Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts Concierge Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 749 reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts CEO Keith Barr (no image)
Keith Barr
2 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Most of the time they were an excellent employer

    Sep 10, 2020 - Concierge in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work / Life balance was second to none, great team in my department, and mostly excellent management for the whole time I worked there. It can vary a lot from department to department, but I was very lucky and had a very good experience there.

    Cons

    Staff canteen food could've been improved, but this is often the case with hotels and it was a "perk" so can't really complain.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Night Team Concierge

    Sep 17, 2020 - Concierge in Chester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere, welcoming management and top-quality training provided.

    Cons

    Uniforms are not the best quality.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, great benefits, good culture.

    Dec 30, 2019 - Concierge in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, good culture.

    Cons

    No negative reviews for this company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A job of convenience became very in convenient.

    Sep 3, 2014 - Concierge in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employee discount rate at any member property for one's self and family is a wonderful perk that I took advantage of twice.

    Cons

    Upper Management in my section did not (for what ever reason) hire new people to replace people lost and for the busy season. 4 or 5 people were doing the work of 7. There were no back up people, no people to spare, the schedule only worked if nothing went wrong in people's lives. You shouldn't see just 3 managers manning the front desk on a busy night with no regular staff. We went through tourist season with our minimal winter staff and they were wondering why our satisfaction numbers dropped. Reconciliation with other jobs has been an issue (overlapping job schedules) for some part time workers. Employee meetings had a tended to be prep rallies where we were encouraged to do better. Employee issues were heard, but were largely, but not always, ignored. This leads to the inability to positively change/improve the work place and apathy sets in. The duties had the habit of metastasizing like a cancer and you had to be very firm about your cut off line. I could not afford the health insurance and while there was dental and vision, I never saw the paper work. The concept of a raise was pointless to bring up; it didn't happen.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Six Years at the Crowne Plaza

    Jun 23, 2017 - Concierge in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked as a Front Desk Agent and was then promoted to Concierge at the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtown Convention Center, OR. Altogether I was there for six years. There was so much to love about this property: I loved my guests, my co-workers, and management was terrific. Lots of extra trainings (First Aid, CPR, etc.), team building, employee appreciation parties, etc. The GM is a real Rockstar, I loved him. My own boss, the Front Office Manager, was a remarkable woman, can't say enough great things about her. The location was great, parking sometimes challenging (not enough parking when things got busy, had to park blocks away.) Lots of interesting guests, lots of great events in house. I loved being the Concierge at the C.P., always so much going on downtown and fun to share this with my guests! I still think of it as "my hotel" whenever I drive by.

    Cons

    1) Pay is good for a young person who lives at home, but not for an adult paying off a mortgage. At the end of my six years, I earned $12.75 an hour. Raises were given in increments of .25 per year. 2) Concierge Team needs different uniforms from the Front Desk Agents. 3) Not enough FD Agents during our busy times and as a result, there was a big problem with retention of Front Desk Agents when I was there - the work could be intense during our busy seasons and the pay was inadequate for the intensity and abuse we received from angry guests. 4) When FD Agents quit, which was often, management had the Concierge Team work the FD and this got old very quickly (we're talking weeks and months.) 5) The Concierge position is being phased out, replaced by special information kiosks. This is great for some guests, but a real shame for others. Having a Concierge is so classy!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    P/T Concierge

    Nov 5, 2015 - Concierge in Canberra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great work benefits - Surrounded by a supportive team of people - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    - No casual employment available, pay is stagnant throughout the week

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Guest Relations

    Feb 22, 2018 - Corporate Concierge in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great location, great cliental

    Cons

    some of the downsides were the lack on progressive changes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts? Share Your Experiences

Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts logo
or