Czarnikow Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Czarnikow CEO Robin Cave (no image)
Robin Cave
30 Ratings
  1. "A company with an exciting future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is second to none. Everyone is very willing to help and answer any questions, no matter their seniority. There is a real focus on innovation and development which is really motivating as a graduate. The work is exciting and varied, with a good balance between collaborative and independent work.

    Cons

    The workload can sometimes feel hefty, which in turn can encourage you to work longer hours when working from home. However, I don't see this as a long term problem.

  2. "Nice work environment"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time

    Pros

    The people are friendly, there is a good flow of communication between teams and the business has some interesting plans ahead.

    Cons

    It is not very diverse.

    Czarnikow Response

    April 26, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you have found the communication between teams to be good, especially given the challenges of working from home. I know that we can always do better on diversity, but I hope that as you connect with more colleagues worldwide and help us deliver on our exciting plans, you will see more change. Robin


  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Finance Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, with great people. Open door policies allow exposure to all departments. Directors are all very approachable and happy to answer questions.

    Cons

    Slightly slow to adapt to wfh systems.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic team of hard-working people"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England, England

    I worked at Czarnikow part-time

    Pros

    Fast communication, collaborative attitudes and diverse

    Cons

    y y y y y

    Czarnikow Response

    December 21, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Czarnikow. I’m delighted to see you rated us 5 stars and had a really positive experience with us. Our fast communication, collaboration and diverse workforce are assets we’re very proud of, so it means a lot to have them noticed. Wishing you the best for the future. Robin

  5. "Don't work here if you want to develop and progress"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Czarnikow full-time

    Pros

    Good office location Fairly young and friendly members of staff.

    Cons

    Lack of structured support and progression for new joiners despite being sold this in the interview as one of the main things Czarnikow provides its employees - more of a 'pile it on top' culture. Fairly hierarchical company. Whoever has been there the longest says how things go and new ideas take a very long time to implement as a result. Middle management is poor across the board and does not provide any sort of structured guidance to their subordinates (similar to the first point). Bog standard office. Nothing fancy.

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    May 18, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and I’m sorry to hear you feel this way about progression at Czarnikow. We run many schemes for new joiners, most recently the mentorship programme. We do value new talent which is demonstrated across our workforce with many new joiners in fact progressing very quickly, having performed well, either in their respective team or by moving into another. Regular check-ins with HR encourage honest feedback on managers and are the best place to voice concerns and request change. While there are members of staff who have been at Czarnikow for a long time, I always welcome change and constructive criticism from all employees. Did you raise your frustrations while with us? Once again, I’m sorry to hear you do not have more of a positive view of your time with us but take your comments on board and wish you the best for your future career. Best Wishes Robin

  6. "Engaging place to work, and a good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work on analysis is engaging and mentally stimulating, and the environment around the company is accommodating and welcoming. Everyone is keen to help you out and you feel trusted to do your job, and also to follow your own interests to perform at the best level you can. Also, the culture around the office is very friendly, and there are many perks, like subsidised gym membership or free breakfast, which make a nice difference for work life balance. Also, there is not a culture of working excessive hours and the company respects that people have a life outside of work.

    Cons

    Although fairly trivial, and the office and facilities are the best I've ever worked in, I have found that near the end of the day I have sometimes got headaches because it is quite a bright environment, and so maybe some plants or less harsh lighting could help with this.

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    I’m delighted to hear you’ve had an enjoyable first few months at Czarnikow and have found the work stimulating and the environment welcoming. It’s great to hear that the free breakfast and subsidised gym membership has set us apart from your previous employers, and you’re right that we value a healthy work/life balance. Thank you for your suggestions on the lights and plants – a couple of people have mentioned this so we will definitely look into it in the new year. Robin

  7. "Good company culture with scope for career progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Specialist in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm coming up to the end of my first month here at Czarnikow and for all the rights reasons it's feels like I've been here much longer. It's a very friendly almost family like culture and everyone both within my team and in other teams have been more than happy to help me settle in. From my time here I can see that you have a degree of control over you career path, and the expansion of your role appears to be encourage based on your skills, interests and obviously on the strategic path of the company so there is plenty of room for career progression.

    Cons

    No real downsides, if you're used to working in larger organisations you may notice a difference working in a smaller environment but that has it's plus sides also

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review and I’m really pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your first month with us at Czarnikow. We always strive to create a friendly and welcoming environment, so I’m happy to hear you say that you’ve experienced that first-hand. As you’ve noted, we do have the ability to develop and progress roles within the organisation on a regular basis. I hope you continue to enjoy your time here. Robin

  8. "Good Company with a GoodCulture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Finance in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of responsibility early, support with qualifications - Scope to progress within the company is clear and encouraged - Open door CEO policy is genuinely carried through - Incredibly interesting job at its core, financial markets with tangible goods that people use every single day - Culture is friendly and not massively corporate (huge plus for me), very much part of the family once you get in - Well thought through benefits package - Good work-life balance for industry

    Cons

    - Pay is under market rate at entry level - As with any small company when people leave/teams change there can be a lot to pick up

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    December 6, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your review and I’m really pleased that you’ve enjoyed your first few months at Czarnikow. It’s encouraging to see you’ve added far more pros than cons to your review, and that you’ve found your role interesting and the environment relaxed and open. You’re right that as a small company there can be lots to pick up when colleagues move teams, but we hope that the ability to progress and move around the company makes up for this in the long run. The same is true for the pay, as there is scope for it to quickly rise over time. We are certainly planning to continue to invest in tech as we have seen the huge benefits of streamlining our processes. I hope you continue to enjoy your role with us. Robin

  9. "Poor Incentives for Younger Staff"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working hours, on the whole people are friendly, good business model

    Cons

    Low salaries for motivated younger staff hinder desire to innovate which results in a fairly high turnover Lack of tangible recognition for hard work and hierarchical approach to working based on length of tenure at the firm

    Continue reading

    Czarnikow Response

    April 17, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Many thanks for your feedback and I'm glad to hear that you enjoy the culture here at Czarnikow and also believe in our business model. However, I'm sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the level of opportunity available - we encourage entrepreneurship and innovation across the company. If you have any ideas you would like to pursue further, please feel free to contact me directly so we can discuss it further. I'm surprised to hear that you're not satisfied with the pay levels, because we strive to offer competitive salaries for all our roles. Finally, while we do value new joiners providing their feedback on Glassdoor as it gives us a fresh perspective, we also encourage and promote honest feedback from all our employees, because it is only through getting honest feedback from the likes of yourself that we can improve as a company. Best wishes, Robin

  10. "An exciting company with very welcoming employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Editor in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Czarnikow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is willing to help one another learn, which is super helpful when you first join the company. It's also cool to see what kind of opportunities open up for people who have been at Czarnikow for just a year or two. It's clearly important for Czarnikow that no employee ever gets bored of what they're doing. It makes coming into work very easy!

    Cons

    I'd love there to be some more plants around the office!

    Czarnikow Response

    November 8, 2019Chief Executive Officer

    Many thanks for your feedback, and I’m very pleased to hear that you’ve found Czarnikow to be an environment within which there are many opportunities for career development and learning. It’s also encouraging to hear that you’ve had support from your colleagues and enjoy coming to work. I think your idea about having more plants in the office is a good one, and we can look into this. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time with the company. Robin

Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Popular Careers with Czarnikow Job Seekers

Placement Year
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Czarnikow? Share Your Experiences

Czarnikow logo
or