DFID Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DFID Reviews

Updated 25 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
DFID CEO Justine Greening
Justine Greening
20 Ratings
  1. "Governance Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Governance Adviser in Nayapyangyi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DFID full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Share my working experience in very low income and complex country like Myanmar. Learn best practices from well developed country like Canada.

    Cons

    High opportunity cost. Cultural diversity. Fitting to System of management, Language limitation.

    Advice to Management

    Open spare for those who could contribute to their country more better after applying their experience and fit practices from Canada

    DFID2018-08-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economic Adviser in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DFID full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    superlative job satisfaction and work-life balance

    Cons

    salary less than average in the industry

    DFID2018-07-21
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Advisory Associate in London, CA

    I worked at DFID full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary people location learning opportunities

    Cons

    Salary range not ok when in hq

    DFID2018-08-06
  4. "Not worthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DFID full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Initially, it makes you feel good that you are going to join DFID. That's it...and nothing else.

    Cons

    Believe me.. Very Bad Employer... they don't respect their employees at all. They believe in getting work done by someone and left them in lurch by putting a question mark over capability. Extremely convenient for them. They claim on many positive fronts, but in reality its a different ball game all together. My advice to all, whoever wish to join DFID, PLEASE wake up from your dream. Perhaps you deserve someone better...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you cant give a healthy work environment to your colleagues, esp. new entrants, then stop recruiting further. You don't own legal right to disregard/degrade people around you. In ratings DFID doesn't deserve even half star or less though, but....should be happy with single one.

    DFID2018-07-14
  5. "Personal review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DFID full-time

    Pros

    It is a good exposure to work there.

    Cons

    Needs time to learn working culture.

    DFID2018-03-10
  6. "Great Outfit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader Ebola Emergency Response Team in Makeni
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DFID full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Support, Good equipment, good salary

    Cons

    National Government body regulations so well organzed

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say here at all

    DFID2018-02-19
  7. "Programme Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DFID part-time

    Pros

    Pay flexible working hours Learning and Development

    Cons

    nothing , for me all positive

    Advice to Management

    regularly

    DFID2018-02-02
  8. "Perfect Place to stay long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Developer in Dhaka
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DFID full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary package. Good social acceptance. Opportunity to work diverse environment. This is a best place to learn corporate manner and culture.

    Cons

    Slow salary hike, Corporate politics. If you are a genies type of worker, sometimes you get frustrated seeing the working pattern. Other than that no cons here

    DFID2017-08-19
  9. "Motivated staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DFID

    Pros

    Driven high quality colleagues who share values and work ethic.

    Cons

    Not enough flexibility in terms to gain field country experience

    Advice to Management

    Create structures that allow more exchange with country offices and options for sabbaticals to gain real field experience

    DFID2017-03-08
  10. "Committed to results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFID

    Pros

    efficient team motivated and ambitious in a difficult environment

    Cons

    micro management sometimes slows down project implementation

    Advice to Management

    none

    DFID2016-11-06
Found 60 reviews