DFW International Airport Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DFW International Airport Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
42%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
DFW International Airport Chief Executive Officer Sean Donohue
Sean Donohue
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent place to work, great benefits, and provides a wonderful work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, stable workplace, very chill(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Its a dog eat dog environment with little to no support from management or Human Resources(in 15 reviews)

  • "Very old style work environment, most are very stuck in their ways(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFW International Airport full-time

    Pros

    People work hard, have big hearts and Care, have pride in their job and pull together when times get tough. Benefits are good. Wellness is really important and we have some new things with engagement that seem interesting. My supervisor asked for my idea during this meeting we had.

    Cons

    Newer employees are not as disgruntled as the ones just waiting around for retirement and trying to spread their anger around. Favoritism rules when you look at promotion to exec level. Too many execs who get hired that don’t know how to manage people and they sit in their offices like statues.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2020-03-20

    DFW International Airport Response

    March 27, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, there is definitely work still to be done but we are glad to hear that our focus on and efforts towards employee engagement are starting to be felt by you and your team. We hope that as more and more employees engage, we can begin to see some of the behaviors you mentioned find resolution. Thank you for your continued service towards Transforming Travel with us.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "This job is ok, pay is good but management sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and reasonable hours

    Cons

    Management is horrible, and they seem to not care about there officers.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2020-02-23

    DFW International Airport Response

    February 24, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are glad that you enjoy your hours and compensation but we do also take your feedback about the quality of your management seriously and will share it with related parties. We also want to encourage you to reach out to our HR Department directly at 972-973-1101 should there be specific details that you would like to share in confidentiality. We appreciate your commitment to making DFW the best it can be.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The quintessential of how not to run a Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport Security Supervisor- DPS Airport Security Department in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DFW International Airport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only thing I found worthwhile during my time was that the Airport offers great health insurance and fair pay, these positives in no way justify a long term career at DFW.

    Cons

    Really really bad environment daily. This place treats workers so poorly on a daily basis that the attitude amongst employees and fellow Supervision is polar opposite from the norm. Its a dog eat dog environment with little to no support from management or Human Resources. I do not recommend. There is a ton of turnover and complaints filed with EEOC, HR, and Management weekly. Lawsuits are common, seriously dysfunctional department.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2020-03-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed my time at DFW Airport since I joined a few years ago. There is a good work and life balance, and it seems like a very stable work environment. I worked in a large Hospital system before joining the Airport, and we have better medical coverage and at much lower cost here. The benefits are amazing. Top priorities for management are health and wellness, as well as diversity and inclusion. The Airport offers incentives to employees to improve health and wellness outcomes. The workforce is very diverse. I personally feel included and respected here, and like a valued member of this organization.

    Cons

    Being a public entity, there is a lot red tape. One must learn to navigate through a well-defined hierarchy of approvals. Some departments still operate in silos. Management is aware of these challenges and I believe they are taking the steps to improve in these areas.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2020-02-07

    DFW International Airport Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are so happy to hear that you enjoy the work life balance, stability and benefits that the airport provides. We work hard to be one of the region’s top employers and these efforts are a part of that plan. We also appreciate you highlighting some of the areas such as silos that we can continue to work on. Thank you for your continued part in helping us Transform Travel!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, stable workplace, very chill

    Cons

    Stagnant pay, stagnant workers, no money for fixing real projects

    DFW International Airport2020-01-22

    DFW International Airport Response

    February 4, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing more than 10 years with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the stability that the airport provides but we do take your concerns seriously. We will pass this information to the relevant parties and we hope you continue to enjoy the people and operations at DFW when you travel by air.

    Continue reading
  6. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DFW International Airport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it is a good place to learn patience and navigate disfunction. disfunction in all areas. there is no staff turnover.

    Cons

    there are opportunities to learn. the are no chances for advancement. is is a good-ol-boy place where only men can get ahead. pay is well below other places. raises are regular at 2-3%.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2020-02-28

    DFW International Airport Response

    March 3, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are sorry to hear that your experience working at DFW Airport left you with the impression that there is little opportunity for advancement We also hear your comment that there is room for improvement. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and are implementing plans, at multiple levels, for our high-performing employees to advance. We take your feedback seriously and will work to continue create opportunity within. We thank you for the year you spent with us and wish you the best in all your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer, Sub par department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport Operations Communications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a whole DFW International Airport shows love to their employees.

