Czarnikow Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Czarnikow CEO Robin Cave (no image)
Robin Cave
26 Ratings
  1. "Freight and Logistics Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Trade Finance in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open people to work with Open space People open to teaching you

    Cons

    More open-minded to home office

    Czarnikow Response

    February 13, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that the openness of Czarnikow is what has stuck you most, as we strive to build an open and collaborative environment. I take on board your point about working from home, and as we pride ourselves on being flexible it would be good to see how this might work. Robin

  2. "Don't work here if you want to develop and progress"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Czarnikow full-time

    Pros

    Good office location Fairly young and friendly members of staff.

    Cons

    Lack of structured support and progression for new joiners despite being sold this in the interview as one of the main things Czarnikow provides its employees - more of a 'pile it on top' culture. Fairly hierarchical company. Whoever has been there the longest says how things go and new ideas take a very long time to implement as a result. Middle management is poor across the board and does not provide any sort of structured guidance to their subordinates (similar to the first point). Bog standard office. Nothing fancy.

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    May 18, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and I’m sorry to hear you feel this way about progression at Czarnikow. We run many schemes for new joiners, most recently the mentorship programme. We do value new talent which is demonstrated across our workforce with many new joiners in fact progressing very quickly, having performed well, either in their respective team or by moving into another. Regular check-ins with HR encourage honest feedback on managers and are the best place to voice concerns and request change. While there are members of staff who have been at Czarnikow for a long time, I always welcome change and constructive criticism from all employees. Did you raise your frustrations while with us? Once again, I’m sorry to hear you do not have more of a positive view of your time with us but take your comments on board and wish you the best for your future career. Best Wishes Robin

  3. "Poor Incentives for Younger Staff"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working hours, on the whole people are friendly, good business model

    Cons

    Low salaries for motivated younger staff hinder desire to innovate which results in a fairly high turnover Lack of tangible recognition for hard work and hierarchical approach to working based on length of tenure at the firm

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    April 17, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Many thanks for your feedback and I'm glad to hear that you enjoy the culture here at Czarnikow and also believe in our business model. However, I'm sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the level of opportunity available - we encourage entrepreneurship and innovation across the company. If you have any ideas you would like to pursue further, please feel free to contact me directly so we can discuss it further. I'm surprised to hear that you're not satisfied with the pay levels, because we strive to offer competitive salaries for all our roles. Finally, while we do value new joiners providing their feedback on Glassdoor as it gives us a fresh perspective, we also encourage and promote honest feedback from all our employees, because it is only through getting honest feedback from the likes of yourself that we can improve as a company. Best wishes, Robin

  4. "Brilliant Working Environment. Exciting Workload. Excellent Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team are incredibly supportive, welcoming and friendly. There are several opportunities to collaborate with more senior and experienced members of the team. The workload is exciting and diverse. No two days are the same.

    Cons

    The working hours can be unpredictable, but often I'd voluntarily stay late.

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    I’m delighted to hear you’ve enjoyed your first few months with us at Czarnikow as the newest addition to our marketing and communications team. I’m glad to hear your team has been supportive and friendly and that you’re finding the work diverse and interesting, and thank you for being flexible with working hours. I hope you continue to enjoy your time here. Robin

  5. "Good Company with a GoodCulture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of responsibility early, support with qualifications - Scope to progress within the company is clear and encouraged - Open door CEO policy is genuinely carried through - Incredibly interesting job at its core, financial markets with tangible goods that people use every single day - Culture is friendly and not massively corporate (huge plus for me), very much part of the family once you get in - Well thought through benefits package - Good work-life balance for industry

    Cons

    - Pay is under market rate at entry level - As with any small company when people leave/teams change there can be a lot to pick up

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review and I’m really pleased that you’ve enjoyed your first few months at Czarnikow. It’s encouraging to see you’ve added far more pros than cons to your review, and that you’ve found your role interesting and the environment relaxed and open. You’re right that as a small company there can be lots to pick up when colleagues move teams, but we hope that the ability to progress and move around the company makes up for this in the long run. The same is true for the pay, as there is scope for it to quickly rise over time. We are certainly planning to continue to invest in tech as we have seen the huge benefits of streamlining our processes. I hope you continue to enjoy your role with us. Robin

  6. "Czarnikow’s culture encourages innovative thinking!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Czarnikow’s culture encourages innovative thinking rather than textbook work ethic which is stimulating and refreshing. My role was a new addition to the company but the team was exceptionally encouraging and patient during my learning experience.

