lots to do Tough decisions needed to ensure we grow in the future

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, we are heading in the right direction

    Cromwell Tools2019-09-12
  10. "Exciting times ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cromwell Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership has greatly improved - care about team members and the customer, and are committed to Cromwell being a Great Place to Work Opportunities for those who contribute to the business and demonstrate the right positive behaviours (Mostly) passionate and like-minded colleagues Fit for purpose business strategy Initiatives planned for the next 3 years, and beyond

    Cons

    Pockets of long standing colleagues who act as 'victims' and think of the 'good old days' through rose tinted glasses, stuck in their ways and bring about negativity More demonstrable consequent management for those who don't perform or who are unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep communications open and keep listening to team members, in particular those close to customers, encourage them to listen to the customer voice and have confidence in sharing this feedback, in addition to their ideas and suggestions for continuous improvement

    Cromwell Tools2019-09-12
Found 99 reviews