Cundall Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cundall Reviews

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cundall Managing Partner Tomas Neeson
Tomas Neeson
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cundall full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Varied workload Skilled supportive management team

    Cons

    Not many. Should try and identify KPI's better particularly within structural disciplines

    Continue reading
    Cundall2016-02-19
  2. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cundall full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good balance of work and play

    Cons

    Could be organised a bit better

    Cundall2016-03-02
  3. "Graduate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cundall

    Pros

    Working environment is good and comfortable

    Cons

    the starting salary is pretty alright compared to competitors

    Continue reading
    Cundall2016-02-13

    Cundall Response

    February 15, 2016Resourcing Advisor

    Thanks very much for leaving this review. There have been a lot of changes to offices over the last few years, particularly with the relocation to brand-new offices in Birmingham, Dubai, Edinburgh and London etc. (next-up, Newcastle) so it's good to hear that recent efforts to ensure we have great spaces in which to carry out our work are paying off!

    Continue reading
  4. "Generally okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Cundall

    Pros

    Great projects in Asia and friendly staffs. International company but also small and flexible.

    Cons

    Can be a bit low salary. Also be prepare for lots of overtime from tender submissions and demanding clients.

    Cundall2016-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cundall full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Nice people 2. Nice environment 3. Involvement in various types of jobs 4. Much attention to graduates 5. Opportunities for tempora relocation abroad

    Cons

    Graduate salaries need further improvement

    Cundall2015-10-11

    Cundall Response

    October 12, 2015Resourcing Advisor

    Thanks for leaving this review and it great to hear you're enjoying your first year with Cundall and the Birmingham Office. The last few years have seen our graduate numbers increase pretty significantly every year, and we're doing a lot of work to make sure our development programs are always as engaging, varied and relevant as possible, so it's reassuring to see this work seems to be paying off! We've also just started advertising for our 2016 graduate intake, and have increased the graduate salaries again to reflect the wider market and ensure Cundall are excellently placed to attract the next group of exceptional engineering talent.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cundall

    Pros

    Free fruit in the morning Big and small jobs to work on

    Cons

    1) Ineffective management structure - partners and associates 100% blame staff for failures rather than accept their own responsibilities 2) Very poor communication skills between management and staff. Management do not clearly define or manage the task involved which leads to errors and then point 1. Staff can feel intimidated in asking for advice. Some partners try to put staff down when they ask leading to morale problems. A few partners intimidate. 3) Staff morale low- especially engineers 4) Jobs rushed and can go out unchecked. QA procedures not followed - see 1 5) Engineer turn over high - especially electrical - see 1, 2 & 3

    Continue reading
    Cundall2015-09-16

    Cundall Response

    September 17, 2015Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for leaving a review, and I'm sorry to hear of the concerns you have listed. If you haven’t already raised these issues with your HR team, then we would strongly encourage you to do so, so that they can team can provide assistance in addressing your concerns. We have a very diverse workforce, and while all managers have their own style, each receive training, coaching and advice on a regular basis on how to be effective, collaborative and motivating managers. Some managers are inevitably better than others at this, however where you have specific concerns it is important that these are raised so they can be addressed accordingly for the benefit of yourself and others within the business. On a wider note the results of our Great Place to Work survey showed that 86% of staff agreed that management are approachable, and 91% agreed that Cundall is a friendly place to work. Not perfect, and we are always striving to improve, but certainly a strong indication that the vast majority of staff have an overwhelmingly positive view of Cundall’s management team. To ensure we do improve, we need to address the minority of cases where things aren’t happening the way they should. In terms of jobs being rushed/not checked, we have clear company-wide guidelines in place in an effort to ensure that work is never released without being checked. Like all of our competitors in the sector, we are set tough deadlines by clients that do occasionally mean that we are pushed to the wire to deliver work to the expected standard. However, Cundall’s reputation in all of the sectors in which we operate is excellent, and our growing list of repeat and new business in all locations is testament in part to the consistently high standard of work we produce. But again – if you feel under undue pressure or are witnessing anything that would contradict this, please do raise this internally so we can address any issues and try to ensure that your own experience at Cundall begins to reflect that of the majority of your colleagues.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cundall full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management. Professional outlook. Had the opportunity to work on a variety of schemes.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to progress to Senior Level. Non Competitive Salary.

    Continue reading
    Cundall2015-09-08

    Cundall Response

    September 14, 2015Resourcing Advisor

    Thanks for leaving this review, and we wish you the best of luck in your new role. With so many great people at Cundall it can be difficult at times to ensure all have the opportunity to climb the career ladder, but we do have a proactive approach to supporting staff development, and where possible and appropriate we certainly encourage the ethos of promoting from within. Inevitably there are occasions where staff may need to look elsewhere to make the next step in their career, but we're confident that the professional standards and nature of work on offer at Cundall equips those people to go on to achieve great things elsewhere.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cundall

    Pros

    Nice people, nice working environment

    Cons

    Office does seem quite most of the time

    Continue reading
    Cundall2015-08-08

    Cundall Response

    September 7, 2015Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you very much for the review. We're pleased to hear that you left Cundall with a positive experience, and wish you all the best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Engineer, London Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cundall full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mid sized firm with a growing client base, so good opportunities to be exposed to interesting projects. Training available if you ask for it. Get fresh fruits delivered to the office every morning, which is nice.

    Cons

    Pay below industry levels. Not a very friendly bunch in the London office. People seem to keep themselves to themselves. This probably because of a very top heavy structure. Most of the staff are in the management levels and dump all the work on a few engineers. So people do not really have time other than to complete the heavy workload and head home. And of course the bonuses are only for the people in management. And you have to pay for entry if you want to attend any company social events. So there is no reward for hard work as well. The company is now finding it very hard to retain talent. The company seems to have retained the 'squeeze out every bit you can'culture developed during recession, despite now making profits higher than their targets. Essential processes like QA process of design submissions are generally overlooked or skipped entirely. They do sometimes perform a brief one to tick off boxes but are poorly done.

    Continue reading
    Cundall2015-06-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "I have been working at Cundall full-time for more than two years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cundall full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real opportunities for staff to relocate in other local or international offices (either temporary or permanent relocation). Investing in staff development.

    Cons

    There is a lack of structure in some offices (i.e. too many senior staff, dumping all the work on two graduates)

    Continue reading
    Cundall2015-04-14
Found 71 reviews