    Cons

    Departmental breakdown AOC/Airport Customer Service was a low moral, high stressed department to work in. Constant rotating shifts, often low staffed, and leads/supervisors micromanaged in areas that did not need to be.

    DFW International Airport2019-12-02

    DFW International Airport Response

    December 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are glad to hear that your general impression of DFW Airport is one of love for our employees. We also appreciate you bringing to our attention this specific department that has room for growth as its gives us the opportunity to provide feedback and work through these issues. We are made better by you taking the time to reach back out and let us know how we are doing. Thank you for your years of service at DFW and we wish you our best.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Extremely corrupt organization that has absolutely no ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airport Security Officer- Department of Public Safety in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent starting salary; Large, unique, and very interesting place to work.

    Cons

    Absolutely horrible excuse of leadership, they utilize fear mongering and intimidation with officers and are on a power trip. Many unethical hiring decisions, to include promoting newly hired individuals into Lead and Supervision positions. Recently promoted a chiefs child over individuals with many years experience. Certain Supervision alter individuals schedules in order to support their own inappropriate relationships. Some management is rarely ever around and literally only works 25-35% of the time yet gets paid a hefty annual salary. Several incidents of inappropriate sexual relationships are ongoing currently between Supervisory or Lead figures and subordinates. Officers approach management with concerns and are "labeled" all while sweeping wrongdoings under the rug. When Human Resources are notified of incidents and poor treatment of Officers it goes unresolved. Several veteran, and many newer Officers have jumped ship, or in the process of jumping ship currently to transfer into any other job at DFW or resigning to other employers because they say are tired of the years of abuse, corruption, and unethical treatment in the Airport Security Department. There is little to enjoy about going to this place daily, very little support, very little resources, very poor leadership, and HR department that is pointless. Extremely corrupt organization that abuses workers and does little to foster any positivity on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2019-12-28

    DFW International Airport Response

    December 30, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thorough feedback with us as relates to our Airport Security Department. It is through voices like yours that we are able to better understand and address issues within our organization. We strive to be one of the leading employers in the North Texas region and we cannot do that without hearing from employees like you who help us focus in on areas in need of attention. Your voice has been heard by the leadership within our Human Resources department and will be shared with associated parties to address the highlighted issues. If you would like to provide additional details, please feel free to reach out to our HR department at 972-973-1101. We take your feedback seriously, and we will ensure that it is heard.

    Continue reading
  9. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Information Security Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DFW International Airport full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. This company has some of the best including flying for free, I believe.

    Cons

    Only major con is that it's located far away from where I live.

    DFW International Airport2019-10-24

    DFW International Airport Response

    November 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for making the commute to continue Transforming Travel with us. We’re glad to have you! We agree that the benefits we offer here at the airport are one of a kind. Although we don’t offer free flights, we do have free terminal parking benefits, an on-site LiveWell facility, competitive pay and excellent vacation time off. We sincerely appreciate your input and love hearing that you consider DFW Airport a great place to work. Thank you for your continued service at DFW.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Security Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DFW International Airport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    While experiencing growing pains as any company does this was a great place to work that offered an ever-changing atmosphere

    Cons

    With a growing department made up of new minds and experienced practices opportunities for conflict in communication could arise at times

    Continue reading
    DFW International Airport2019-10-21

    DFW International Airport Response

    November 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience here at DFW Airport. As we continue to strive to provide a great customer experience to our guests, we continue to grow as an organization. Though change can be difficult, it’s great to hear that we provided you with a great place to work. We understand that through growth comes increased diversity in practices and opinions. DFW Airport is committed to providing the best working environment to its employees where everyone can develop, contribute and be fully engaged in his/her contribution to the organization’s success and professional growth. As part of that commitment, we continue to invest in the selection and development of our leaders to ensure that everyone plays an important role in creating an exceptional customer experience at DFW. Please feel free to reach out to our HR department at 972-973-1101 for any additional thoughts you have on ways that your department might have been improved.

    Continue reading
Found 186 reviews