DFID Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DFID Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
DFID CEO Justine Greening
Justine Greening
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "DFID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DFID full-time

    Pros

    Industry leader, interesting content Overseas opportunities

    Cons

    Too many idealists, which ultimately holds back delivery Lack of diversity in the work force (ie too many middle class white people - ironic given its globally facing role)

    Advice to Management

    As above

    DFID2015-06-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, supportive and deeply rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Programmer Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DFID full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Principally, the notion that everything you do is focussed on improving the lives of the poorest and most vulnerable people in the world. As well as that, in my experience, I found everyone I worked with to be smart, highly capable, totally dedicated and really supportive. You have to work hard, but why wouldn't you?

    Cons

    Development is important and you do need to see it as more than just a job. Sometimes the work can be stressful and intense. Sometimes the deadlines can be unreasonably short.

    Advice to Management

    Give people the experience I had. Make it clear why they are doing what they are doing. Support them to improve in their work and in their career. Be kind.

    DFID2014-08-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The best employer in the civil service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Jordan and Lebanon Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A strong sense of mission, delivering real outcomes. A world leader in development. Interesting, challenging work. Working with a diverse, highly skilled and vibrant group of people.

    Cons

    The usual problems of a large, complex organisation apply. But as civil service/public sector organisations go, DFID is relatively well managed. Also, politics is politics - if you can't cope with working in an ultimately political environment both in the UK and the other countries we work in, don't bother.

    Advice to Management

    Most of what we do is challenging enough. Sometimes leadership is about being helping people get over those challenges, not creating new ones.

    DFID2014-07-29
  4. "Highs and lows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      There is clearly passion for the policy work which is rich and varied, good training opportunities

      Cons

      Can be very grade conscious and in my experience not all teams promote work/life balance and can penalise you if you don't work consistently long hours. Has felt as if DFID management attempts to create a civil service mould of what 'good' looks like and a single approach rather than promoting and encouraging different styles of working

      Advice to Management

      walk the talk, set examples of work/life balance, be more transparent about performance monitoring especially in moderation discussions. Get better at promoting diversity and enabling staff to bring more of a sense of authenticity to work

      DFID2014-07-03
    • "A unique opportunity in the UK Government to make a positive impact on the world"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Head of High Level Events in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      You get to deal with some of the most crucial issues facing the world and work alongside some exceptional people in an organisation which is internationally respected

      Cons

      There is a slight culture of interllectual/academic snobbishness which pervades the organisation which has nagative impact.

      Advice to Management

      Create more opportunities to celebrate successes and to share good examples of what we are achieving on the ground to make a difference. Improve corporate systems, especially those online and have them professionally designed.

      DFID2014-05-11
    • "Nice place to work but poor pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Policy Advisor in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work on subjects you can only gain access to working for a Government Rotation cycles short which means you can get a lot of access across different areas of work, or even Government Really, really nice people and a supportive culture of work Supportive culture around maternity leave

      Cons

      Salaries are about 60% less than industry standards Little focus on innovation or thinking outside the box except in specialised policy units Very small L&D budget Intense hiring from within ranks rather than external hiring in of expertise or knowledge.

      Advice to Management

      Worker bees need to be paid salaries that can be lived on in London

      DFID2013-05-07
    • Helpful (3)

      "Terrible management, horrible processes and rubbish systems"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Has a good reputation as an donor, but that makes you really worry about the quality of the rest of the them. Has good political support and a large budget, with a good network of offices globally, so the potential to do great work and have an impact is there.

      Cons

      Dfid is just not skilled to deliver. We use consultants constantly to do our thinking, and the usual suspects to deliver the work. The organisation culture is awful, with the worst attributes of hierarchy (opaque decision making, lots of sucking up) combined with it being really hard to get things done and collaboration across the organisation is awful, people spend most of their time trying to slow down or block other...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Urgently need to shift the organisational culture to empower staff and promote collaboration.

      DFID2013-03-28
    • Helpful (5)

      "High turnover because the pay is so bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Economic Adviser in London, England

      I worked at DFID

      Pros

      Its a well regarded bilateral aid organization, but like many, once you are inside its quite depressing. The people in general are very nice. Its a great work-life balance. If you have kids especially, its such a PC environment that you can get away with working from home, tele-commuting, working part time, etc etc. Nobody works more than 40 hours a week. Its a great place to work if you are left wing / liberal. Final...

      Show More

      Cons

      Very very PC environment, where any views others than those expressed by the average Guardian reader are not tolerated. There is a huge mis-trust of the private sector and a love affair with NGOs. It pays badly. They have a HUGE budget, growing every year, but few staff to spend it. So they shovel money through other agencies (eg World Bank's IDA), and budget support to Govts (who have become hooked on aid as a result)....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be brave, tell your Ministers that the size of the aid budget is marginal and possibly counter-productive. Pay your staff better, at least as well as the World Bank. Advertise and recruit a wider range of backgrounds and views - i.e. advertise in newspapers other than the Guardian. Employ fewer ex NGO types and more ex private sector people. Be less concerned with being PC and more concerned with poverty reduction.

      DFID2011-02-22
    • "good work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Governance Policy Advisor in Islamabad, Islamabad
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      work life balance career opportunities multi cultural

      Cons

      Bureaucratic Biased Hiring practices Not open to change

      Advice to Management

      increase learning opportunities

      DFID2019-02-13
    • "Governance Adviser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Governance Adviser in Nayapyangyi
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at DFID full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Share my working experience in very low income and complex country like Myanmar. Learn best practices from well developed country like Canada.

      Cons

      High opportunity cost. Cultural diversity. Fitting to System of management, Language limitation.

      Advice to Management

      Open spare for those who could contribute to their country more better after applying their experience and fit practices from Canada

      DFID2018-08-14
    Found 59 reviews