    Cons

    Day-to-day interactions and approaches are typically very passive and positive (which is all fine) but sometimes a more sturdy approach is required.

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review and I’m glad to hear you’ve found your role stimulating and refreshing, and that you had a warm welcome when you joined us. Thank you for your feedback on the tone of interactions, I’d encourage you to discuss this with your team to find an approach that works for you all. I hope you continue to thrive here at Czarnikow. Robin

  7. "Engaging place to work, and a good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work on analysis is engaging and mentally stimulating, and the environment around the company is accommodating and welcoming. Everyone is keen to help you out and you feel trusted to do your job, and also to follow your own interests to perform at the best level you can. Also, the culture around the office is very friendly, and there are many perks, like subsidised gym membership or free breakfast, which make a nice difference for work life balance. Also, there is not a culture of working excessive hours and the company respects that people have a life outside of work.

    Cons

    Although fairly trivial, and the office and facilities are the best I've ever worked in, I have found that near the end of the day I have sometimes got headaches because it is quite a bright environment, and so maybe some plants or less harsh lighting could help with this.

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    I’m delighted to hear you’ve had an enjoyable first few months at Czarnikow and have found the work stimulating and the environment welcoming. It’s great to hear that the free breakfast and subsidised gym membership has set us apart from your previous employers, and you’re right that we value a healthy work/life balance. Thank you for your suggestions on the lights and plants – a couple of people have mentioned this so we will definitely look into it in the new year. Robin

  8. "Good company culture with scope for career progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm coming up to the end of my first month here at Czarnikow and for all the rights reasons it's feels like I've been here much longer. It's a very friendly almost family like culture and everyone both within my team and in other teams have been more than happy to help me settle in. From my time here I can see that you have a degree of control over you career path, and the expansion of your role appears to be encourage based on your skills, interests and obviously on the strategic path of the company so there is plenty of room for career progression.

    Cons

    No real downsides, if you're used to working in larger organisations you may notice a difference working in a smaller environment but that has it's plus sides also

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review and I’m really pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your first month with us at Czarnikow. We always strive to create a friendly and welcoming environment, so I’m happy to hear you say that you’ve experienced that first-hand. As you’ve noted, we do have the ability to develop and progress roles within the organisation on a regular basis. I hope you continue to enjoy your time here. Robin

  9. "An exciting company with very welcoming employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is willing to help one another learn, which is super helpful when you first join the company. It's also cool to see what kind of opportunities open up for people who have been at Czarnikow for just a year or two. It's clearly important for Czarnikow that no employee ever gets bored of what they're doing. It makes coming into work very easy!

    Cons

    I'd love there to be some more plants around the office!

    Czarnikow Response

    November 8, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Many thanks for your feedback, and I’m very pleased to hear that you’ve found Czarnikow to be an environment within which there are many opportunities for career development and learning. It’s also encouraging to hear that you’ve had support from your colleagues and enjoy coming to work. I think your idea about having more plants in the office is a good one, and we can look into this. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time with the company. Robin

  10. "good company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Czarnikow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company culture great office location great work life balance

    Cons

    low salary no clear progression path

    Czarnikow Response

    May 21, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Many thanks for your review, and I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two years at Czarnikow. I’m particularly pleased to hear that you found our culture to be a big positive – as this is something which cannot be changed overnight, it is especially important that we get it right. That said, I’m sorry to hear that you found salary and career progression to be a negative of your time at Czarnikow – we work hard to identify suitable career paths and reward our employees accordingly and generously, but inevitably we can’t always accommodate all requests given our size as a company. However, with our plans for growth over the coming years, there will be plenty of opportunities for the right people to excel and grow at Czarnikow!

Found 34 reviews